We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great location” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Dom Jose Beach Hotel

Lowest prices for {0} - {1}
Enter dates for lowest prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
We check up to 200+ sites for the lowest hotel prices
Dom Jose Beach Hotel
Ranked #7 of 49 Hotels in Quarteira
Certificate of Excellence
Liverpool, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Great location”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 31, 2012

The service at this hotel was excellent. I upgraded to a sea view bedroom...was great to see the ocean when looking out over the balcony. You end up having more of the sun this way even though I was out most of the time. It was great hearing the waves crashing at night before going to bed.

I can only comment on the breakfast as I prefer eating out at restaurants whichever country I go to. The food was really good with a wide choice of options.

Room cleaned every day.

The only problems of my stay had nothing to do with the hotel but with the transfer company resort hoppa who after arriving an hour late to transfer us to our hotels then got the times incorrect for my return transfer even though I had a copy of the date and time I had emailed to them and their response. This unfortunately required the hotel trying unsuccessfully to correct this whilst I was out , before it was sorted with a couple of phone calls by myself. Was very relieved to see them arrive on time for my return transfer.

The other problem was with a party of guests who arrived on my last night, 28th December and proceeded to argue, shout and scream until nearly 04h00. On complaining to the reception the following morning when booking out I was told that even though they were threatened with the police being called it did not help. Another resident said that the group were singers who had stayed at the hotel in November and behaved the same way???

Just meant that I was exhausted as my transfer time was early in the morning. Not a great ending to my stay at the hotel.

I feel that the police SHOULD of been called as these few guests not only disturbed my sleep but other paying guests also.

Hotel good...guests not.

Room Tip: As other guests have stated, definately get a sea view. I took this advice from other trip advisors...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank PolicemanBobby
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,462 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    698
    581
    134
    30
    19
See reviews for
274
831
78
33
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (660)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Nottinghamshire
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 26, 2012

We have just returned from the Dom Jose Beach Hotel, Quarteira on 22/12/2012.
This is the first time we have stayed at this hotel but not the first time we have seen it. Back in 1997 we were being transferred to a hotel further along the coast and stopped at the Dom Jose to drop off 2 or 3 groups of people, we felt sorry for them as it looked so run down and the area around it seemed scruffy. Well what a change the refurbishment has created a lovely clean, minimalist hotel (yes the rear entrance is still a little unprepossessing but much better than it was).
We stayed for a week half board, our room on the fifth floor was small but perfectly formed with super view over the promenade and the golden beach, the room had every thing we needed including hair dryer and a decent sized shower with well placed grab handles, and very stylish fittings.
It had been our intention to go out for a few meals while there but as the meals provided were quite reasonable with a descent choice (can recommend the the Sea Bass fillets and the cakes for desert, interestingly they make some of their own bread which is lovely with just plain butter) we got lazy and stayed in.
I hired a bike for three day and cycled along the prom the the nature areas through Vilamora at one end and towards Vale do Lobo at the other, it's great easy riding and within minutes you are in quiet scenic areas and as the Algarve is very pro cycling there is very little need to get involved with traffic on the cycle route. One chap had even brought his his own folding bike, apparently British Airway carry the for free, like skis and golf clubs.
I did make one mistake though and hire a bike from a company that seemed to have a large selection, but what turned up was very second rate and was possibly the worst bike I have ever hired (if you want to know the company contact me).
The staff at the hotel are very friendly and helpful and are constantly cleaning making the whole place including public areas spotless.
The area around the hotel is flat so makes walking even for people with mobility problems easy and pleasant.
Have a look at the market at the Vilamora end of the prom, it's full of local produce including gorgeous local honey at very reasonable prices.
On the whole we had a super holiday and will be going back.

Room Tip: Upgrade to a sea view room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Jim_Janet10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Loch Lomond and The Trossachs National Park, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 20, 2012

We went to the Dom Jose for a weekend break and had a lovely time.
The hotel room was on the first floor overlooking the pool and was both comfortable and modern.
The staff were all friendly and we would go back .

Room Tip: Well worth paying little extra for sea view
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Linmacsco
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cambridge, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
81 reviews
63 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 19, 2012

We had always wanted to stay at this hotel, and we were not disappointed.

Very large room - well decorated - balcony looking out at the sea.
Breakfast was as good as many we have had in the UK - fried eggs, bacon etc..
General area attractively furnished and spacious
TV reception not that good but good enough

Room Tip: We went for a deluxe but I think the ordinary rooms would have been just as good but not so large.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Eric B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Solihull
Level Contributor
23 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 14, 2012

Just returned from a 4 night short stay. The hotel is very modern and has been recently refurbished. A few points that may be helpful. Rooms are quite small. No tea/coffee making facilities. There is a hairdryer in the bathroom.The hotel was not busy and I believe that most people staying were on the 1st floor. This may normally be a smoking floor as there was a constant smell of smoke in the corridor. Under the stairs on the ground floor (by the lifts) there is a collection of books left by previous residents. Sunsets were very spectacular.
Breakfast was adequate without being anything special. We ate out every night but were offered a 15% discount on the evening buffet if we wanted to use it. Lunch menu in the bar is very reasonably priced. Happy hour at the bar between 8pm and 9pm. Overall we had a very enjoyable stay helped by the fact the weather was around 18 - 20 degrees. Not bad for December when the UK was below freezing!

Room Tip: Go for a sea view and ask for a high floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Stanly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Telford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 13, 2012

I have stayed here before, but each time gets better. So well situated, so clean, a first class staff- excellent rooms, it rates highly on my list and i have stayed in some 5 star hotels that do not have what you have----so keep up the good work.!!!!!

Room Tip: Get a room with a sea view-- and sleep well.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank hensh187050
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paisley, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 8, 2012

I have just returned from a 5 day stay at the Dom Jose with my son who was 21.The hotel is fantastic.We had a bed and breakfast deal in a twin room with a sea view.I was surprised to see the rooms and lounge areas are just as they appear on the website.The hotel is modern very clean and the staff helpful.The food was lovely and plentiful.
Our only issue was the lack of free Wi-Fi.If you use it all the time like my son it is worth the 24 hour package.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Ishbel H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Quarteira
0.5 mi away
Hilton Vilamoura As Cascatas Golf Resort & Spa
0.9 mi away
Crowne Plaza Vilamoura - Algarve
1.1 mi away
Vila Gale Ampalius
Vila Gale Ampalius
#7 of 36 in Vilamoura
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,502 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.7 mi away
Four Seasons Vilamoura
Four Seasons Vilamoura
#2 of 36 in Vilamoura
4.5 of 5 bubbles 701 reviews
1.3 mi away
Tivoli Marina Vilamoura
Tivoli Marina Vilamoura
#5 of 36 in Vilamoura
4.5 of 5 bubbles 4,746 reviews
4.0 mi away
EPIC SANA Algarve Hotel
EPIC SANA Algarve Hotel
#1 of 162 in Albufeira
4.5 of 5 bubbles 943 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Dom Jose Beach Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Dom Jose Beach Hotel

Property: Dom Jose Beach Hotel
Address: Avenida Infante de Sagres, 143, Quarteira 8125-157, Portugal
Phone Number:
Location: Portugal > Algarve > Faro District > Quarteira
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 On the Beach Hotel in Quarteira
#8 Family Hotel in Quarteira
#9 Romantic Hotel in Quarteira
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Dom Jose Beach Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 154
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Dom Jose Beach Hotel in Quarteira/Vilamoura totally renewed is one of the most well located in the Algarve, with beachfront location and an absolutely beautiful view over the deep blue Atlantic Ocean. Just 20 minutes from Faro International Airport and 5 minutes from Vilamoura. In front of the Hotel, a long promenade invites you to a healthy walk and sightseeing and access to the famous Vilamoura Marina. Enjoy the good local restaurants with typical food of the region. The Hotel offers 154 modern rooms, all with elegant design, colours and modern furniture combined with oak wood flooring, are also equipped with air conditioning, TV LCD, wireless internet, direct dial telephone, safety box and private bathroom with amenities and hairdryer. Guests staying at the Dom Jose Beach Hotel can enjoy the following facilities: Restaurant, Bar, Meeting Rooms, Gym, Wireless in public areas, a panoramic Minigolf (with 9 holes) available on the 4th floor, outside swimming pool with wooden deck and Hotel Beach Area with beds and shades (extra, only in high season). Only a few minutes away from the Hotel, there are different sports and recreational facilities: championship golf courses within the areas of Vilamoura (3 km), Quinta do Lago (6 km), Vale do Lobo (6 km) and Vila Sol (2 km), Vilamoura's Casino (2 km), Tennis Courts, Fishing, Rental of Boats and Sightseeing Cruises, Diving School, Horse Riding, Marina, Surfing and Wind Surf. Dom Jose Beach Hotel offers quality and variety of services. Enjoy the hospitality and location of a completely renewed Hotel. Discover the Algarve! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia and HostelWorld so you can book your Dom Jose Beach Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Dom Jose Quarteira
Dom Jose Hotel
Dom Jose Beach Hotel Quarteira, Algarve, Portugal

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing