We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good 7 day stay”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Pinhal do Sol Hotel
Ranked #27 of 48 Hotels in Quarteira
Reviewed September 6, 2013

We stayed 1 week as a family of 5, aged 5,6,12 and mid 40's. Last week Aug 2013.
Rooms - According to fellow guests some of the rooms have been refurbished to a high standard. It seems that some of these may have paid for the air-con. We had two double rooms one with the sofa bed made up and in need of slight update (small signs of wear and tear such as a cracked socket etc) made up for with free air-con, fridge, kettle and cups, ironing equipment etc. Over all with reference to these two rooms I have paid £80/night for worse in the UK. the room size was fair, bathroom size good, water hot, though slow to draw off the cold in the pipes. Soap and shampoo provided.
Everyone commented that their rooms were kept very clean throughout and the maids came round every day. They tidied, made beds(changed mid week) and if towels were left wet on the floor of the bathroom these were changed automatically.
Staff were polite friendly and helpful. Reception rang round pricing trips for us (thanks Vera), the minibus was very useful as mentioned in other reviews allowing access to the busy but stunning beaches of Quarteira and Villamoura. They even made a special stop to get us closer to the clinic to check our son's ear infection.
Pools - one at the bottom end we never used as it was away from the snack bar and we never felt too crowded. One (deep) by the bar with beds parasols, shaded area and shallow pool. Bar snacks of a decent quality beer ok wine ok. Drinks not cheap and all inclusive guests seemed to get cheaper brands on the whole which is typical of resort we have seen. Staff very friendly but DO expect service to be at Mediterranean pace here and in town. In 35+oC they never rush. Its a cultural thing not rudeness or neglect.
Food - Remember they try to cater for every nationality in large numbers and not a la carte. We were at the door close to start so we ate fresh and with full choice. We were half board. Fair choice of 4 cereals, best is the availability of fresh fruit. Ample choice of bread, brioche, jams. Occasionally bacon, sausage or mushrooms. Always good scrambled eggs and tomatoes, ham and Cheese.
Evening meals usually, choice of pasta, rice or fish, salads followed by jelly cake etc. Least impressive were the cake/gateaux. Most people made the mistake of sampling every dish then complaining that it was rice and pasta and stew again next day. My advice get a taste to find which is best then get something different next time! Simple really.
Very good all round.

Room Tip: Ask about refurbished rooms and air-con.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank mark r
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (838)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

357 - 363 of 838 reviews

Reviewed September 3, 2013

I and my family, stayed 5 days in the hotel and we liked. The staff are very helpful, the swimmig pool are very good, the restaurante and the bedrooms. One cool thing, is the mini-bus.Quality and price. In general is very good.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank akhenaton1979
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 1, 2013

I and my family stayed there for 7days. Fantastic place to stay, staff very helpful and polite especially the shuttle driver, spacious rooms and clean, good service. I highly recommend this place.

The location of Hotel from the centre was not far and hotel provides free shuttle service or - you can be in the city centre in a taxi in between five and ten minutes. We can wait to visit again

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank MDAPGH
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 15, 2013

Two friends and I stayed here in April for one week. First of all the food.....Breakfast was not worth getting up for.......Lunch was disappointing. Ok if you like burgers and frozen fish portions. The pate and soup were very good, though. Dinner was a bit more adventurous, but we think the chef must have the weekend off because the food then was obviously mostly cooked from frozen in a steamer - overcooked and bland. We are not fussy eaters, by the way. The boiled potatoes were yummy....get the picture? If they ran out of anything, which was quite often, it wasn't replaced. We walked to a restaurant serving bbq'd chicken across from LIDL. Highly recommended!!!! The staff paid more attention to the European guests than the British. Our room was quite spacious and cleaned every day. They are a bit dated, but you get what you pay for. The Hotel is a long way from anywhere, but the mini-bus service was very good and the driver very cheery along with the reception staff. They were always very helpful, unlike the bar staff who were mostly very surly and were always being watched by the manager. We would defifinitely NOT recommend this place to anyone.

Room Tip: Ask for a room nearer reception as it is a long walk to most of the rooms.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank linda w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 14, 2013

I spent the last week in April 2013 here. I was in the annex, which was about a 5min walk from reception & dining hall, but it was so pieceful. It had it's own pool that was cleaned every day. The rooms were cleaned every day too. The room i had was lovely, over looking the pool. There is a mini bus that takes you into quarteira and villamora 4 times a day, the only thing is, if you wanted night life, you had to get a taxi back, which was a reasonable 7euro's, (as the last mini bus pick-up back was at 5.45pm). The staff were always friendly & the mini bus driver was lovely. The meals were nice but i thought 1.25euro was a bit expensive for lime and soda. (i dont drink alcohol and beer was the same price). There is wifi in reception area and in dining area. The bar area was tidy and the main pool was nice and clean, although i didn't spend a lot of time there. The walk between quarteira and villamora was a lovely stroll along the beach. The friut market on thursday was great, the grapes were big and so fresh.
Really enjoyed that holiday and would recomend it if you like piece and quiet. I would deffinatly go back.

Room Tip: Like i said, if you want quiet and dont mind a walk before and after meals, ask for the annex.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank sharon f
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 13, 2013

Me and my family of 5 stayed here for a week from August 1st-7th and it was the most relaxing and pleasant stay ever, we stayed in two Superior rooms which where lovely, HUGE and spacious with a gorgeous view.

The staff were friendly and welcoming, they work their butts off!! The hotel is so beautiful and huge with a main pool and a smaller pool by the villas which is much quieter. Also there is a small tennis court which i wasn't expecting.

The breakfast was ok.. they tend to repeat the same food but the food was very yummy, i would recommend that you go out for dinner as dinner is very basic, the food is at its very best at lunch time; huge pizza's, burgers and a variety of different foods. The hotel is a bit far from the main town Quateira, however the hotel has a bus service so it can drop you to town and pick you up which was very handy and helpful.

The room i stayed in was big with two double beds, with a small fridge and the basic necessitates, the bathroom was very clean, in fact the room was cleaned everyday.

There is also a near by Lidl which is about a 15min walk, there is soo much to see when walking to Lidl; big houses, local people ect.

If you are a 'typical brit' and all you want to do is get drunk and tan all day everyday then this hotel is not for you. Also there is a near by water park which all ages will enjoy its a 5min drive from the hotel.

My overall experience on this hotel was amazing i miss it so much, wish i could go back, the family enjoyed it and so did i. Portugal is outstanding, will be coming back next year.

The only thing i wish the hotel could add is maybe a bigger bus so they don't have to do so many trips back and fourth, wifi in all the rooms not just reception and a wider range of food at dinner time.

P.S If you are worried about them not understanding English don't worry they understand and speak english very well. Also all the bad reviews in my personal opinion where done by people who hadn't done their research on the hotel and where expecting a 5* hotel and chavy benidorm entertainment every night which is ridiculous this is a peaceful and well respected hotel and should be upgraded to a 4* hotel, i have never seen such hard working staff ever.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Layla w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 9, 2013

I've been here for five nights with my girlfriend and even though we did not have any high expectations we were quiet disappointed. There are no major drawbacks with this place but rather a sum of small issues:

- Right in the beginning we were instructed (not asked) to switch rooms after our first night even though we made our booking about two months in advance. When we arrived at the reception to get the keys for the new room t was not even ready and we had to store our belongings in the storage room. So in fact we did not even have a room for more than half a day.
- The bathroom in both rooms smelled bad
- the mattresses were really worn out
- Breakfast was OK but only cheap artificial juices and yogurts that tasted not even remotely like the fruits they were supposed to be made of. How hard can it be to serve fresh juices at a place that is literally surrounded by orange and lemon trees?
- We had dinner once, quality was not good and service was poor. We recommend the restaurant Os Agostinhos which is in walking distance and in the same price range. Fantastic beef dishes here!
- Plates and glasses were always quiet dirty
- The staff at the bar was great and does a really good job. Don't order any cocktails though as they mainly consist of disgusting pre-mixes.
- Wi-if was available around the reception and the restaurant area but sometimes shaky/unavailable.

On the upside..
- free shuttle buses to the city/beach
- free parking and plenty available parking spots

Bottomline is that I would not come back to this place. There are other 3 star hotels or B&Bs in the area were you get a way more for your money.

Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
2  Thank feynman82
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Quarteira hotels
1.7 mi away
Dom Jose Beach Hotel
Dom Jose Beach Hotel
#9 of 48 in Quarteira
1,677 reviews
1.1 mi away
Hotel Zodiaco
Hotel Zodiaco
#24 of 48 in Quarteira
248 reviews
0.6 mi away
Aquashow Park Hotel
Aquashow Park Hotel
#10 of 48 in Quarteira
1,150 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.7 mi away
Parque Mourabel Apartments
Parque Mourabel Apartments
#18 of 36 in Vilamoura
781 reviews
1.6 mi away
QuarteiraSol
QuarteiraSol
#26 of 48 in Quarteira
278 reviews
1.9 mi away
Hotel Praia Sol
Hotel Praia Sol
#30 of 48 in Quarteira
491 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Pinhal do Sol Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Pinhal do Sol Hotel

Address: Sitio de Semino, Quarteira 8125-303, Portugal
Location: Portugal > Algarve > Faro District > Quarteira
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Best Value Hotel in Quarteira
#9 On the Beach Hotel in Quarteira
Price Range: $27 - $121 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Pinhal do Sol Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 56
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Otel, HostelWorld, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, getaroom.com, Cancelon, Travelocity, Orbitz and HotelQuickly so you can book your Pinhal do Sol Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sol Hotel Pinhal Do
Hotel Pinhal Sol
Quarteira Sol Hotel
Sol Hotel Quarteira
Pinhal Do Sol Hotel Quarteira, Algarve, Portugal

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing