We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Good review, bad review , confused ?”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Pinhal do Sol Hotel
Ranked #25 of 49 Hotels in Quarteira
southport
Level Contributor
26 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Good review, bad review , confused ?”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 29, 2012

Reviews are based on people's opinion and my opinion of this hotel was tainted.
The hotel is very clean, the superior room we had was spacious and well equipped. We had booked through media travel ( who have not answered our email ) who had charged us for an upgraded twin room but had not booked one with the hotel so we had to pay again for upgrade in room which is not the hotels fault but worth it. The hotel staff are generally friendly with one or two that go out of the way to be, but one or two who don't. We read that the hotel was a little isolated so no surprise that it was.We hired a car which is well worth it to make the most of the area. We booked separately online but ended up paying more than we would have if we had booked with the company the hotel uses. A 3 day hire is about €69. We have no complaints with the service or package we got from he hotel, especially for the price paid. We went " all inclusive" and we found the food was at the more basic level compared with hotels we have used in the past but enough of a selection to satisfy most of the people most of time. The " all inclusive " bar finishes at ten pm, we knew this beforehand and didnt mind too much . Some nights we like a few drinks some nights we don't. The first night we had a few drinks prior to ten and bought a few more after ten, no problem. The next evening what we did not expect was to be monitored by the staff who refused me a drink i requested for my wife as she still had a drink in front of her ( 90% lemonade hence the request ). Embarrassed and shocked I returned to my seat. We were then given a drink as I think she realised we had not been abusing the system. While some were drinking all day we only had time for a couple of drinks before ten and up until that point,we were happy to pay after ten. The staff did try to make amends but this did taint our holiday and instruction to police the consumption must have come from the owners or senior managers and not the staff. We looked forward to ten o'clock so we could buy a drink and relax knowing we were not being watched. Maybe this is the intention?. All round three stars is what's on the door and is probably accurate. "almost all inclusive" is still a good option but be prepared to offer to pay for a drink if you have been seen with a drink still on the table !. Clean,comfy and not bad value but sorry we won't be going back.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank happyguy2009
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

779 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    168
    316
    172
    71
    52
See reviews for
218
333
32
5
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (186)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Lincs
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 29, 2012

Just had a week there and for the money it's very good, food is all very nice and you can have as much as you like, plenty of salad and nice selection of starters too, chips rice and boiled potatoes available with every meal, breakfast scrambled egg, bacon, toast, cereal, coffee tea orange juice the usual stuff just help yourself, bar was good all inclusive finishes at 10pm maybe a tad early for some just buy a couple of drinks after that time if you're bothered. Free Wifi in the bar and reception take along your laptop and keep in touch for free. Free buses are brilliant get one to Vilamouri it has a huge beach be very careful of the huge waves with the kids though, pool is big enough, the whole place is clean it's not the Hilton by a long shot but you get what you pay for. I was very pleased with what I got for my money and would have no problem using them again. all in all good value I paid £1100 for flights transfers all inclusive for a family of four in October and loved it.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank LincsRichard
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mill town
Level Contributor
95 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 22, 2012

Had a smashing break at the Pinhal do Sol as we were lucky enough to be allocated a room in the Villa. Clean room, peaceful surroundings and ample breakfasts- can;t complain for what we paid.
If you expect 5 star then pay 5 star prices- this was ideal for a short break and the courtesy minibus to Vilamoura was really handy as this hotel is a bit off the beaten track (Ian where have you brought us it's the a*se end of nowhere)
Quarteria the town/resort isn't very salubrious so we spent more time in Vilamoura which is very nice but can a bit pricey- shop around the restaurants for the best quality and value.

Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank Tartanteaser
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
West Yorkshire
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 22, 2012

It's true the location is not very good if you're not into walking; but if you are it doesn't take too long to walk down to the nearest beach and from there to Quarteira.
There's a free shuttle bus from the hotel to Quarteira and Villamoura which we used a couple of times. When the bus was full we didn't have to wait long for it to return to pick us up.
The food is very much on the bland side but we always managed to find something to eat at each meal.
We found all the staff to be very friendly and helpful. The restaurant manager always had time for a chat, reception spent a couple of hours sorting out our return travel to the airport when we couldn't contact the company by phone, the restaurant and bar staff were brilliant (special mention must go to Jessica for her sense of humour and Manuel for all his hard work and of course chef for always having time for a smile and a joke).
It's true the electricity failed while we were there, but the show went on as best it could.
If you're not sure about whether to visit this hotel - do give it a go. Who knows you might meet a crowd of fellow holiday-makers who are as much fun as the ones we met.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank PeterandKaren
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 18, 2012

Just returned from this hotel, and actually had a great time, particialy because we were in excellent company, weather glorious, until the last day, rain, and at night the electricity went off, when two of our party were in the shower, no back up generator, so no lift, had a torch with us so made our way down to restaurant where, they were still dishing up dinner, yes dishing up, not by torch, just one nightlight on the counter, and one nightlight on each table, people were trying to retun to there room in pitch black, with there nightlight, not a nice experience especially some people were not to quick on there feet, on asking the next day where was there generated, the two looked at each other to say what is a generator, "it happens a lot" was there reply, so i said you need torches, or even candles, lanterns, available, it is so dangerous as the hotel is so spread out, and they laughed,
Restaurant, a special mention goes out to leandra, Miguel, hard working, day and night always had smile, and always aimed to please, wasted working there, could work, and get paid more in a bigger hotel and be appreciated as both were two diamonds,
Jorge, restaurant manager, watched every move, at what you taking of the self service, always hovering over your shoulder, if he wasn't behind you ,he was in front, Orr leering over the balcony, found it very intimidating,
Reception,,, The two girls were not helpful on ringing for the return bus to airport, 48hours ahead, come back in 24" then we try, but maybe, as the return bus company is new to us I recommend a taxi, 20 get a receipt," and post it back to company when get hom"e. oh sure, ever tried doing that, once you leave the hotel door , it's goodbyeeeeee, really couldn't care less, as it wasn't there problem needs addressing ,

All in all you certainly get what pay for agreed, and the rooms are spotless and cleaned every day, and have a lot goodoints, but. What we. Found on are holiday, it not the hotel, it's the wonder ful company that we met, that what makes a holiday!!!!!!!!

Room Tip: Near the recap, not the annex unless you like a treck!
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank sparkles92
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Quarteira hotels

Fife
Level Contributor
36 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 16, 2012

Given the price we paid I would have to say that we certainly got value for money. The Hotel was clean and generally well presented throughout. We paid a little more for a superior room which gets you a fridge, iron and ironing board, the room itself was comfortable, well decorated and spotlessly clean, the bathroom though adequate was showing signs of age. The room was cleaned and the towels changed daily.

The staff were generally helpful and keen to please with the odd exception.

The Dining Room was rather small but pleasant. The food was basically ok, not to much choice of main meals some nights and it reminded me a bit of the Army 30 years ago where the Chef plates it up for you though everything else you help yourself to. The bar counter was rather small and not really adequate for the number of guests in my view. The pool area was well maintained, clean and had a smaller toddlers pool.

The big issue with this Hotel for us was the location, it is not in Quarteria but some 3 miles or so outside of the town. The surrounding area is not unpleasant but save for a small Taverna about a kilometre down the road and a Lidls supermarket a further kilometre away it is isolated. This is mitigated to an extent by the fairly comprehensive free minibus service the hotel runs though it does not run at night. If you fancy an evening in Quarteria/Villamora you can always take the last minibus at 1730 Hrs and get a taxi back which will cost you 5 Euros from Quarteria and about 8 from Villamoura. Having said that many of the guests were on all inclusive deals and having spoken to some were happy to stay within the Hotel in the evenings, others had hired cars and used the Hotel as a base.

Location apart the Hotel was better than we expected given the price we paid, things could be better but basically good.

Room Tip: The Hotel accommodation sprawls down a hill from the reception with long twisting corridors to the r...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank HMFC74
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nordelph
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 13, 2012

We have just returned from this hotel our second visit this year and we think it is great and just can't believe some of the thing people have said about the place , it is clean the gardens are lovely and well kept the staff are fine especially Lidian and Christiana but no this is not enough for some people all you hear is people moaning about something, for god sake it is about £22 a NIGHT B&B what do you wont . The papers are not right or the music is not up to standard and some are saying the food is not right,you must remember you are in a Portugal and if you don't like it then stay at home or book a 5 star hotel for 3 times the price. Yes it is a bit out of the way but all of the places i have seen this hotel advertiser it tells you this quite clearly. LOOK and READ before you book .Thank you to all at the Pinhal do Sol for yet another lovely two weeks ,we will see you again in the new year and wish you all a Feliz Natal.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Susan H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Quarteira
1.6 mi away
Hotel Atismar
Hotel Atismar
#39 of 49 in Quarteira
3.0 of 5 bubbles 898 reviews
2.7 mi away
Parque Mourabel Apartments
Parque Mourabel Apartments
#17 of 36 in Vilamoura
3.5 of 5 bubbles 686 reviews
1.7 mi away
Dom Jose Beach Hotel
Dom Jose Beach Hotel
#7 of 49 in Quarteira
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,489 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
13.3 mi away
Bayside Salgados
Bayside Salgados
#49 of 163 in Albufeira
3.5 of 5 bubbles 420 reviews
24.6 mi away
Agua Hotels Riverside
17.1 mi away
Terrace Club
Terrace Club
#5 of 6 in Porches
3.5 of 5 bubbles 820 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Pinhal do Sol Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Pinhal do Sol Hotel

Property: Pinhal do Sol Hotel
Address: Sitio de Semino, Quarteira 8125-303, Portugal
Location: Portugal > Algarve > Faro District > Quarteira
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#8 On the Beach Hotel in Quarteira
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Pinhal do Sol Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 56
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotwire, Priceline, Orbitz, HostelWorld, Travelocity, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Pinhal do Sol Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sol Hotel Pinhal Do
Hotel Pinhal Sol
Quarteira Sol Hotel
Sol Hotel Quarteira
Pinhal Do Sol Hotel Quarteira, Algarve, Portugal

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing