We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Hotel shame about the food”
Review of Hotel Zodiaco

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hotel Zodiaco
Ranked #24 of 48 Hotels in Quarteira
Certificate of Excellence
Cordoba, Spain
Level Contributor
38 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
“Great Hotel shame about the food”
Reviewed August 29, 2012

Very clean. Our room was excellent, very modern, spacious, beautiful bathroom.

Pool area quiet. No problem getting a sun bed.

Breakfast very basic even by continental standards but OK.

Evening meal had only two choices. First night both meat. But they did offer to cook something else when I complained. If you do eat here make sure it is as early as possible or the food just sits there. Definitely not a place for vegetarians!

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Pam933
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

221 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    60
    111
    33
    10
    7
See reviews for
50
109
21
4
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (33)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Leeds, UK
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed August 17, 2012

We are a couple with a 5 year old child, we stayed at Zodiaco for 7 nights in late July 2012. We arrived around 11pm and were welcomed by two friendly members of staff, one was a nice young chap on reception and another from the bar. Our room was a double room on the second floor, we had two single beds pushed together and an additional fold out single bed had been put up for our son. The room also had TV, air con (that worked very well), built in wardrobes and drawers and a full bathroom that was a good size.
The room was kept clean daily, by maids who work hard to please the guests. We always had a good supply of fresh towels,linen, the floor was cleaned and the room always welcoming to come back to after a hard days sightseeing. The room also had very good quality shutter blinds that completely kept out light, we were waking about 9 am and the room was as dark as the middle of the night. The hotel had a large communal area on the ground floor, a large space you can just sit and chill, reading a book maybe, a billiards area and an area next to the bar you can watch TV. there is a small lift, it works but we found it a bit slow, quicker to use the staircase, but at least they have a lift for those that need it or if you have heavy luggage.
Each morning we had a lovely buffet breakfast in the restaurant, there was always a choice of fresh pastries, crossaints,breads, jams, cheese, hams, boiled eggs, cereals, cake, fresh fruits, coffee, tea, juices and you just help yourself.
Our son loved the swimming pool and we went in every day. It is a quiet hotel, so sometimes had the pool to ourselves, sometimes there would be 3 or 4 other family groups using the pool area. the pool area has its own changing area, is close to the bar and there is nothing more to say as we always had fun there, it was clean and safe.
The hotel also has a billiards table ($6 per hour), tennis courts (in car park) and internet was available. The hotel also offer bikes for hire, my partner did this a couple of times, it was $10 for24 hours, he enjoyed exploring locally for a couple of hours on amorning while I took the little one in the pool. He said there are some nice rides along the seafront (which is paved all the way to Vilamoura harbour) and one of the days he went towards the mountains and discovered local and off the beaten track bars/cafes, he said the scenerey was good). We hired a car for a few days and never had a problem parking the car, we recommend car hire as the roads are good (although short slip roads) and we like to explore.
Opposite the hotel Zodiaco (turn left out of it and cross the road), is Cafe Nobre owned by a Portugese family, we like to support local businesses and went there for coffee/snack once and an evening glass of wine a couple of times, the prices are a lot cheaper than in Quarteira and its good to interact with locals.
I liked the hotel and would consider staying there again,it is on the edge of the Quarteria resort, which suited us, maybe 15 minute walk to the bus station (with a 5 year old, would be quicker on our own), but only 5 mins to the beach on foot (cross the road and go down the path down the side of the camping site, good fish restaurant down there too).The strength of the hotel is the staff - the cleaners work especially hard and everytime we were in the hotel we could see them being busy keeping the communal area nice, polishing the marble, glasswork, staircase, lift and guest rooms. We left the maids a very good tip. Another strength is the location, we like been on the edge of the resort, but still within walking distance of all the facilities.
The only down side to the hotel is that with the extra fold away bed in the room, it didnt leave much more space. There was no entertainment in the bar (as some websites stated they have), but this didnt bother us because we tend to go into town anyway.
I will be revisiting the Zodiaco again and look forward to it!

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Jo F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bannockburn, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
40 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
Reviewed August 9, 2012

Just back the from this hotel , this is a great hotel is spotless , staff very friendly, meals ok ! put it this way we never starved , loved the fact that you didn't have to pay bar bill till end of holiday , but this didn't suit everyone , we were in room 118 which wash very modern and clean with air condition , the only thing that let it down was no balcony . The pool was great never busy until after the Spanish have their seestia , the only thing that let hotel down was the lack of entertainment , but the main resort was just a 10min stroll away .would recommend the little train that can be caught across the road at the campsite , this only cost 2euro and takes you to villamora then back to the beach at Quarteria, just a fun thing to do ,epecially if you have kids .All and all great little hotel very clea in a quiet resort.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank pebbles1888
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Belfast, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed June 14, 2012

I stayed for 1 week B&B (solo traveller) from end of May 2012 to start of June 2012 (Jubilee weekend). Hotel was just what I wanted, a relaxing break, close to the beach and all amenities. Taxi could be booked at reception and days out, eg reef fishing & aqua splash & slide.

Hotel had outdoor pool which was clean and in good location layout from hotel / bar / resturant.

Room was perfect, with ensuite bath/shower etc.. and could rent safe for 20euros for the week and fridge for 20euros for the week I would definately go back to this hotel and the Quarteira area, but anyone looking for a nitelife nite clubs etc.. Albufeira is the place to go (apparently)

Room Tip: the view out the back of hotel wasnt great but i wasnt there to look out the window.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Philip M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Liverpool, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed March 7, 2012

Me and my girlfriend came to hotel zodiaco for a week in mid-September. I had read the reviews online and seemed to get a great price considering the reviews were great.

In September it is worth noting that the hotel isn't busy at all, most days we had the pool to ourselves, which was great for us. The hotel is roughly a 5-10 minute walk to a gorgeous deserted beach, with a sun-bed costing €5 for the whole day. The beach is on the main strip where all the restaurants, cafes and shops are, so this is also only a 10 minute walk away. If you decide to rent a car, the parking facilities at the hotel are excellent, we always had a space to park the car, in fact parking facilities around the whole resort were great. Vilamoura is around a 10-15 minute drive, and I would definitely recommend going to see the marina there.

The rooms are fairly basic, nice and roomy, air conditioning was great, TV worked fine, bathroom had a bath and shower, and the room was quiet any time of day. The food was good, both at meal times and also for daytime snacking. A fully stocked bar is situated right next to the pool which plays every football match we could think of on the television (if you ask they to find it for you of course). The reception area was really clean, very well presented, looked much more 4-5* than 3*. Overall we were very impressed, staff were great, rooms were good and the resort is excellent - would definitely consider going back!

Room Tip: Ask not to be overlooking the road, no one likes that on holiday...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Rob0208
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed October 6, 2011

Stayed at this lovely hotel from the 13th- 20th. September. Arrived past midnight and barman/breakfast/dinner worker, Leandro was only too pleased to serve us 2 very welcome cold pints!
Food was more than adequate, never had one bad meal, staff were so eager to please and even asked us personally if there was anything we didn't like they would rectify it. Pool area was very clean, always enough sun beds and no need to get up early to lay towels down! Drinks were on the expensive side but we found a nice 'local' a few minutes walk, turning left outside the hotel, called the Kactus. It sold wine at 1 euro a glass and beer came in 3 different sizes, small started at 1 euro.
We were in room 007 on the ground floor which had been given the most beautiful new bathroom, tiled in the unlikely colours of green & brown but it worked, and the workmanship was fantastic, looked brand new. Not much of a view though, just open land, but a beautiful bouganvillea growing up the wall outside our window. Noise was no problem. TV only had 4 Portuguese channels but we soon put this right...if you get room 007, you'll get a good selection of English channels - we've retuned the tele!. Had a fantastic holiday,this was a cheap get-a-way so we didn't expect much but was well satisfied.

Room Tip: We had room 007, not much of a view but had been renovated to a very good standard.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank TinaRowley
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
kent
Level Contributor
11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed September 22, 2011

Stayed here September my husband and I, (out of season)
Its not actually a bad hotel, clean but BASIC, BASIC, BASIC, but I wont be returning, and I will tell you why.

I read the reviews, and with 4 out of 5 I took the chance. I treat trip advisor like a bible, and have never had a terrible experience, but in all honesty, this hotel needs improvements in order to achieve 3 or more stars, so while I maybe harsh and I appreciate that the other reviews are not completely inaccurate, in fact they are probably quite right, but I still dont think this hotel warrants its 4 stars. In my experience Ive stayed in far better, but having said that Im sure there is a lot worse, as Ive said its really not terrible, just has its downfalls !!

Breakfast - literally NO HOT FOODS OR CROISANTS etc.
Choice is just literally the following, and does not deviate: (dont assume there is more then this, as I did- there is not!)
Cereals, with only full fat milk on offer. (musli, cornflakes, cocopops)
Ham, Cheese, Salami, cold boiled eggs
Melon
Breadrolls
Toast (as you make it)
Jam, butter, possibly other preserve?
(2 juices,coffee tea (although no english breakfast tea, take your own tea bags)


(needless to say, we ate out most mornings - Fantasia, excellent value!!)
DINNER
We saw a few veggies who were disappointed as no choice for them.
Whilst the dinner was hot and full of salad, again lacks choice. Literally you have one meat on offer, Pork etc, and then mash, chips, or pasta. Again like everyone else says there is also soup and salad plentiful. Luckily im not a fussy eater. Then there is a sweet of the day, fruit salad, or icecream which they bring out to you at your request.

Rooms
Basic, we had a compete mis match of a bathroom, white bath, advocado toilet and peach sink. Looked old and in need of refurbishment. Again, no balconies which we missed terribly, furniture BASIC but functional, lack of full length mirror. We overlooked the road, which was noisy. Please listen to the lady about ear plugs, because Yes, the corridors are SO noisy!

BAR
I realise its not as expensive as most bars, but 7 euros for a pimms and lemonade and 2.75 for their own standard beer, i dont think is 'cheap' and in my mind, makes the holiday more expensive. Even some bars in Vilamoura are better value. Vilamoura by the way fantastic - you need to choose careful where you eat or drink though, as can be a rip off. would of been ok if we hadnt spent an absolute fortune on taxis (at 6 euros each way and sometimes twice a day) You can walk to Vilamoura, along the beach, but takes at least an hour, maybe a bit more.

Quarteria,- i wouldnt call the cafe's there 'BARS'- as others have done, there are literally 3 bars and all a 20 min walk away from the hotel. They were dead when we went mid sept, we doubled the numbers in most. Couldnt do much people watching. many, many locals there.

Staff however were constantly on the go, working hard (becuase maximum we saw at any one time was 4 members of staff), so obvioulsy they had to make up for the shortage, barman not only serve your drinks but cook your dinner and multitask as restuarant staff, popping back to the bar.

This is a small hotel, and other communal areas - modern and clean.

Samey 70s music at the pool every day, Pool is not big!! I appreciate they have made an effort with the foliage on the walls, but sorry still feels boxy. The pool was full of flies and noone really used it. You can hear the road noise somewhat. No one particuarly patrolled the pool to pick up rubbish or return sunbeds to their place etc.

I think that if you want a really quiet hotel this is perfect! No one bothers you - saw a few 'lone' travellers. Also if you use this hotel as a base- maybe your a golfer - also perfect! I just wouldnt return as a pool side holiday maker, looking for a bit of a treat, maybe a bit of conversation with other holidaymakers, this hotel is basic, quiet and quite a walk away from anywhere, its not completely my cup of tea.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank richsmrs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Quarteira hotels
0.5 mi away
Quarteira Sol
Quarteira Sol
#23 of 48 in Quarteira
239 reviews
0.9 mi away
Pinhal do Sol Hotel
Pinhal do Sol Hotel
#26 of 48 in Quarteira
801 reviews
0.9 mi away
Dom Jose Beach Hotel
Dom Jose Beach Hotel
#7 of 48 in Quarteira
1,536 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.4 mi away
Hotel Praia Sol
Hotel Praia Sol
#29 of 48 in Quarteira
465 reviews
3.6 mi away
Hotel Parque das Laranjeiras
Hotel Parque das Laranjeiras
#25 of 48 in Quarteira
71 reviews
0.7 mi away
Hotel Atismar
Hotel Atismar
#36 of 48 in Quarteira
932 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Zodiaco? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Zodiaco

Property: Hotel Zodiaco
Address: Estrada Nacional 527 - Fonte Nova Estrada da Fonte Santa, Quarteira 8125-618, Portugal
Location: Portugal > Algarve > Faro District > Quarteira
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #24 of 48 Hotels in Quarteira
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Zodiaco 3*
Number of rooms: 60
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Priceline, HotelQuickly and HRS so you can book your Hotel Zodiaco reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Zodiaco Hotel Quarteira
Hotel Zodiaco Quarteira, Algarve, Portugal

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing