We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Brilliant value. Spacious. Spotless. Friendly” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hotel Zodiaco

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Hotel Zodiaco
Ranked #21 of 49 Hotels in Quarteira
boston
Level Contributor
102 reviews
46 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 153 helpful votes
“Brilliant value. Spacious. Spotless. Friendly”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 28, 2013 via mobile

We booked here on our golf trip so we just wanted a base, nothing fancy. However, the Zodiaco exceeded all our expectations in every way. The hotel was easy to find (large sign on hotel lit up at night). Leo the manager welcomed us and was very helpful throughout. The rooms are simple and clean. The windows have electric shutters which means you can block out all the light at night and sleep well. The breakfast is simple too. Bread cheese ham cereals etc, but that's all we wanted and the room rate was only €18.50 a night so what more could you ask for!
There is also free wifi throughout which is a big plus ( although you do have to keep signing in). But it is genuinely free.
Will definitely go back. Thank you Leo and all the staff.

Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
Helpful?
2 Thank simonelk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

208 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    57
    103
    32
    9
    7
See reviews for
49
99
21
4
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (31)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 4, 2012

This was our second stay at Zodiaco, this time out of season. Again we found the hotel clean and the rooms comfortable. The breakfast is more than sufficient and all in all very good value. As we found the last time, the staff are great and go out of their way to be helpful. Everything is within walking distance from the beach to lots of eating places. One of our favourites is called Sandomania, which we went to most mornings. We can't recommend this enough for a really good value place to stay although in some ways we would like to keep it our secret!

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
7 Thank iolitepurple
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Liverpool, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 11, 2012

We stayed a week in June and could not find fault with anything. The breakfast was very basic but ok, we only had one evening meal thought it was value. Room very good and staff very helpful.There are plenty of good restaurants within 10 minutes walk. .

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Henry72-12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stowmarket, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
13 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 4, 2012

Stayed 4 nights. What great value. The breakfast was very good. The Hotel is very clean and the staff friendly. Did not eat at the Hotel other than breakfast so can not comment. Room basic but clean. Will definitely be going back next year and will take my teenagers with me. Beach nearby great, quite a walk to bars and restaurants but we don't mind that.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank glasseyedeb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Barnsley, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 23, 2012

We only wanted somewhere to lay our heads at night, but the hotel exceeded our expectations. We stayed 14 nights. The breakfast offered was quite basic, but there was a cafe menu from which you could order from at any time. The evening meal was always Soup of a very good quality, a selection of salads, two main courses or you could have both if you wished, and a choice of deserts. If the set menu did not appeal, there was a Book Menu with a wider choice and these were cooked to order. The meal and Bar prices were comparable to those available down town. The waiters were always pleasant, friendly and helpful, and made our stay very pleasant. The linen and towels are changed everyday, and the cleaners very pleasant. A taxi driver informed us that Quartiera was the resort of choice for the Portugese in the Algarve, and the Restaurants along the beach prominade reflected this

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank IanBand
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cordoba, Spain
Level Contributor
36 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 29, 2012

Very clean. Our room was excellent, very modern, spacious, beautiful bathroom.

Pool area quiet. No problem getting a sun bed.

Breakfast very basic even by continental standards but OK.

Evening meal had only two choices. First night both meat. But they did offer to cook something else when I complained. If you do eat here make sure it is as early as possible or the food just sits there. Definitely not a place for vegetarians!

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Pam933
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leeds, UK
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 17, 2012

We are a couple with a 5 year old child, we stayed at Zodiaco for 7 nights in late July 2012. We arrived around 11pm and were welcomed by two friendly members of staff, one was a nice young chap on reception and another from the bar. Our room was a double room on the second floor, we had two single beds pushed together and an additional fold out single bed had been put up for our son. The room also had TV, air con (that worked very well), built in wardrobes and drawers and a full bathroom that was a good size.
The room was kept clean daily, by maids who work hard to please the guests. We always had a good supply of fresh towels,linen, the floor was cleaned and the room always welcoming to come back to after a hard days sightseeing. The room also had very good quality shutter blinds that completely kept out light, we were waking about 9 am and the room was as dark as the middle of the night. The hotel had a large communal area on the ground floor, a large space you can just sit and chill, reading a book maybe, a billiards area and an area next to the bar you can watch TV. there is a small lift, it works but we found it a bit slow, quicker to use the staircase, but at least they have a lift for those that need it or if you have heavy luggage.
Each morning we had a lovely buffet breakfast in the restaurant, there was always a choice of fresh pastries, crossaints,breads, jams, cheese, hams, boiled eggs, cereals, cake, fresh fruits, coffee, tea, juices and you just help yourself.
Our son loved the swimming pool and we went in every day. It is a quiet hotel, so sometimes had the pool to ourselves, sometimes there would be 3 or 4 other family groups using the pool area. the pool area has its own changing area, is close to the bar and there is nothing more to say as we always had fun there, it was clean and safe.
The hotel also has a billiards table ($6 per hour), tennis courts (in car park) and internet was available. The hotel also offer bikes for hire, my partner did this a couple of times, it was $10 for24 hours, he enjoyed exploring locally for a couple of hours on amorning while I took the little one in the pool. He said there are some nice rides along the seafront (which is paved all the way to Vilamoura harbour) and one of the days he went towards the mountains and discovered local and off the beaten track bars/cafes, he said the scenerey was good). We hired a car for a few days and never had a problem parking the car, we recommend car hire as the roads are good (although short slip roads) and we like to explore.
Opposite the hotel Zodiaco (turn left out of it and cross the road), is Cafe Nobre owned by a Portugese family, we like to support local businesses and went there for coffee/snack once and an evening glass of wine a couple of times, the prices are a lot cheaper than in Quarteira and its good to interact with locals.
I liked the hotel and would consider staying there again,it is on the edge of the Quarteria resort, which suited us, maybe 15 minute walk to the bus station (with a 5 year old, would be quicker on our own), but only 5 mins to the beach on foot (cross the road and go down the path down the side of the camping site, good fish restaurant down there too).The strength of the hotel is the staff - the cleaners work especially hard and everytime we were in the hotel we could see them being busy keeping the communal area nice, polishing the marble, glasswork, staircase, lift and guest rooms. We left the maids a very good tip. Another strength is the location, we like been on the edge of the resort, but still within walking distance of all the facilities.
The only down side to the hotel is that with the extra fold away bed in the room, it didnt leave much more space. There was no entertainment in the bar (as some websites stated they have), but this didnt bother us because we tend to go into town anyway.
I will be revisiting the Zodiaco again and look forward to it!

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Jo F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Quarteira hotels
0.3 mi away
Quarteira Sol
Quarteira Sol
#24 of 49 in Quarteira
3.5 of 5 bubbles 211 reviews
3.7 mi away
Hotel Parque das Laranjeiras
Hotel Parque das Laranjeiras
#22 of 49 in Quarteira
4.5 of 5 bubbles 70 reviews
0.7 mi away
Dom Jose Beach Hotel
Dom Jose Beach Hotel
#7 of 49 in Quarteira
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,460 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.5 mi away
Hotel Praia Sol
Hotel Praia Sol
#27 of 49 in Quarteira
4.0 of 5 bubbles 449 reviews
1.1 mi away
Pinhal do Sol Hotel
Pinhal do Sol Hotel
#23 of 49 in Quarteira
3.5 of 5 bubbles 769 reviews
0.5 mi away
Hotel Atismar
Hotel Atismar
#42 of 49 in Quarteira
3.0 of 5 bubbles 876 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Zodiaco? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Zodiaco

Property: Hotel Zodiaco
Address: Fonte Santa, Estrada Nacional 527 - Fonte Nova, Quarteira 8125-618, Portugal
Location: Portugal > Algarve > Faro District > Quarteira
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #21 of 49 Hotels in Quarteira
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Zodiaco 3*
Number of rooms: 60
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Agoda and Expedia so you can book your Hotel Zodiaco reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Zodiaco Hotel Quarteira
Hotel Zodiaco Quarteira, Algarve, Portugal

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing