We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A nice and decent beach hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Dom Jose Beach Hotel
Ranked #9 of 48 Hotels in Quarteira
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed May 7, 2013

Overall we had a pleasant stay at the Dom José. The hotel looks modern/trendy but has very cheap interior/decor. It is not so much a romantic or young experience but for people looking for a simple and relaxing stay, it is just fine. The guests are mostly elder people sitting in the lounge area playing cards, having coffee or tea and watching some of the more outlandish yet amusing acts such as children dancing cancan, karaoke night or a DJ singing Portuguese folk songs. The room was very nice and clean but the beds were very hard and the room was not very sound proof. You could hear everything outside and trampling from upstairs, and usually you would wake up in the morning because of noise. The breakfast was nice and easy with a little bit of everything. The pool area was nice, however, you would have to fight with elder people for the beach chairs, which were usually occupied by towels all day. The location was good with access to the beach right outside but with not much variety and quality in restaurants. Howeverm, the food issue seem to be a general Portuguese complex. You can walk in 20 minutes or take a taxi in five minutes to Vilamoura and have more atmosphere, nightlife and food variety. To sum up, with our good Hotels.com deal we had a pleasant stay with good value for money.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Yayadk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (1,676)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

991 - 997 of 1,676 reviews

Reviewed May 7, 2013

We have just returned after the May bank holiday break. The resort was quiet as it was getting prepared for the summer season. This suited us as we wanted a quiet relaxing break.
The weather was great, hot and sunny for the 4 days.
The hotel is in an excellent location.Directly on the promenade facing the sea. Our room we asked for was on the 6th floor with a fabulous sea view, (which was worth every extra penny it cost). The sunsets were amazing!
The rooms and hotel were spotless and the staff were extremely helpful and friendly. Responding in advance to emails re car parking.
The food was plentiful although slightly limited choice but it was what we expected for the price we paid.
We would go back and when chatting to others it appeared they had the same view.

Room Tip: Get a room with a sea view!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank helen s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 5, 2013

The hotel is in a fantastic location.The food is varied but not a big choice . There is plenty to eat at breakfast and at dinner. The staff are very helpful. Big bonus is the Happy Hour. The hotel is spotless the rooms are cleaned every day.The entertainment was varied and the young dancers were superb .
..

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank brewster36
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 4, 2013

Excellent beach location. Very clean, basic food, beds really hard you will come home with bad back. Beer 2euros 50 cents. Gin & Tonic 3euros 20 cents in hotel. Supermarket prices very cheap 6 bottles of beer 3 euros.

Trips to Faro to shops was 16 euros return per person, the local bus costs 8 euros return. Bus station directly across the road from hotel. Quarteira Market 1 hour on foot from hotel. Hotel staff will inform you a 20 minutes walk, they are joking. A trip not to be missed to Lagos, Sagres & cape st vincent. Known as the end of the world. Can book trip through follow me tours 18 euros per person return, tour buses are allways late for pickup. Animal lovers out there if you are going to do this trip please take pet food for the dogs that people abandon.

Irish pub on the same block at hotel - live music at weekends. Along the beach front there is a ice cream parlour not to be missed.

Room Tip: Ask for a sea view room. Seaview rooms all on the back of the hotel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank a_langley0602
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 3, 2013

We chose this hotel as a base for exploring on our first trip to the Algarve. It is perfectly situated right on the front with unrestricted sea views and immediate, level, access onto the pedestrian promenade and the beach. There are numerous snack bars and restaurants within easy walking distance. There is a small outside pool with sunbeds but little other outside space.
Restaurant was bright and airy with panoramic views. We only had breakfast there, it was fine with a reasonable choice, although very little variation day to day.
Staff were attentive and helpful.
Overall a nice hotel, good value for money and we would definitely recommend paying extra for the sea view.
Our only gripes would be that the wood floored corridors really need some carpet to reduce the noise and room doors need 'soft closers' to prevent inconsiderate occupants from slamming them shut.




There is ample, free, on road parking close to the hotel.

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Solibella
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 1, 2013

This was our first time in this hotel. It is ideally situated at the Western end of the promenade and is probably the best located hotel in the town. The staff were friendly, helpful and courteous and our room was spotlessly clean as was the rest of the hotel. Breakfast was great and as there are loads of nearby restaurants, we didn't have any other meals there - try the Fado in Dallas on Saturday evening
Downside, there isn't much to do in the town, (except enjoy the beautiful beach) - but that's not the fault of the hotel.
Pay a little extra for the sea view - definitely worth it.

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank 147BrianM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 1, 2013

It was a modern hotel (renovated in 2011). The rooms are large enough and you'll have everything you need. It is right at the beach and there is also a pool. The breakfast has a large variety of products. Wifi is available but will cost 3 euro for 1 hour or 10 euros for 1 day. It is possible to park the car in the streets of Quarteira, it is free.

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank marko1982
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Quarteira
2 mi away
Hilton Vilamoura As Cascatas Golf Resort & Spa
0.9 mi away
Crowne Plaza Vilamoura - Algarve
1.3 mi away
Tivoli Marina Vilamoura
Tivoli Marina Vilamoura
#7 of 36 in Vilamoura
5,394 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.9 mi away
Aqua Pedra dos Bicos Design Beach Hotel
1.1 mi away
Vila Gale Ampalius
Vila Gale Ampalius
#10 of 36 in Vilamoura
1,774 reviews
3.9 mi away
Conrad Algarve
Conrad Algarve
#1 of 14 in Almancil
1,702 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Dom Jose Beach Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Dom Jose Beach Hotel

Address: Avenida Infante de Sagres 143, Quarteira 8125-157, Portugal
Phone Number:
Location: Portugal > Algarve > Faro District > Quarteira
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 On the Beach Hotel in Quarteira
#8 Family Hotel in Quarteira
#9 Romantic Hotel in Quarteira
Price Range: $28 - $205 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Dom Jose Beach Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 154
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Dom Jose Beach Hotel in Quarteira/Vilamoura totally renewed is one of the most well located in the Algarve, with beachfront location and an absolutely beautiful view over the deep blue Atlantic Ocean. Just 20 minutes from Faro International Airport and 5 minutes from Vilamoura. In front of the Hotel, a long promenade invites you to a healthy walk and sightseeing and access to the famous Vilamoura Marina. Enjoy the good local restaurants with typical food of the region. The Hotel offers 154 modern rooms, all with elegant design, colours and modern furniture combined with oak wood flooring, are also equipped with air conditioning, TV LCD, wireless internet, direct dial telephone, safety box and private bathroom with amenities and hairdryer. Guests staying at the Dom Jose Beach Hotel can enjoy the following facilities: Restaurant, Bar, Meeting Rooms, Gym, Wireless in public areas, a panoramic Minigolf (with 9 holes) available on the 4th floor, outside swimming pool with wooden deck and Hotel Beach Area with beds and shades (extra, only in high season). Only a few minutes away from the Hotel, there are different sports and recreational facilities: championship golf courses within the areas of Vilamoura (3 km), Quinta do Lago (6 km), Vale do Lobo (6 km) and Vila Sol (2 km), Vilamoura's Casino (2 km), Tennis Courts, Fishing, Rental of Boats and Sightseeing Cruises, Diving School, Horse Riding, Marina, Surfing and Wind Surf. Dom Jose Beach Hotel offers quality and variety of services. Enjoy the hospitality and location of a completely renewed Hotel. Discover the Algarve! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Priceline, Hotwire, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and Orbitz so you can book your Dom Jose Beach Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Dom Jose Quarteira
Dom Jose Hotel
Dom Jose Beach Hotel Quarteira, Algarve, Portugal

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing