We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great value”
Review of Hotel Atismar

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hotel Atismar
Ranked #37 of 48 Hotels in Quarteira
Skibbereen, Ireland
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Great value”
Reviewed May 3, 2014 via mobile

As for a 3* hotel it's a great value really, they work really hard and make every effort to do their best so the guests feel good. Food is ok, but the rooms are very clean, beds comfortable and staff works fantastic. Very well situated close to the beach, recommended!

Stayed April 2014, traveled with friends
Helpful?
8 Thank Agmor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

951 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    110
    305
    287
    140
    109
See reviews for
154
506
48
6
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (300)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Level 4 Contributor
23 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed May 2, 2014 via mobile

We stated here for 3 nights. We had a lovely welcome and had already requested a high floor room after reading previous reviews. Although check in was not until 2pm and we had arrived at 11.30am we were given out AI band and offered to leave our luggage behind reception. Once in our room the view was lovely (9th floor) room was clean and a good size. When we go on holiday we only spend time in our room to sleep and refresh to go out in the evening. Service at the bar can be a little slow but we were on holiday so why rush. If you drink local beer it is in endless supply on AI between 11am and 10pm. Only negative if you like branded soft drinks then these are not included. Breakfast was adequate... We don't normally have time for breakfast at home. Ample toast, cereal and a selection of cooked food. Lunch there was always fresh salad, chips and a selection of cooked although we only ate here once for lunch. Although we were AI we are not ones to stay and eat in the same place everyday. We enjoy going out and about tasting the local dishes. The location of the hotel was great, pool was spotless although a little cold. If you want a few days away with lovely weather for cheaper than stay in the UK (including flights) then you can not beat this hotel.

  • Stayed April 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Kimstu16
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Truro, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed May 1, 2014

Just stayed at the Atismar for 6 nights, the room was large with a good size bedroom area and it is 50 yards from the beach, that is where the good points end. We stayed B&B, thankfully not full board. The breakfasts were awful, they kept running out of food, which was poorly prepared and barely adequate on some days.One of two small lifts was continually breaking down. We booked a second room for our son who was visiting part of the time, his shower didn't operate properly, reported at reception, nothing was done so he had to shower in our room, two floors below.The staff were clearly a pretty unhappy crew and there were to few of them. I don't know who awarded the 3 stars but, this hotel should be stripped of at least two. Shame because with the location is great and the hotel has real potential. All the guests we spoke to shared the same views and would be happy to pay more for better service and facilities.

Room Tip: Try another hotel
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Sally W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Quarteira hotels

1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed April 30, 2014 via mobile

Stayed at the atismar twice,once last year once this year , it is a three star hotel very cheap holiday what do people expect ,we as a family found the staff very friendly ,very helpful ,bar staff were friendly and food not too bad ,you could always find something to eat.some people just like to moan.

Stayed April 2014
Helpful?
5 Thank Christine M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Burnley, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed April 29, 2014 via mobile

The worst hotel I have ever stayed in.

Thank god it was for only one night. But that was to long

The food and service was disgusting.

At breakfast they ran out of coffee cups, glasses and butter. And then brought them out 4 at a time when people had finished

The rooms stank of bleach and towels changed every 3 days. What a joke

And the pool was dirty and covered in leaves and other things

Give this a wide berth if you have any sense !!!!!!!

Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank Kfoxcroft270169
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed April 29, 2014

I traveled alone to Portugal and stayed at this hotel.

I paid £13 per night for 7 nights so it was a bargain. Room was okay, bed was small but very uncomfortable. Bathroom wasn't very clean and the plus sockets where a bit dodgy.

Wanted to sunbathe early when sun was out as had storms for first few days but wasn't allowed out to the terrace till 10am.

Breakfast was awful, i wouldn't feed it to a dog! Glad i didn't pay for AI.

No evening entertainment available.

Drinks where quiet expensive when not on AI.

All in all okay for a cheap week away.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Mel J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Essex England
Level 4 Contributor
30 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed April 24, 2014

When we arrived, drenched from a storm at 11am, we were told we couldn't check in until two pm. We realised later that this was because the cleaners arrive in a van, having cleaned other hotel(s) first. The staff that work in the hotel try their best, but work very long hours, and all seem under pressure, and the season hasn't started yet ! Firstly, the room was neat and clean, with a safe which you pay a 15€ deposit for. Towels are provided, two small, two large, and a small selection of toiletries. Large sign points out that if stains don't come out of the towels, you will be charged. No hair dryer, or tea making facilities, small TV, with one Channel ( News ) in English. We had a balcony, with a view of the large hotel in front, (so no view.) One of the lifts broke on our last day, the only one that went up to the eleventh floor. The food was pretty bad most evenings, odd mixture of Brussels sprouts mixed with mushrooms, dry fish pie and runny mash, or tough - maybe beef as a choice for the main. Some nights it was slightly better, but it was a bit like school dinners. Get your dessert first, which was the same every night, they run out fast. The salad was fresh, but you had to wait a while for everything to be replenished. Evening entertainment - zero. You can walk along the beach area for fifteen mins, and you reach a small town, where you can find reasonable food. The bar was limited, no Rosé wine, and if you order coffee the barman disappears for ages to make it, leaving a big queue. If you stay here, book up trips and things to do, otherwise it's literally sit in the bar area and chat amongst yourselves. Sadly disappointing experience, but the trips out made up for that !!

Room Tip: Don't go on the eleventh floor as only one lift goes there, and they are tiny !!! Ask for a bal...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank AnnieMeadows
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Quarteira
0.2 mi away
Dom Jose Beach Hotel
Dom Jose Beach Hotel
#9 of 48 in Quarteira
1,585 reviews
1.6 mi away
Pinhal do Sol Hotel
Pinhal do Sol Hotel
#27 of 48 in Quarteira
812 reviews
0.2 mi away
Quarteira Sol
Quarteira Sol
#22 of 48 in Quarteira
250 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.9 mi away
Monica Isabel Beach Club
Monica Isabel Beach Club
#125 of 154 in Albufeira
2,853 reviews
7.6 mi away
Auramar Beach Resort
Auramar Beach Resort
#69 of 154 in Albufeira
2,904 reviews
0.7 mi away
Hotel Zodiaco
Hotel Zodiaco
#26 of 48 in Quarteira
229 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Atismar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Atismar

Property: Hotel Atismar
Address: Hotel Atis Avenida Doutor Francisco Sa Carneiro, Quarteira 8125-146, Portugal
Location: Portugal > Algarve > Faro District > Quarteira
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #37 of 48 Hotels in Quarteira
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Atismar 3*
Number of rooms: 101
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Priceline, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets, Travelocity, Hotwire and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Atismar reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Atismar Hotel Quarteira
Hotel Atismar Quarteira, Algarve, Portugal

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing