We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good budget hotel”
Review of Hotel Praia Sol

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Hotel Praia Sol
Ranked #29 of 48 Hotels in Quarteira
Llanelli
Level Contributor
31 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Good budget hotel”
Reviewed January 17, 2013

We got a very cheap deal and was therefore not expecting a five star hotel with fine cuisine. Some people there expected just that even though they too had paid very little! The food is basic and not to everyone's taste but there was no need to go hungry, as you were given the menu the evening before and you had the option of ordering an omelette. The staff were extremely helpful and friendly and certainly worked extremely hard. Think perhaps more staff would be good idea! The location of hotel is not very good for those with walking difficulties as there are no seats available on walk to beach, marina or shops. Some of the guests were finding this restricting. Unfortunately our stay was marred by a group of middle aged people staying there for 3 nights who got extremely drunk each evening and were very noisy and raucous. We, and many other guests did not appreciate being woken up in the middle of the night to foul language, broken glass, shouting, banging and slamming of doors which went on for over an hour. This was reported to security on the first night and also to the Manager but although we were told that they had been spoken to this still continued each evening. Overall a very pleasant stay for the money.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank rosalie e
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Natasha D, Guest Relations Manager at Hotel Praia Sol, responded to this review, February 5, 2013
Thank you for your review,

We appreciate when guests post a review so we can always improve.

We hope you enjoyed your stay at the Hotel Praia Sol, We are sorry due to some of our other guests that may have woken you, When we may have reservations with a large group, we make sure guests follow our rules and regulations procedure and everything is kept under control.

We hope you return in the future and are always welcome to stay again.

Kind Regards,
Natasha De Nobrega
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

465 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    158
    175
    74
    32
    26
See reviews for
51
262
37
5
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (125)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Plymouth
Level Contributor
24 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
Reviewed January 17, 2013

Nice quiet location but only 10 minutes easy walk to the marina.

Attentive friendly and hard working staff.

Modern decor with warm furnishings. Occasional entertainment.

Reasonably priced and very well stocked bar.

Comfortable rooms, TV with English Channels if you can't bear to miss Coronation Street.

Well manicured gardens in which to soak up the sun.

More than adequate breakfast choice

Good rates, particularly in the off season.

What is there not to like ?

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank FootiefanPlymouth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Natasha D, Guest Relations Manager at Hotel Praia Sol, responded to this review, January 19, 2013
Thank you for your review,

We appreciate when guests post a review so we can always improve.

We are very pleased you enjoyed your stay and hope you return in the future.

Kind regards,
Natahsha De Nobrega
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
uk
Level Contributor
80 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
Reviewed January 7, 2013

Just spent New Year at this hotel for the first time......................cannot fault it in any way ! A lovely quiet relaxing holiday, the hotel is excellent, clean, spacious, friendly, helpful, calm, and relaxing. There is nothing the staff wont do to help you, they are so friendly and hard working. The rooms are spacious, and spotlessy clean. The food is good also, would recommend it to anyone.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank dizz10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Natasha D, Guest Relations Manager at Hotel Praia Sol, responded to this review, January 8, 2013
Thank you for your review,

We appreciate when guests post a review so we can always improve.

We are very pleased you enjoyed your stay with us at the Hotel Praia Sol and are always welcome to return in the future.

Kind Regards,
Natasha De Nobrega
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
rotherham
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed January 2, 2013

This was our 3rd Christmas at the Praia Sol.
Such a friendly pleasant hotel, the staff are wonderful and nothing is too much trouble for them to ensure you have a perfect holiday.
It's only a small hotel with about 40 rooms but we find this much better than a big impersonal establishment, you get to know the other guests besides the staff which makes it a pleasant experience.
Met a number of people on return trips for just the same reasons.
The hotel is very clean and well organized, the food doesn't offer a lot of choice, set menu for evening meal where there will be a fish course or meat course for mains with a choice of soup or salad for starters and cake or fruit for dessert. However, what you do get is excellently cooked and presented, personally feel this is a much better way to carry on than to produce a huge array of food on a buffet where half of it gets wasted and of course it keeps the holiday cost down.
Never failed to have a good holiday here which is why I have already booked it for Christmas 2013

Room Tip: In winter rooms on the front of hotel are best as they face the sun all day
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank holimaniaRotherham
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Natasha D, Guest Relations Manager at Hotel Praia Sol, responded to this review, January 8, 2013
Thank you for your review,

We appreciate when guests post a review and take all to consideration.

Thank you for choosing the Hotel Praia sol for your Christmas break, we are very pleased you had an enjoyable stay again.

We look forward to see you again.

Kind Regards,
Natasha De Nobrega
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
53 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
Reviewed December 31, 2012

My wife and I had a very enjoyable stay here over the Xmas Holiday. Rooms were spacious and clean, towels in the large and modern bathroom were changed every day except for the public holidays.The bar and lounge area were both comfortable and welcoming and the evening entertainment provided was excellent. The restaurant provided a choice of two dishes for starter, main and sweet courses which were ordered the day before. A breakfast buffet was provided with most of the usual items included, all the meals we received here were well cooked and substantial and excellent value for money for a hotel in this category.All of the staff that we came in contact with daily were polite, courteous and friendly, these qualities also extended to the clientele here whose company we enjoyed. As I have limited mobility we hired a car and were pleased to have disabled parking bays available. We enjoyed our holiday in Vilamoura very much and would recommend this hotel to anyone considering a holiday in this location.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Rayad45
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Natasha D, Guest Relations Manager at Hotel Praia Sol, responded to this review, January 8, 2013
Thank you for your review,

We appreciate when guests post a review so we can always improve.

We are pleased you enjoyed your holiday and stay, We hope you return and are always welcome to stay again at the Praia Sol Hotel.

Kind Regards,
Natasha De Nobrega
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Huddersfield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed December 30, 2012 via mobile

Had another three weeks here once again no faults, everything just as good as our stay in January, weather also as good.
This Hotel is deffinateley value for money, the staff most obliging and helpful, if you love fish always one of the choices for evening meal which we loved.
Vilamoura a lovely marina to sit and watch the world go by.

  • Stayed November 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Denise164
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Natasha D, Guest Relations Manager at Hotel Praia Sol, responded to this review, January 8, 2013
Thank you for your review,

We appreciate when guests post a review and take all to considertaion.

We are very pleased you enjoyed your stay once again at the Praia sol Hotel.

We hope you return and look forward to see you again.
Kind Regards,
Natasha De Nobrega
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bebington, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed December 21, 2012

The hotel was beautiful, lovely and clean, however the staff were not hospitable at all.
The first night my husband and I arrived we went out for a few drinks, we could not find the front entrance to come back to and so tried the back gate, it was locked, while asking locals for directions they hit my husband and he split his head open, luckily they ran off and other locals helped us find the front entrance, the night porter was brilliant and gave me all the stuff i needed to clean Chris' head.
We went to bed and Chris was sick, unfortunately on the sheets, i stripped the beds and the next morning asked the manager for clean bedding, the response was 'Why?' even though it was our fault if we wanted new bedding should it not just be given without question?
From the moment the chambermaid had cleaned the room we were treated like naughty school children by the staff, we asked for directions the next day as we were going on a jeep safari and needed to get to the pick up point, the girl said she did not know where it was and walked off, we returned from the jeep safari which was brilliant and we had brought a bottle of champagne with us to celebrate our anniversary, Chris went to the bar and asked could we have a glass of ice and 2 wine glasses, the rude barmaid replied shortly and sharply 'no, i need them all' and gave chris 2 half pint glasses - not what you want to be drinking champagne out of!!Also there was about 1/3 of the capacity of guests so I dont think she would of needed every single one of them.
There was no snacks available at the hotel unless it was at breakfast time or Tea time, the menu was set and unappealing, there was no hospitality shown to us at any point and it got to the point where we dreaded seeing the staff when we would return to the hotel, we spoke to other guests who had heard how rudely we were spoken to and were glad it wasn't just us who didn't have great experiences with the staff.
There were no double beds only rooms with 2 singles which was disapointing,there were no signs or easy ways of getting from the front of the hotel to the back, something should be done about that.
If your over 50 the staff seemed to have a kinder attitude but if your young i would not recommend this hotel and i also think the staff and manager definitely need to go on a hospitality course!!!

Room Tip: All rooms have a terrace so it doesn't matter much, we stayed at the back of the hotel facing th...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Liz G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Natasha D, Guest Relations Manager at Hotel Praia Sol, responded to this review, December 24, 2012
Thank you for your review,

We appreciate when guests post a review.

We are very sorry to read this review, staff at Hotel Praia Sol work hard to please guests and their first priority is the well being and safety of all our guests.
Firstly we ask our guests to always use the front entrance as for safety reasons we do not leave the back open, we are sorry for what happened and made sure you were safe and advised to see a doctor when you arrived to the Hotel.
The Manager came to see you to make sure everything was ok as you did not see a doctor and you were asked why as to find out the reason for new bedding as your room seemed to require new bedding daily, as you are aware the policy states only once a week a bedding change and towels 3 times a week.
The food served in the restaurant has a wide variety for selection which we do not repeat for 10 days to satisfy all.
We are not aware of the incident with the champagne classes.

Once again we are sorry you feel this way as staff were always helpful and make sure guests feel at home during their stay.

Kind Regards,
Natasha De Nobrega
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Quarteira hotels
1.1 mi away
Quarteira Sol
Quarteira Sol
#23 of 48 in Quarteira
237 reviews
1.9 mi away
Pinhal do Sol Hotel
Pinhal do Sol Hotel
#26 of 48 in Quarteira
800 reviews
1.4 mi away
Hotel Zodiaco
Hotel Zodiaco
#24 of 48 in Quarteira
221 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Dom Jose Beach Hotel
Dom Jose Beach Hotel
#7 of 48 in Quarteira
1,536 reviews
0.4 mi away
Dom Pedro Portobelo
Dom Pedro Portobelo
#15 of 36 in Vilamoura
408 reviews
0.4 mi away
Vila Gale Marina
Vila Gale Marina
#13 of 36 in Vilamoura
1,187 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Praia Sol? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Praia Sol

Property: Hotel Praia Sol
Address: Rua Quinta do Romao, Quarteira 8125-301, Portugal
Location: Portugal > Algarve > Faro District > Quarteira
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #29 of 48 Hotels in Quarteira
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Praia Sol 3*
Number of rooms: 40
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Cancelon, Booking.com, Evoline ltd, Priceline, HotelQuickly and TripOnline SA so you can book your Hotel Praia Sol reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Praia Sol Hotel
Hotel Praia Sol Quarteira, Algarve, Portugal

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing