We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great hotel more suitable for couples or middle-aged people”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Dom Jose Beach Hotel
Ranked #9 of 48 Hotels in Quarteira
Certificate of Excellence
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Great hotel more suitable for couples or middle-aged people”
Reviewed November 7, 2012

A really nice hotel, especially on a budget. My room was cleaned daily and the staff were very friendly. The room was very clean and I'm glad I booked a sea view room. I didn't really enjoy the breakfast but what was on offer was basic and most seemed to enjoy it. I would not return but not because the hotel is unsuitable but because its more suitable for couples and middle-aged people. If your young this is not the hotel for you (unless you only want to relax than its perfect). I chose this hotel because it had good reviews but its not really close to any night life (it could also be the time I went, end of October) but there weren't really any young people and there's not much to do other than go to the beach or sit by the pool. This is why its great for middle-aged people or couples but not young people. I got bored but end up finding things to do in the local towns. Overall its a nice hotel and I'd send my parents there but for me I think i'll find another one with better nightlife.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Kate L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,587 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    761
    628
    146
    31
    21
See reviews for
304
899
85
34
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (704)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Alesund, Norway
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed November 6, 2012

I chose this hotel because of the location, a good price and good reviews, and I was not disappointed. The hotel is clean, efficient and the staff are most service minded. Of course, it's right next to the beach, so you can just go straight out. After a long day of driving, it was nice just to slip down to the water and cool down.

The food is good, and the waiters had it all under control, so we ate there 4 nights. Two warm dishes were served, and these were changed every day during our stay. The cakes and salats were more the same, but with some extra additions.

We had a room with view, and that was very nice as well. Only thing was the lack of a minibar in the room. The air condition worked very well, fast and not much noise. However, the Internet connection was poor, and almost impossible to use. Worked better if you stayed close to the door, or in the lobby, so weak signals in some spots. Not that Internet is that important during vacations like this, so it didn't bother me much.

Would absolutely stay there again! :-)

Room Tip: Pay extra to get a room with a view! :-)
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank krihad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Swindon, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed November 6, 2012

Nice Hotel, clean rooms and modern. Right on the Beech front, nice sea view from our room. Hotel is lovely, probably the best part of the area.

Bar drink prices quite expensive but then again all hotels are more expensive for drinks.

Food from the Bar Menu worth eating, better than anywhere else around the area.
Not many bars around and lots of dog poo down the side streets leading to the main street and bars look quite untidy and not well maintained.

Would not visit this part of Portugal again.

Eat in the Hotel as the food there is the cleanest option.

Room Tip: We had a sea view with a balcony, nice and clean and modern.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SAN210466
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cornelly South Wales
Level 4 Contributor
38 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
Reviewed November 6, 2012

We had sun, sand and a sensational view! This is the first time we have stayed at the Dom Jose and we will stay here agan. We had a 7th floor room facing the sea with a panoramic view of all of the seafront. The cleanliness of the Dom. was supreme, even the public toilets, which is always the place on which to base judgement. The food was not spectacular, but well worthy of a 3 star..maybe even bordering on 4 star at times. The staff were all exceptionally friendly and efficient. The guy in the bar looked a misery on first meeting but got more amiable as the week went on. The 24 hour wifi for 10 euro was good value and the 24 hours lasted me the week and, best of all, I could use it in my room. Value at the bar was quite good as hotels normally charge exorbitant prices, but the Dom's prices were not rip off...especially during happy hour. The extra charge for a sea view was well worth it. Next time we may blow a few euros more and opt for one of the suites.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank tina_williams65
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Surrey
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed November 3, 2012 via mobile

The Dom Jose is a great hotel on a budget! Inside is modern, the decor is contemporary and the price of food and drink are great, €8 for a bottle of wine which we would drink out on the veranda watching the sun set! Rooms aren't huge, but big enough, the bathroom was more spacious and even had toiletries included which was a nice surprise considering the price. Location wise, it is right across the road from the beach and in walking distance from the local restaurants and pubs / bars, for anuthing more lively you can get a taxi to Vilamoura marina. The pool is small, but lovely with comfy sunbeds. I was impressed with the overall quality given the price and would definitely return. Room tip: You can pay extra to have a beach view room with a balcony.

  • Stayed September 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sarahjo82
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sligo, Ireland
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed November 2, 2012

The hotel is in a great location just accross the road from the beach. The hotel is well ran very efficient staff, the food is good, happy hour in the bar is a bonus, the housekeeping if excellent. Would definataty stay there again and would recommond it to a friend. Close to Faro Airport as well about 20 mins by carr.

Room Tip: We had a room at the back of the hotel we didn't have a view but it was quiet, it would have bee...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Margaret186635
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hartlepool, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
77 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 74 helpful votes
Reviewed November 1, 2012

Just back from our second stay at the Dom Jose and can thoroughly recommend this hotel. View and location great. Hotel sets and maintains high standards and its best asset, the staff are exceptional. A warm and friendly place to relax. Go for a delux sea view room if available, but definitely a sea view room. Stunning views ad sunsets.

  • Stayed October 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank David R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Quarteira
0.9 mi away
Crowne Plaza Vilamoura - Algarve
2.0 mi away
Hilton Vilamoura As Cascatas Golf Resort & Spa
4.0 mi away
EPIC SANA Algarve Hotel
EPIC SANA Algarve Hotel
#2 of 154 in Albufeira
1,071 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.3 mi away
Tivoli Marina Vilamoura
Tivoli Marina Vilamoura
#7 of 36 in Vilamoura
5,124 reviews
1.1 mi away
Vila Gale Ampalius
Vila Gale Ampalius
#10 of 36 in Vilamoura
1,682 reviews
5.0 mi away
PortoBay Falesia
PortoBay Falesia
#6 of 154 in Albufeira
2,294 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Dom Jose Beach Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Dom Jose Beach Hotel

Property: Dom Jose Beach Hotel
Address: Avenida Infante de Sagres 143, Quarteira 8125-157, Portugal
Phone Number:
Location: Portugal > Algarve > Faro District > Quarteira
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 On the Beach Hotel in Quarteira
#8 Family Hotel in Quarteira
#9 Romantic Hotel in Quarteira
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Dom Jose Beach Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 154
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Dom Jose Beach Hotel in Quarteira/Vilamoura totally renewed is one of the most well located in the Algarve, with beachfront location and an absolutely beautiful view over the deep blue Atlantic Ocean. Just 20 minutes from Faro International Airport and 5 minutes from Vilamoura. In front of the Hotel, a long promenade invites you to a healthy walk and sightseeing and access to the famous Vilamoura Marina. Enjoy the good local restaurants with typical food of the region. The Hotel offers 154 modern rooms, all with elegant design, colours and modern furniture combined with oak wood flooring, are also equipped with air conditioning, TV LCD, wireless internet, direct dial telephone, safety box and private bathroom with amenities and hairdryer. Guests staying at the Dom Jose Beach Hotel can enjoy the following facilities: Restaurant, Bar, Meeting Rooms, Gym, Wireless in public areas, a panoramic Minigolf (with 9 holes) available on the 4th floor, outside swimming pool with wooden deck and Hotel Beach Area with beds and shades (extra, only in high season). Only a few minutes away from the Hotel, there are different sports and recreational facilities: championship golf courses within the areas of Vilamoura (3 km), Quinta do Lago (6 km), Vale do Lobo (6 km) and Vila Sol (2 km), Vilamoura's Casino (2 km), Tennis Courts, Fishing, Rental of Boats and Sightseeing Cruises, Diving School, Horse Riding, Marina, Surfing and Wind Surf. Dom Jose Beach Hotel offers quality and variety of services. Enjoy the hospitality and location of a completely renewed Hotel. Discover the Algarve! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Priceline, Expedia, HostelWorld, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, HotelQuickly and Travelocity so you can book your Dom Jose Beach Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Dom Jose Quarteira
Dom Jose Hotel
Dom Jose Beach Hotel Quarteira, Algarve, Portugal

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing