We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Hotel Zodiaco
Nearby Hotels
Dom Pedro Marina(Vilamoura)
$149
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Breakfast included
  • Pool
Vila Gale Marina(Vilamoura)
$156
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
$259
$245
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$317
$299
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
$156
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
$299
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$165
$115
Agoda.com
View Deal
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
Four Seasons Vilamoura(Vilamoura)
$211
$164
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Dom Jose Beach Hotel(Quarteira)
$121
$115
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Breakfast included
  • Beachfront
$417
$381
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
Reviews (257)
Filter reviews
257 results
Traveler rating
72
125
38
13
9
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
72
125
38
13
9
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsyogurtpool areaair conditioningminute walkbooked this hotelfresh rollscontinental breakfastgood sizerooms were cleanedcleaned every daynice poolrooms are basicdecent hoteltown centreboiled eggscold meatsout of season
Filter
Updating list...
117 - 122 of 257 reviews
Reviewed March 7, 2012

Me and my girlfriend came to hotel zodiaco for a week in mid-September. I had read the reviews online and seemed to get a great price considering the reviews were great.

In September it is worth noting that the hotel isn't busy at all, most days we had the pool to ourselves, which was great for us. The hotel is roughly a 5-10 minute walk to a gorgeous deserted beach, with a sun-bed costing €5 for the whole day. The beach is on the main strip where all the restaurants, cafes and shops are, so this is also only a 10 minute walk away. If you decide to rent a car, the parking facilities at the hotel are excellent, we always had a space to park the car, in fact parking facilities around the whole resort were great. Vilamoura is around a 10-15 minute drive, and I would definitely recommend going to see the marina there.

The rooms are fairly basic, nice and roomy, air conditioning was great, TV worked fine, bathroom had a bath and shower, and the room was quiet any time of day. The food was good, both at meal times and also for daytime snacking. A fully stocked bar is situated right next to the pool which plays every football match we could think of on the television (if you ask they to find it for you of course). The reception area was really clean, very well presented, looked much more 4-5* than 3*. Overall we were very impressed, staff were great, rooms were good and the resort is excellent - would definitely consider going back!

Room Tip: Ask not to be overlooking the road, no one likes that on holiday...
  • Stayed: September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Robert W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 6, 2011

Stayed at this lovely hotel from the 13th- 20th. September. Arrived past midnight and barman/breakfast/dinner worker, Leandro was only too pleased to serve us 2 very welcome cold pints!
Food was more than adequate, never had one bad meal, staff were so eager to please and even asked us personally if there was anything we didn't like they would rectify it. Pool area was very clean, always enough sun beds and no need to get up early to lay towels down! Drinks were on the expensive side but we found a nice 'local' a few minutes walk, turning left outside the hotel, called the Kactus. It sold wine at 1 euro a glass and beer came in 3 different sizes, small started at 1 euro.
We were in room 007 on the ground floor which had been given the most beautiful new bathroom, tiled in the unlikely colours of green & brown but it worked, and the workmanship was fantastic, looked brand new. Not much of a view though, just open land, but a beautiful bouganvillea growing up the wall outside our window. Noise was no problem. TV only had 4 Portuguese channels but we soon put this right...if you get room 007, you'll get a good selection of English channels - we've retuned the tele!. Had a fantastic holiday,this was a cheap get-a-way so we didn't expect much but was well satisfied.

Room Tip: We had room 007, not much of a view but had been renovated to a very good standard.
  • Stayed: September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
7  Thank TinaRowley
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 22, 2011

Stayed here September my husband and I, (out of season)
Its not actually a bad hotel, clean but BASIC, BASIC, BASIC, but I wont be returning, and I will tell you why.

I read the reviews, and with 4 out of 5 I took the chance. I treat trip advisor like a bible, and have never had a terrible experience, but in all honesty, this hotel needs improvements in order to achieve 3 or more stars, so while I maybe harsh and I appreciate that the other reviews are not completely inaccurate, in fact they are probably quite right, but I still dont think this hotel warrants its 4 stars. In my experience Ive stayed in far better, but having said that Im sure there is a lot worse, as Ive said its really not terrible, just has its downfalls !!

Breakfast - literally NO HOT FOODS OR CROISANTS etc.
Choice is just literally the following, and does not deviate: (dont assume there is more then this, as I did- there is not!)
Cereals, with only full fat milk on offer. (musli, cornflakes, cocopops)
Ham, Cheese, Salami, cold boiled eggs
Melon
Breadrolls
Toast (as you make it)
Jam, butter, possibly other preserve?
(2 juices,coffee tea (although no english breakfast tea, take your own tea bags)


(needless to say, we ate out most mornings - Fantasia, excellent value!!)
DINNER
We saw a few veggies who were disappointed as no choice for them.
Whilst the dinner was hot and full of salad, again lacks choice. Literally you have one meat on offer, Pork etc, and then mash, chips, or pasta. Again like everyone else says there is also soup and salad plentiful. Luckily im not a fussy eater. Then there is a sweet of the day, fruit salad, or icecream which they bring out to you at your request.

Rooms
Basic, we had a compete mis match of a bathroom, white bath, advocado toilet and peach sink. Looked old and in need of refurbishment. Again, no balconies which we missed terribly, furniture BASIC but functional, lack of full length mirror. We overlooked the road, which was noisy. Please listen to the lady about ear plugs, because Yes, the corridors are SO noisy!

BAR
I realise its not as expensive as most bars, but 7 euros for a pimms and lemonade and 2.75 for their own standard beer, i dont think is 'cheap' and in my mind, makes the holiday more expensive. Even some bars in Vilamoura are better value. Vilamoura by the way fantastic - you need to choose careful where you eat or drink though, as can be a rip off. would of been ok if we hadnt spent an absolute fortune on taxis (at 6 euros each way and sometimes twice a day) You can walk to Vilamoura, along the beach, but takes at least an hour, maybe a bit more.

Quarteria,- i wouldnt call the cafe's there 'BARS'- as others have done, there are literally 3 bars and all a 20 min walk away from the hotel. They were dead when we went mid sept, we doubled the numbers in most. Couldnt do much people watching. many, many locals there.

Staff however were constantly on the go, working hard (becuase maximum we saw at any one time was 4 members of staff), so obvioulsy they had to make up for the shortage, barman not only serve your drinks but cook your dinner and multitask as restuarant staff, popping back to the bar.

This is a small hotel, and other communal areas - modern and clean.

Samey 70s music at the pool every day, Pool is not big!! I appreciate they have made an effort with the foliage on the walls, but sorry still feels boxy. The pool was full of flies and noone really used it. You can hear the road noise somewhat. No one particuarly patrolled the pool to pick up rubbish or return sunbeds to their place etc.

I think that if you want a really quiet hotel this is perfect! No one bothers you - saw a few 'lone' travellers. Also if you use this hotel as a base- maybe your a golfer - also perfect! I just wouldnt return as a pool side holiday maker, looking for a bit of a treat, maybe a bit of conversation with other holidaymakers, this hotel is basic, quiet and quite a walk away from anywhere, its not completely my cup of tea.

  • Stayed: September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
7  Thank richsmrs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 20, 2011

Stayed at this hotel for 8 days with my friend on a cheap and cheerful holiday away from our famlies. The hotel was well worth the money. Rooms were made up and Towels were changed every day. Some rooms had been updated and ours was one of them with a large walk in shower. The staff were great and really friendly and nothing was too much trouble for them. Leon the barmand and sam in the resturant were especially good. The pool was quite big and sparkling clean with plenty of sunbeds. The breakfast was the same every day but as we were only there for 8 days it didnt bother us. We didnt have snacks or evening meals there. The beach is exactly 700m away according to reception but the walk there is not very pleasent as it is dirt track running along the caravan park. The hotel is quite issolated on the outskirts of Quarteira so be careful at night walking back in dark quite intimidating. The walkway in Quateria is lovely with resturants bars ect. Best bar is The beach bar on the rocks at the beach and Fernandez hideaway steakhouse. On the downside There are no balconys at the hotel and the windows have bars and shutters at the window. If you are on a budget then this hotel is well worth the money. Read the review about constuction workers in bar and we never saw any. Some of the oter guests had stayed there for the previous 5 to 8 years so that is an excellent record.

Room Tip: Manuela at the Beach bar on Fonte Santa Beach. Summer salad is excellent and Fernandos Hideaway steakhouse one of the best steaks every eaten and fernado and his family are great. About a 20 min walk fron hotel.
  • Stayed: September 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank beehiveManchester
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 17, 2011

My boyfriend and I have just returned from 6 nights at this hotel. We booked based on the rave reviews on Tripadvisor. For a budget-ish hotel (£60 per night for double) it was clean and the staff were very friendly and helpful, you get free wireless internet and the pool is quite big.

On the downside the rooms were VERY dated with rickety furniture, very uncomfortable hard beds and pillows we barely got any sleep. They have old fashioned blue flowery curtains and bed spread and dark green bathroom suite. There is no balcony (we didn't expect one) but a normal sized window with white bars over it. The decor in the downstairs part of the hotel is relatively modern.

The pool area is fine but again could do with some money being spent on it, some of the metal sunbeds are very rusty underneath which you can see when in the pool. Breakfast was basic but nice.

The hotel is right on the border of Quarteira and Fonte Santa so is quite isolated from other hotels and shops and is quite a bit of a walk into the centre of Quarteira and 45min walk to Villamoura harbour. It is however only 10 mins to the beach which is really nice. It could be a nice hotel if they spent money on updating it, the staff are nice and it is very clean, however for the above reasons plus the fact it is too far out, we probably would want to go for something more modern next time. Quarteira and Villamoura are lovely areas though.

  • Stayed: September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank Deira15
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews