We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“happy days”
Review of Hotel Praia Sol

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Hotel Praia Sol
Ranked #29 of 49 Hotels in Quarteira
ayrshire scotland
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“happy days”
Reviewed February 5, 2013

had a great time here, been before and knew what to expect hotel is well maintained and i would say very clean, rooms are simple but smart and beds are comfortable.Staff are friendly and helpful,breakfast is buffet style and we would say ample we went b&b this time as my other half is a wee bit fussy and the dinner last time did't always appeal but thats our own opinion overall the hotel is great value for money and we will be back

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank b0bvic
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Natasha D, Guest Relations Manager at Hotel Praia Sol, responded to this review, March 3, 2013
Thank you for your review,

We appreciate when guests post a review and take all to consideration.

We are very pleased you returned and enjoyed your stay once again at the Praia Sol Hotel.

We hope you return again in the future.
Kind Regards,
Natasha De Nobrega
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

462 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    158
    174
    73
    32
    25
See reviews for
50
261
37
5
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (125)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed February 4, 2013

We stayed for a week half board, and were very impressed by the very friendly staff, Breakfast was buffet style and the evening meal was a choice of two menus we ate out a few times if we didn't like the menu, They make the most wonderful white sangria, thoroughly recommend it.... would happily stay here again..

Room Tip: there are rooms that have extras but we didn't have know about these until we spoke to other hol...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Susan W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Natasha D, Guest Relations Manager at Hotel Praia Sol, responded to this review, February 5, 2013
Thank you for your review,

We appreciate when guests post a review so we can always improve.

We are very pleased you enjoyed your stay at the Hotel Praia Sol.

We hope you return and are always welcome to stay again.
Kind Regards,
Natasha De Nobrega
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Frome, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed February 3, 2013

We booked a last minute half board deal to this hotel for a weeks break away from the snow and ice. The hotel is clean, the rooms are spacious, could make more use of the sprace i.e. 2 chairs and not just one, and spotlessly clean, the only thing you will find is your towels are changed ever other day if you wonted them changed, a full clean on Sun Tue Thurs half clean on Mon Wed Fri & Sat you make your own bed as they don’t do Saturday’s, the staff are halpfull and friendley.. The food doesn't offer a lot of choice, set menu for evening meal where there will be a fish course or meat course don’t expect too much as it came with Rice or French fry’s or both,only once there was Veg. You have a choice of soup or salad for starters and cake or fruit for dessert, what you do get is excellently cooked and presented, you pay for any drink's you may have and yes you have to pay for coffee or tea, Breakfasts is the only time you don’t have to pay for your drinks, excellent Breakfasts. No tea or coffee in the rooms so take your own travel kettle etc with you. This is a 3 star hotel, but we have stayed in numerous 3 star hotels where the quality has superseded this hotel tenfold The location is in the middle of a housing estate so need a map to find the hotel when you come back from having a day out.
Would we recommend to our friends NO, Would we come back NO.

Room Tip: Take a room on the side away from the front or pool or Just forget to book this hotel
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank caroline-Pansy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Natasha D, Guest Relations Manager at Hotel Praia Sol, responded to this review, February 5, 2013
Thank you for your review,

We appreciate when guests post a review and take all to consideration.

We are sorry you did not enjoy your stay with us at Hotel Praia Sol, however you are always welcome to stay again.

Kind Regards,
Natasha De Nobrega
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wallasey, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
24 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed January 28, 2013

We booked a last minute half board deal to this hotel for a 3 night break away from the snow and ice.
It is a three star so don't go expecting 5 star accommodation or facilities and you will have a great stay.
The staff are the most friendly and helpful ive come across, nothing is too much trouble for them.
The half board menu is two choices of starter, main and sweet but my wife is vegetarian and there was no veggie choice for the main course, we explained this to the waitress at our first meal and the made sure there was always a veggie meal for her.
The beds are as comfortable as any we have slept in.
Would we go again or recommend the Praia Sol ?
MOST DEFINATELY
Worth noting too is the area around if flat with easy walks to the beach, Vilamoura and Quateria.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank stridles
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Natasha D, Guest Relations Manager at Hotel Praia Sol, responded to this review, February 5, 2013
Thank you for your review,

We appreciate when guests post a review and take all to consideration.

We are very pleased you enjoyed your holiday and stay at Hotel Praia Sol.
We are pleased you found staff friendly and we hope you return again in the future.

Kind Regards,
Natasha De Nobrega
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Llanelli
Level Contributor
31 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed January 17, 2013

We got a very cheap deal and was therefore not expecting a five star hotel with fine cuisine. Some people there expected just that even though they too had paid very little! The food is basic and not to everyone's taste but there was no need to go hungry, as you were given the menu the evening before and you had the option of ordering an omelette. The staff were extremely helpful and friendly and certainly worked extremely hard. Think perhaps more staff would be good idea! The location of hotel is not very good for those with walking difficulties as there are no seats available on walk to beach, marina or shops. Some of the guests were finding this restricting. Unfortunately our stay was marred by a group of middle aged people staying there for 3 nights who got extremely drunk each evening and were very noisy and raucous. We, and many other guests did not appreciate being woken up in the middle of the night to foul language, broken glass, shouting, banging and slamming of doors which went on for over an hour. This was reported to security on the first night and also to the Manager but although we were told that they had been spoken to this still continued each evening. Overall a very pleasant stay for the money.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank rosalie e
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Natasha D, Guest Relations Manager at Hotel Praia Sol, responded to this review, February 5, 2013
Thank you for your review,

We appreciate when guests post a review so we can always improve.

We hope you enjoyed your stay at the Hotel Praia Sol, We are sorry due to some of our other guests that may have woken you, When we may have reservations with a large group, we make sure guests follow our rules and regulations procedure and everything is kept under control.

We hope you return in the future and are always welcome to stay again.

Kind Regards,
Natasha De Nobrega
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Plymouth
Level Contributor
24 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
Reviewed January 17, 2013

Nice quiet location but only 10 minutes easy walk to the marina.

Attentive friendly and hard working staff.

Modern decor with warm furnishings. Occasional entertainment.

Reasonably priced and very well stocked bar.

Comfortable rooms, TV with English Channels if you can't bear to miss Coronation Street.

Well manicured gardens in which to soak up the sun.

More than adequate breakfast choice

Good rates, particularly in the off season.

What is there not to like ?

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank FootiefanPlymouth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Natasha D, Guest Relations Manager at Hotel Praia Sol, responded to this review, January 19, 2013
Thank you for your review,

We appreciate when guests post a review so we can always improve.

We are very pleased you enjoyed your stay and hope you return in the future.

Kind regards,
Natahsha De Nobrega
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
uk
Level Contributor
80 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
Reviewed January 7, 2013

Just spent New Year at this hotel for the first time......................cannot fault it in any way ! A lovely quiet relaxing holiday, the hotel is excellent, clean, spacious, friendly, helpful, calm, and relaxing. There is nothing the staff wont do to help you, they are so friendly and hard working. The rooms are spacious, and spotlessy clean. The food is good also, would recommend it to anyone.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank dizz10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Natasha D, Guest Relations Manager at Hotel Praia Sol, responded to this review, January 8, 2013
Thank you for your review,

We appreciate when guests post a review so we can always improve.

We are very pleased you enjoyed your stay with us at the Hotel Praia Sol and are always welcome to return in the future.

Kind Regards,
Natasha De Nobrega
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Quarteira hotels
1.1 mi away
Quarteira Sol
Quarteira Sol
#22 of 49 in Quarteira
3.5 of 5 bubbles 230 reviews
0.4 mi away
Dom Pedro Portobelo
Dom Pedro Portobelo
#15 of 36 in Vilamoura
4.0 of 5 bubbles 374 reviews
1.9 mi away
Pinhal do Sol Hotel
Pinhal do Sol Hotel
#26 of 49 in Quarteira
3.5 of 5 bubbles 788 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Dom Jose Beach Hotel
Dom Jose Beach Hotel
#7 of 49 in Quarteira
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,512 reviews
0.4 mi away
Vila Gale Ampalius
Vila Gale Ampalius
#7 of 36 in Vilamoura
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,563 reviews
0.6 mi away
Algardia Apartments
Algardia Apartments
#35 of 36 in Vilamoura
3.0 of 5 bubbles 54 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Praia Sol? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Praia Sol

Property: Hotel Praia Sol
Address: Rua Quinta do Romao, Quarteira 8125-301, Portugal
Location: Portugal > Algarve > Faro District > Quarteira
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #29 of 49 Hotels in Quarteira
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Praia Sol 3*
Number of rooms: 40
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Cancelon, Priceline, Evoline ltd, Booking.com, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Praia Sol reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Praia Sol Hotel
Hotel Praia Sol Quarteira, Algarve, Portugal

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing