We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“my holiday”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Dom Jose Beach Hotel
Ranked #9 of 48 Hotels in Quarteira
Certificate of Excellence
Bonnyrigg, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“my holiday”
Reviewed January 23, 2013

just got back from 7 days at this hotel,great location right on the beach.sadly the weather was poor not hotels fault.lovely clean hotel with very friendly staff,however we stayed half board and thought the choice of food was poor,breakfast you had chipolata type sausages one morning and bacon the next but not both on the same morning wich is a bit ridiculas,also the bar service in the evening was poor,one person working behind the bar who was serving tables as well resulting in a long wait to get served.however the room although quite small had every thing you would need including flat led tv with british channels,and and lovely bathroom with a great walk in shower.

Room Tip: ask for seaview room 3rd floor or above
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank livy107
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,564 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    749
    619
    144
    31
    21
See reviews for
296
888
85
34
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (695)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Irvine, ayrshire
Level 5 Contributor
78 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
Reviewed January 20, 2013

Have just returned from a 4 night break with my husband, we had booked a twin sea view room which included breakfast, would defo say to pay more for a sea view room. The bathroom had a large shower and was modern and clean, room was cleaned and tidied everyday. Breakfast was ok couldn't have a large fry up but good choice of fresh fruit and plenty of tea, coffee and toast. We left early on our last day to head to the airport and the hotel made us a breakfast bag with sandwiches, fruit, water and a juice which was kind of them. My husband and I ordered a cheeseburger and portion of chips and a bottle of house red on the first night and for the cost of less than 20 euro's cannot complain. I would not class this as a family hotel, but this is maybe because it is out of season it was more for the elderly I would say. The entertainment is only on twice a week a Tuesday and a Saturday so felt this was lacking. Would return again if it was for a short break without the kids.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank ayrshirelass79
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lisbon, Portugal
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed January 17, 2013

It's way above its 3 star rating, especially the rooms. We stayed in a 5x5 metersroom with a big entrance hall with 3 spacious closets. The room is well decorated, has everything one needs including a flat LED TV. The bathroom is huge. Everything was clean and tidy.
We didn't enjoy dinner that much, we arrived at 7.45 pm and there were a lot of empty trays. We had to ask for the food as no one was replacing the trays. When they finally brought it, the food in the trays was different. There weren't a lot of choices and when we got to the deserts there was only one type left. The breakfast was much better although the cheese tray was empty as well.

The hotel location is the best you can find, right in front of the beach

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank AnaMC_Nunes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Widnes, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed January 13, 2013

Just returned 13/1/13 had a very good break here, rooms were excellent, food was v/good, staff friendly.would recommend this hotel.value for money. surrounding area was clean and tidy. local people friendly and helpful. i can only say this hotel is excellent and i will use it again.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank Smudge398
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Helsinki
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed January 13, 2013

I hve been at this hotel four times. Only thing that is not good is the very very slow internet at room. Next time i first try the internet speed before i take my room. In the lobby it was good, but i like use my laptop in my room.

Room Tip: Internet at room was very, very slow. At the Lobby it was good
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Juhani45
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Coventry, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed January 5, 2013

Just returned from this resort following a 7 night stay over New Years Eve. The weather was fabulous (or maybe we were very lucky for January!). The hotel is situated right on the beach front and in the lovely, albeit very quiet town of Quarteria. It was great just to wander along the promenade and eat in a number of the delicious restaurants in the area. Would particularly recommend the restaurant situated next to the Dirty Duck for dinner down by the fish market - great fresh fish and a very welcoming host! As well as the patisserie in the centre of the town - Dom Dia or something similar for lunch with its delicious toasted sandwiches and cakes! I would certainly return to the area and hotel for another quiet, relaxing stay. Make sure you also visit the wonderful Villamoura with it's impressive selection of yachts, restaurants (Mayflower restaurant, the Old Navy bar) which is a mere 20-25min walk from the hotel - past the fish market and along the sea front.

Room Tip: One with a sea view - fantastic views of the ocean
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank RWS87
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Algarve, Portugal
Level 6 Contributor
23 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed January 3, 2013

Stayed here again for New Years Eve and as last year, the whole experience was fantastic. Quick check in and check out, lovely public areas and clean modern rooms and bathrooms. Breakfast was lovely with a huge selection.

Room Tip: Avoid 1st floor rooms 100 - 120 if an event downstairs as can be a bit noisy!
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank TheCottage
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Quarteira
0.9 mi away
Crowne Plaza Vilamoura - Algarve
2.0 mi away
Hilton Vilamoura As Cascatas Golf Resort & Spa
1.1 mi away
Vila Gale Ampalius
Vila Gale Ampalius
#9 of 36 in Vilamoura
1,650 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.0 mi away
EPIC SANA Algarve Hotel
EPIC SANA Algarve Hotel
#2 of 154 in Albufeira
1,038 reviews
1.3 mi away
Tivoli Marina Vilamoura
Tivoli Marina Vilamoura
#8 of 36 in Vilamoura
5,049 reviews
24.4 mi away
Hotel da Rocha
Hotel da Rocha
#2 of 20 in Praia da Rocha
983 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Dom Jose Beach Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Dom Jose Beach Hotel

Property: Dom Jose Beach Hotel
Address: Avenida Infante de Sagres 143, Quarteira 8125-157, Portugal
Phone Number:
Location: Portugal > Algarve > Faro District > Quarteira
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 On the Beach Hotel in Quarteira
#8 Family Hotel in Quarteira
#9 Romantic Hotel in Quarteira
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Dom Jose Beach Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 154
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Dom Jose Beach Hotel in Quarteira/Vilamoura totally renewed is one of the most well located in the Algarve, with beachfront location and an absolutely beautiful view over the deep blue Atlantic Ocean. Just 20 minutes from Faro International Airport and 5 minutes from Vilamoura. In front of the Hotel, a long promenade invites you to a healthy walk and sightseeing and access to the famous Vilamoura Marina. Enjoy the good local restaurants with typical food of the region. The Hotel offers 154 modern rooms, all with elegant design, colours and modern furniture combined with oak wood flooring, are also equipped with air conditioning, TV LCD, wireless internet, direct dial telephone, safety box and private bathroom with amenities and hairdryer. Guests staying at the Dom Jose Beach Hotel can enjoy the following facilities: Restaurant, Bar, Meeting Rooms, Gym, Wireless in public areas, a panoramic Minigolf (with 9 holes) available on the 4th floor, outside swimming pool with wooden deck and Hotel Beach Area with beds and shades (extra, only in high season). Only a few minutes away from the Hotel, there are different sports and recreational facilities: championship golf courses within the areas of Vilamoura (3 km), Quinta do Lago (6 km), Vale do Lobo (6 km) and Vila Sol (2 km), Vilamoura's Casino (2 km), Tennis Courts, Fishing, Rental of Boats and Sightseeing Cruises, Diving School, Horse Riding, Marina, Surfing and Wind Surf. Dom Jose Beach Hotel offers quality and variety of services. Enjoy the hospitality and location of a completely renewed Hotel. Discover the Algarve! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Priceline, TripOnline SA, HostelWorld, Cheap Tickets, Travelocity, Hotwire, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and HRS so you can book your Dom Jose Beach Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Dom Jose Quarteira
Dom Jose Hotel
Dom Jose Beach Hotel Quarteira, Algarve, Portugal

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing