We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good basic hotel”
Review of Hotel Zodiaco

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hotel Zodiaco
Ranked #24 of 48 Hotels in Quarteira
Certificate of Excellence
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
16 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Good basic hotel”
Reviewed May 26, 2014 via mobile

My friend and I stayed here for four nights and found it to be a good 3 star hotel. Basic but clean and friendly. We didn't pay a lot so we would stay here again as it is just a short walk to the sea front with good restaurants nearby. The bus stop is also a few minutes walk away. The breakfast was ok the usual bread rolls, cereal, fruit etc. It is very cheap to eat out in the resort, glass of house wine €1 a jug €2.50! Main meals about €10 coffee €1. Even sitting in the square or seafront coffee and pastry €2. Staff at hotel very friendly and helpful.

  • Stayed May 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank LinsTay
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

221 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    60
    111
    33
    10
    7
See reviews for
50
109
21
4
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (33)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
36 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed May 19, 2014

We really enjoyed our stay here - all the staff members are lovely and very helpful and welcoming. Free parking and breakfast included is a really good deal by anyone's standards, especially at 20 Euros per room per night!
We stayed for ten nights, which is perhaps getting a little on the long side for a stay here. Thankfully we were able to hire a fridge as it would have been expensive to have lunch out everyday otherwise. Having a balcony would have given us a little bit of extra space but the room we were in was quite large - but it was with a twin bed, even though we'd asked for a double. But I think this is the continental way!
I would say the hotel is better suited for a shorter break rather than a long holiday, but we still really enjoyed our stay.
The rooms were cleaned everyday and were totally spotless and the walk into the main resort was only about 15 mins at a leisurely pace. Time it right on your way back in for the evening and see the amazing sunset!

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank haybelline
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hull, Iowa
Level Contributor
22 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed April 19, 2014

EXCELLENT ***UK COMPARISON RADDISON/HILTON***superior room lovely thank you
Have returned yesterday after 4 night stay you could not fault this hotel for friendly staff. On reception very helpful, Spotless..cleanliness...ample choice of buffet breakfast, eat as much as you like, Pool although sun loungers need replacing
Only downside no rooms have balcony..which means no scraping table and chAirs..thank god
And walls very thin...hence had no sleep at all due to noisy people upstAirs
Room 2 ground floor quiet area end of corridor, FantAstic room, lovely decor, faced back of pool onto grassland, Nice chairs and enough seating for all in lounge with small bar, TV,internet , rooms cleaned daily, it's a 10 min walk to beach, market day is Wednesday, 15 min walk to centre shops, and supermarket is only 5 min away maximum.
.*******......excellent....recommended.........5*. Thank you *********

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank giftbox
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
42 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
Reviewed April 14, 2014 via mobile

I will list the negatives first they are few but important. Firstly no room has a balcony which limits drying clothes and obviously no where to sit in the evening, secondly limited choice for breakfast same everyday cereal, toast, ham and cheese! Very fresh breakfast but limited on choice. Thirdly pool area although clean and a fair sized pool it's not very inviting sun beds are old and mattresses torn and no sun umbrellas! Positives great staff with a special mention to Leo who went beyond his duties to ensure we enjoyed are stay! Very clean hotel with hard working staff Very knowledgable and helpful well done Leo you deserve a pay rise! Location is good a ten minute walk to beach we even walked to villamoura it took aprox 45 minutes! All in all a great weeks stay for the bargain price for 3 ladies to have a chilled and relaxed week! Love Portugal!

Stayed April 2014
Helpful?
2 Thank Piskyprincess
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed October 18, 2013 via mobile

The hotel was clean, spacious, well maintained, of a high standard and I was pleasantly surprised by the very smart interior decoration. Staff were polite, friendly and helpful and happily tried to meet any request and I was welcome to use the wifi. Rooms were cleaned and towels changed daily.The breakfast was a continental buffet with lovely local fresh bread. Food was always fresh and dining room very hygienic. The hotel was a short walk from the beach and amenities but this meant that it was quiet and easy to sleep. There was a good mix of nationalities of people using the hotel.

Stayed June 2013, traveled solo
Helpful?
3 Thank Vicky J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wrexham
Level Contributor
45 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 97 helpful votes
Reviewed October 18, 2013

The other reviews are right - you can't beat the Zodiaco for value. It is very clean, has everything you need, & the aircon is extremely quiet and cool. The breakfast is fine - 7.30 till 10.00, plenty of choice, and you can have as much as you like. The only downside was noise from a few inconsiderate guests - unfortunately, there's no avoiding them these days! Some people don't seem to care about disturbing others when they come in very late at night or leave for a very early flight - maybe they sleep through anything themselves so have no concept of what it's like to be woken in the night?? Not the hotel's fault though - even if you get a quiet room, there's no accounting for your neighbours. Also, if you have any mobility issues, it might be a good idea to postpone staying here until the nearby road and pavement works are finished unless you don't mind using taxis - the 10 minute walk to the prom and the town involves picking your way through some dust and rubble at the moment....We'd recommend the 30 minute walk from Quarteira to Vilamoura to see the marina, and the return bus ride to Albufeira is well worth the 8.5 euros return fare from the bus stop near the hotel.

Room Tip: We'd ask for an end room next time - fewer neighbours to make a noise!
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank fedupsingle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cape Town Central, South Africa
Level Contributor
306 reviews
48 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 123 helpful votes
Reviewed October 9, 2013

Nothing can beat this place for value for money. I see some people complaining about having to walk too far. We holiday with a hire car so this is irelevent. So centrally situated in the Algarve. A lovely typical Portuguese holiday resort. Few foreign tourists. A real taste of Portugal. Rooms spacious and clean, don't expect 5 star at this price.A nice bar and restaurant which we did not use. Quite a good spread for breakfast. But for value, this is the place.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank david o
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Quarteira hotels
0.5 mi away
Quarteira Sol
Quarteira Sol
#23 of 48 in Quarteira
237 reviews
0.9 mi away
Pinhal do Sol Hotel
Pinhal do Sol Hotel
#26 of 48 in Quarteira
800 reviews
0.9 mi away
Dom Jose Beach Hotel
Dom Jose Beach Hotel
#7 of 48 in Quarteira
1,536 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.4 mi away
Hotel Praia Sol
Hotel Praia Sol
#29 of 48 in Quarteira
465 reviews
3.6 mi away
Hotel Parque das Laranjeiras
Hotel Parque das Laranjeiras
#25 of 48 in Quarteira
71 reviews
0.7 mi away
Hotel Atismar
Hotel Atismar
#32 of 48 in Quarteira
932 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Zodiaco? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Zodiaco

Property: Hotel Zodiaco
Address: Estrada Nacional 527 - Fonte Nova Estrada da Fonte Santa, Quarteira 8125-618, Portugal
Location: Portugal > Algarve > Faro District > Quarteira
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #24 of 48 Hotels in Quarteira
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Zodiaco 3*
Number of rooms: 60
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cancelon, Priceline, HotelQuickly and HRS so you can book your Hotel Zodiaco reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Zodiaco Hotel Quarteira
Hotel Zodiaco Quarteira, Algarve, Portugal

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing