We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Scenery fabulous”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Dom Jose Beach Hotel
Ranked #9 of 48 Hotels in Quarteira
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed October 22, 2012

This hotel really lived up to the good reports already seen on Trip Advisor. It was wonderfully situated beside the beach. The area was quiet. The views were unbelievable - watching the sunset, the small fishing boats lit up at nights and miles of beach - worth paying extra for a front view room. The hotel was spotlessly clean. Towels changed every day (used or not) new soap, showergels and shampoos etc every day. The balcony was small but room for two to sit and enjoy a drink. TV reception was poor, but we don't go on holiday to watch tv!

Room Tip: Rooms to the front are worth extra for the views
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Joan F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (1,676)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,084 - 1,090 of 1,676 reviews

Reviewed October 19, 2012 via mobile

We just turned up at this hotel and were lucky enough to get a room with a sea view. Lovely, spacious and airy with a great shower. Very well maintained and clean. I noticed that this hotel was very well equipped for anyone in a wheelchair. It's also a three star which I commented on and was advised that to obtain 4 stars they'd have to at least instal mini bars in every room - who needs that and the 4 stars?! Drinks at the bar were reasonable enough and a lovely terrace to boot! Staff, especially on reception were delightful and fluent in several languages too! Would return there for sure!

  • Stayed: October 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Carowanderer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 19, 2012

A 'value for money' 3 star hotel, ideally located to enjoy a relaxing stay and to explore the Algarve.
All staff are friendly and helpful, food is basic but plentiful, and the hotel is spotlessly clean.
Will definitely return.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Bob D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 17, 2012

Just back from this fantastic hotel.We stayed for a week to celebrate my husbands 50th Birthday. We travelled with my husbands parents and we all had a great holiday. We were greeted by the friendly receptionist on arrival and we were on the 6th floor sea facing room,it was a bit small but adequate for what we needed,it was spotless and had a balcony with a fantastic view of the beach and surrounding area. My husbands parents were on the 3rd floor and their room seemed to be slightly bigger, they also had a sea view room, I think this is a must if staying at this hotel. We had breakfast every morning which had a great choice of cooked meats,cheese,yoghurt, cereals,hot food with eggs some mornings fried other mornings scrambled,bacon,frankfurters, grilled tomatoes,different breads,rolls,cakes and tea,coffee and juices. We ate dinner on one night but found the choice wasnt great so we went out to eat every other night.The pool area is also spotless and has comfortable loungers and parasols. The hotel and area are perfect if you are looking for time to relax and unwind like we were, if you are looking for a more lively spot this may not be what you are looking for. There is a great English pub near the hotel,just go out the gate facing the sea and take the first right,its called Dartagnans and it serves a good Sunday roast for 7 euro a head and does other food as well very tasty and very cheap and owned by a very nice English man. We also travelled to Villamoura most nights and had a few great nights in the Old Navy bar, theres an entertainer in there called Declan Ryan who was absolutely brilliant. A taxi only costs 5 euro from the hotel. We also went to the market just outside Quarteira on the Wednesday and it had good bargains and we bought some nice gifts there a taxi only cost us 4 euro to get there.
I would definatley stay here again because of the beautiful hotel and its wonderful friendly staff who always had a smile on their faces and who greeted everyone, and nothing was too much bother for them. I would reccomend a sea view room its worth paying extra as the other ones dont have a balcony and its lovely to see the sun setting and listening to the waves when sitting on the balcony.

Room Tip: Sea view room
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank CorkBensmum
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 15, 2012

Stayed in Dom Jose in September 2012. This hotel was refurbished in 2011 to a very high standard for a 3 star hotel. Staff very helpful and the hotel is spotless. We stayed in Executive Room with sea view. Well worth the extra money. Very large room with a fantastic view of the Atlantic and beach. Close to all amenities. Will definitely return to this hotel.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Gina11186605
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 13, 2012

The Dom José Beach Hotel is exactly what it says on the tin!
Right on a long long long sandy beach with excellent ancillary facilities.
We walked and cycled every day.
Hotel buffet breakfasts and dinners more than adequate although if its haute cuisine we would suggest more stars.
The hotel is very very clean and the sea view rooms very comfortable.
Overall we were well pleased with our choice.

Room Tip: Bring your own beach towels
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank johnohp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 12, 2012

Once the correct room allocated, the hotel is very clean, spacious and very reasonable, The bar area and terrace offered comfortable places to eat and relax. Nice pool area and directly across the prom from the beach.
really nice people all adding up to a great holiday

Room Tip: try and upgrade to superior sea view room very spacious
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank StewartB1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Quarteira
2 mi away
Hilton Vilamoura As Cascatas Golf Resort & Spa
0.9 mi away
Crowne Plaza Vilamoura - Algarve
1.3 mi away
Tivoli Marina Vilamoura
Tivoli Marina Vilamoura
#7 of 36 in Vilamoura
5,394 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.9 mi away
Aqua Pedra dos Bicos Design Beach Hotel
1.1 mi away
Vila Gale Ampalius
Vila Gale Ampalius
#10 of 36 in Vilamoura
1,774 reviews
3.9 mi away
Conrad Algarve
Conrad Algarve
#1 of 14 in Almancil
1,702 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Dom Jose Beach Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Dom Jose Beach Hotel

Address: Avenida Infante de Sagres 143, Quarteira 8125-157, Portugal
Phone Number:
Location: Portugal > Algarve > Faro District > Quarteira
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 On the Beach Hotel in Quarteira
#8 Family Hotel in Quarteira
#9 Romantic Hotel in Quarteira
Price Range: $28 - $205 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Dom Jose Beach Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 154
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Dom Jose Beach Hotel in Quarteira/Vilamoura totally renewed is one of the most well located in the Algarve, with beachfront location and an absolutely beautiful view over the deep blue Atlantic Ocean. Just 20 minutes from Faro International Airport and 5 minutes from Vilamoura. In front of the Hotel, a long promenade invites you to a healthy walk and sightseeing and access to the famous Vilamoura Marina. Enjoy the good local restaurants with typical food of the region. The Hotel offers 154 modern rooms, all with elegant design, colours and modern furniture combined with oak wood flooring, are also equipped with air conditioning, TV LCD, wireless internet, direct dial telephone, safety box and private bathroom with amenities and hairdryer. Guests staying at the Dom Jose Beach Hotel can enjoy the following facilities: Restaurant, Bar, Meeting Rooms, Gym, Wireless in public areas, a panoramic Minigolf (with 9 holes) available on the 4th floor, outside swimming pool with wooden deck and Hotel Beach Area with beds and shades (extra, only in high season). Only a few minutes away from the Hotel, there are different sports and recreational facilities: championship golf courses within the areas of Vilamoura (3 km), Quinta do Lago (6 km), Vale do Lobo (6 km) and Vila Sol (2 km), Vilamoura's Casino (2 km), Tennis Courts, Fishing, Rental of Boats and Sightseeing Cruises, Diving School, Horse Riding, Marina, Surfing and Wind Surf. Dom Jose Beach Hotel offers quality and variety of services. Enjoy the hospitality and location of a completely renewed Hotel. Discover the Algarve! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Travelocity, Orbitz, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Dom Jose Beach Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Dom Jose Quarteira
Dom Jose Hotel
Dom Jose Beach Hotel Quarteira, Algarve, Portugal

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing