We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“GREAT HOTEL IDEAL LOCATION”
Review of Hotel Praia Sol

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Hotel Praia Sol
Ranked #30 of 48 Hotels in Quarteira
Reviewed October 18, 2012

Just returned from hotel after 5 night stay on a bed and breakfast basis. Our stay was brilliant could not really fault anything in the hotel as it was clean and well presented. 5 minute walk to marina at villamoura through the back gate,5 minute walk to beach from front reception. Staff were very friendly and if they could they would help you if it was needed,but glad to say we were ok. We will be returning next year ,just looking at dates as we write this review.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Adrian T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (486)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

271 - 277 of 486 reviews

Reviewed October 8, 2012

We have just returned from the Hotel Praia Sol. My husband and two sisters stayed for a week. The hotel offers what it " says on the box?" No complaints from us. As pointed out the hotel staff are multi tasking and work really hard. They are pleasant and helpful people with a good sense of humour. The hotel is clean and comfortable and within easy walking distance of Vilamoura and other areas of interest if you are able to walk. Good bus services to other resorts, markets if you feel inclined? The breakfasts are adequate..evening meals are basic..some food poorly cooked , a pity this because it was decent food.. when it started out! But it was replaced by the other option when we complained.
In retrospect I would definetly go to the hotel again but probably opt for B &B. But good value for money and the people who have made such negative remarks about it on this site need to "get a life"
Well pleased Norfolk

Room Tip: Rooms at rear overlook a large stadium and recreation area for skate boards and bikes. Didnt bother...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank diane t
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 7, 2012

The title is an old saying that stands the test of time. I believe some people make a fuss about the food served to them to make them appear ' special ' when to me they seem needy and just a pain.The breakfast has everthing and more than most of us would eat on a daily basis at home,
Lunchtimes the bar snacks are tasty and reasonably priced. Evening meals should be judged bearing in mind, the price being charged (10 euros) is for 3 courses, A previous review has stated that bar prices are expensive, a pint of beer is 2 euros!
1 can only reiterate what most people have said, the hotel is spotless, as are the rooms, our towels were changed daily,The rooms are bigger than most and modern . the bathroom had a jaccussi bath ,shower and bidet,
The staff multi-task but always address any request, and with a smile, Some people seem to go out of their way to be rude,as if its their main purpose in life, to make someone miserable and there was one here that week, ( a guest )
Because being a Hotel of only 40 rooms it made it easier to make friends and chat to other guests, some have returned many times,
We had a great time and will return.

Room Tip: Above ground floor rooms recommended. The back -door alley (to marina) is only 5 metres long and i...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank eltaxken29
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 6, 2012

Just returned after another lovely week at Praia Sol. Weather was wonderful and the Hotel met to our expectations yet again.

The staff are wonderful and friendly. We can honestly say we were sad to leave and class all as new friends, all of them as such loving, kind and lovely people.
Be aware and patient that they work a 12hour day, and those at Reception, and cleaning the rooms, and at the Bar and Serving you dinner are the same people. So when pressing the backgate to be let in may take a few moments as the one or two people left on duty will be "multi tasking" Please be patient and after such a long day they are always there for us and chat and serve.
They dash around to help you with such kindness and smiling at all times.
The clientele is usually "mature". and most evenings there are groups chatting together like on a cruise ship holiday - make new friends staff and guests!
The food is absolutely fine and such to the British palette.
As all corridors and doors are set on marble it echoes a bit. We whisper, others dont !
So whoever flushes the toilet at 3am was not my favourite person.
The back gate area has been cleared and less obstructed which is great.
The sound of the skate board park at the back never bothered us as it finished about 10pm anyway.
Quarteria FC at the back suited football deprived guests and we had a prime view from our balcony. I had many a happy hour watching them warm up - wink!

Subathing holiday to potter or a golfing base?? Excellent choice.

We will be back and think this Hotel is excellent value.
Excellent value at an extra price.

We are on a cruise in a few weeks, different cost, expectations, and not so relaxing and less chance to chill!

BE KIND TO RIUS, SOPHIE, VANYA ETC ETC ETC

ENJOY

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank MARIE B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 3, 2012

Great little hotel, this is our second visit and I'm sure there will be many more, people visit this hotel year after year in fact we saw quite a few people who were there from last year. The staff are really great, work really hard and are good fun, special mention to Rui who is really helpful if you want to book trips / hire cars etc, he booked us a really cool trip - extreme buggys, up in the mountains well worth a go !!! I don't know how anyone can say bad things about this hotel, for the price it's fantastic. We can't comment on the evening meals because we only stay b&b as there are far to many nice places to eat in villamoura, which is only 5 mins walk out of the back gate. I like this hotel as you can always get a sunbed round the pool, which is really quiet and relaxing. The hotel is really clean, good air con, well stocked bar, great staff, great location and good price.

Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
Thank cooperNottingham
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 5, 2012

Stayed here for a week in August. A very quiet hotel set in a residential area yet a short stroll from the excitement and lights of Villamoura Marina. Our room was very clean and well kept, housekeeping was alternate days and comfortably accomodated 2 adults and 1 child. We were on a B & B basis, and the breakfast was perfectly acceptable. Cereal, fresh bread, fruit, cold meat selection and scrambled egg, sausages and beans on offer every day. One small niggle arose when the hotel ran out of muesli on day 3 and it was never replaced leaving just 2 choices of flakes. That said, I personally don't get up at home and put on several types of flakes, a continental platter and hot food!
The staff in the hotel are very helpful and accomodating and on check in we asked if we could have a fridge in the room. They do have some available, although they are not provided in every room. We paid a surcharge of 10 euros for the week and it was delivered and installed in the old mini bar location that afternoon. There is a well stocked supermarket just around the corner and bottles of water retailed at as little as 17 cents. The fresh bread there is baked in store and we could make fresh rolls with ham and cheese for less than 5 euros a day for the 3 of us.
There is also a safe provided in the room and again for a small extra surcharge you are provided with the key to lock valuables away.
The sun loungers and umbrellas around the pool area have all seen better days, but there are also trees that provide shelter and with a little imagination, we were very comfortable and shaded each day. There are tiles missing from the bottom of the pool and someone had kindly piled them up on the poolside, but it didn't stop us from using the pool once. TAKE a pool towel with you as they are NOT provided. This caught us out completely and we ended up having to buy a poor quality towel locally which we then left there.
The hotel provide a set menu in the restuarant each night. 3 courses for 10 euros and the food was lovely. Worth a try if you fancy staying put one night.
Many have commented in other reviews on the back gate route to Villamoura and it is indeed a very short stroll down to the marina. We ate in the marina and then again on some of the backstreets which are inevitably much cheaper as they don't have the marina views. Early evening there are people on the marina touting for trade for the restaurants in the backstreets. They will often offer a free glass of wine if you present the leaflet on dining. A good way to make your money go further. Then we headed on to the marina for a drink and the atmosphere.
I would recommend this if you fancy a holiday that is quiet and chilled during the day but with the option of night life in the marina and the casino.
Note that there is a running track, skateboard and cycling track behind the hotel, so avoid pool facing rooms as they would hear the noise from here.

Room Tip: We had room 101 and it was very quiet. Avoid the pool facing rooms as there is a skateboard park at...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Melandmuffy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 25, 2012

Stayed for a week at the Hotel Praia Sol with my boyfriend. Its a great hotel, staff are very helpful,even let me print off my confirmation because i forgot before I left Glasgow. OOPs
The rooms are cleaned daily towels changed every few days, more if you leave them in the bath. The bar has a HUGE selection of drinks, all much cheaper than else where!
Great pool, enough beds for everyone and plenty of room for laying out a towel -sometimes people reserve them and turn up hours later however this happens anywhere you go.
Had lunch each day at the hotel, great selection, cheap and tasty! The breakfast was also great!
Vilamoura is a short walk, 5-10 min, through the back gate, on the way back slightly longer to avoid the back lane.

Overall a fantastic week in the sun in a fantastic hotel!

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Katie P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Quarteira hotels
1.9 mi away
Pinhal do Sol Hotel
Pinhal do Sol Hotel
#28 of 48 in Quarteira
834 reviews
0.8 mi away
Quarteira Sol
Quarteira Sol
#26 of 48 in Quarteira
267 reviews
0.8 mi away
Dom Jose Beach Hotel
Dom Jose Beach Hotel
#9 of 48 in Quarteira
1,643 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 mi away
Hotel Atismar
Hotel Atismar
#42 of 48 in Quarteira
977 reviews
0.5 mi away
Dom Pedro Marina
Dom Pedro Marina
#9 of 36 in Vilamoura
1,289 reviews
1.3 mi away
Hotel Zodiaco
Hotel Zodiaco
#24 of 48 in Quarteira
244 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Praia Sol? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Praia Sol

Address: Rua Quinta do Romao, Quarteira 8125-301, Portugal
Phone Number:
Location: Portugal > Algarve > Faro District > Quarteira
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #30 of 48 Hotels in Quarteira
Price Range: $25 - $80 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Praia Sol 3*
Number of rooms: 40
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Priceline, Orbitz, Otel, Booking.com, Cancelon and Evoline ltd so you can book your Hotel Praia Sol reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Praia Sol Hotel
Hotel Praia Sol Quarteira, Algarve, Portugal

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing