We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good & Bad !”
Review of Hotel Atismar

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hotel Atismar
Ranked #37 of 48 Hotels in Quarteira
wales
Level 5 Contributor
54 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 66 helpful votes
“Good & Bad !”
Reviewed June 20, 2013

Having just returned from the Atisimar Hotel, we were under no illusions this was no more and no less what we expected from the reviews. The staff work long hours and put up with some very rude and miserable visitors yet still gave a professional and friendly service. The comments made about the staff are unfair, they do an excellent job .
The rooms were very spacious and cleaned each day, beds quite comfy but think the pillows were stuffed with golf balls ! bathrooms need updating. We were on the 7th floor and found it extremely noisy at night from traffic and thoughtless holiday makers. As for the lifts, well,it was quicker to use the stairs . The two small lifts are inadequate for the size of the hotel , and claustrophobic.
Despite the site showing s been disabled friendly, this is not the case. No toilets available on the ground floor, no ramp down to the pool either. The decking/seating area was disgusting, cigarette ends everywhere , carrier bags and food were left for two days. Many of the visitors commented on female cat whose three week old kittens were taken away, causing her to be very distressed. The advice l would give is not to stay fully inclusive , the meals are awful, hot dogs for breakfast ended up in mayonnaise and carrots for lunch ! We ate out on a few occasions due to poor meal. There are some really nice places to have lunch and dinner a short walk away on the sea front.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Chrissie S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

953 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    110
    306
    288
    140
    109
See reviews for
155
506
49
6
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (302)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Belfast, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
19 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 73 helpful votes
Reviewed June 18, 2013

Booked a week all inclusive for the start of June. Private Transfer took about half an Hour booked through besttransfers4u (quite cheap). Got checked in quick enough and given a photocopy of the all-inclusive hotel facilities. When we later got to the room, we found another sheet with different times of meals on it dating back to when the hotel was called Hotel Atis. I'm sure it wouldn’t cost much to have these updated. In general - we were given very limited information about the hotel and surrounding area. We found Quarteria very Residential and therefore quite quiet, with little entertainment on offer.
We were quite pleased with the room (room 102). It was small but clean. We later found out that some people had 2 balconies whereas we only had one. Other rooms also had a large window as well as their balcony which our room did not. The negative points would be the grime underneath the sinks and the door frame has been damaged by water from the shower. On the plus side - the shower was great keeping a constant temperature which other hotels struggle to supply. Again, the rooms were very clean and there was a maid service everyday who do a great job.
Not very impressed with the food and drink. There was limited drink options, the beer was not very nice and the soft drinks were the cheapest of cheap (cola, lemonade, orange). Meal times are not the greatest and quite short and the only snack outside of mealtimes is a toasted sandwich (cheese and ham).
The breakfast was very basic some days - Bacon only once the 7 days we were there, no sausages (except frankfurters) at all - obviously catering for more a German market even though the majority of the people staying there were British/Irish. There is cereal and Apples/Oranges, cheese and ham, rolls and bread slices, beans a few times and eggs (different variations). You will always find something to eat but the quality just is not the greatest. This is also the only time of day you can get Pineapple juice (which is gorgeous) from the machine because after breakfast, they turn off the juice machine and the coffee machine. You can still get tea/coffee from the bar but the machine stuff was nicer.
Lunch and Dinner were pretty much the same. There was enough to get by but do not expect restaurant standards. Meat and Fish served most nights.
All Inclusive only starts at 11am (1 hour after breakfast finishes) and finished at 10pm. Pool opens from 10am till 7pm.
The staff are very hard working in general. The barmen do work very hard and the guy with the glasses does smile on occasion so he must be trying at least (with reference to earlier reviews). The waitress with the long hair is very nice and good at her job. Reception could improve by providing local area information to guests on arrival. But overall, they tried their best to help with queries.
The beach is a really short walk from the hotel - two streets. If you walk straight down to the promenade, turn right, there is a tourist excursion office. This is run by a family who are half English/Portuguese. They provide plenty of information and local knowledge. They also give you discount on a lot of the tours/day's out etc. There are plenty of eateries and a few bars but don't be expecting much of a club scene in Quartiera. The beach is massive and the promenade is a lovely walk. There is a fresh fish market at the end of the promenade and also fresh fruit. You can walk to Vilamora and it will take around half an hour at a leisurely pace. The harbour is something to behold. There is a short cut just past the Crowne Hotel in-between the Hotel and the casino. This will only shave about 5 minutes of your walk but it’s nice also.
We went on the Lagos and Sagres trip and have to say, it was a disaster. The bus broke down and what should have been a 5 hour trip turned into an 8 hour trip. This was with Paradise Tours so try and avoid them if you can. There was practically no information given on anything and we also stopped in the middle of nowhere to wait about 15 minutes on the tour guide to turn up, and she only spoke about 10 lines throughout the trip. The trip itself wasn't bad. We also visited the sand sculptures called FIESA, quite enjoyable to walk around, a must see! There is also a mini-golf park in Vilamoura which give us something to do but this was very expensive.
All in all – We did have a wonderful time in Quarteria, and the hotel location is superbly close to the beach, but if we were going back, I think we would choose a different hotel.

Room Tip: High floor for beach views, low floor for less hassle with lifts.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank belfastlady06
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lisbon, Portugal
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed June 18, 2013

The beach is about a 2 minute walk from the hotel. Thas't just amazing and the biggest advantage of the hotel. For a 3 star I was positivelly surprised. It's clean, has spacious rooms with a balcony, staff is nice and friendly. Nice breakfast buffet.

Room Tip: Choose a high floor room with beach view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank NevesC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level 5 Contributor
52 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed June 15, 2013

This is not the usual type of hotel I'd stay in as you would see from my previous reviews, as this trip was for a family group holiday.. However, the saying " you get what you pay for" springs to mind. For the price of the hotel I thought we got good value for money. Positives- the rooms were spacious, clean and serviced daily. I requested a higher floor as recommended by another reviewer and glad I did,the sea view was lovely. The pool was cleaned daily and it was 2minutes walk to the lovely beach. Negatives-beds are hard and probably need replacing. food was varied but a little bland and sometimes be served up again for lunch the next day. The all inclusive was limited and the bar closed at 10pm but for what they charged for the all inclusive one can't complain. Staff were friendly and helpful even though run off their feet through long working days. We supplemented the ai by eating out in most evenings. No ,there is no entertainment but the hotel doesn't advertise any, so why critics he hotel through lack of research? Overall I'm glad we stayed at the hotel.

Room Tip: High floor, 9th or 10th with balcony and sea facing. Family rooms have two balconies.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Kingmonkey1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
rode heath
Level 5 Contributor
56 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed June 15, 2013

We booked into the atismar for a night before going onto our usual hotel in Alvor as the flights were cheaper.We stayed with my daughter and her boyfriend.We chose this hotel as it was ONLY 20 euro for a room a night which we thought "what have we booked into" but the reviews were not bad so we thought we would give it a go! It was not too difficult to find and we did not end up in ,as usual,falling out over trying to locate these places! The receptionist was helpful and pleasant and soon into our rooms.The rooms were clean and the bedding also ,the room was a bit dated but what do you expect for 20 euro.As we were going up in the lift we were joined by a wee Scottish lady who said "do not eat here as it is a DISASTER"! Forewarned ,forearmed and we do not usually eat in hotels anyway!The promenade was being worked on and some work had been done to tidy it up but not a lot going on! By the way do not have a Guinness in the Irish bar as they will sting you 6 euro,s! We found a little bar /cafe at the end of the promenade which did a fantastic toastie the size of a large loaf and we did not have to eat anything after it .Basically ,if you are passing through and want a cheap room ...it,s worth that much.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank welshrode
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Belfast, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed June 7, 2013

I stayed in this hotel for 10 days with my girlfriend and two friends and was very dissatisfied.

The area was very quiet and the hotel had no entertainment at all, meaning that you had to go on a 10 minute taxi journey to arrive at bars or restaurants you could enjoy a nights craic at. The bar at the hotel closed very early and the all inclusive option was terrible- as the drinks were flat and finished at 10pm (after that drinks could be bought).

The staff were quite unfriendly especially the barman, who always seemed like it was a huge hassle to take a small drink order.

The lift was a complete death trap- it only fitted 3 people comfortably and stopped regularly (once with 4 people crammed in just prior to a night out in 25 degree heat-not fun!). The lift was a neccesity, as our room was situated on the 11th floor.

I rarely ate at the hotel (rendering the all inclusive option pointless) as the food was bland, repetitive and poor quality. I also did not enjoy that the breakfast ended so promptly at 10 (Most of the food starts to be taken away at 9.55- not cool if you want a sleep in).

The one saving grace the hotel had were the cleaners- who seem to work very hard and produce fantastic results. Other positive points about the Atismar is the rooms are reasonably sized, the view is lovely and it is right beside the beach.

I feel that this hotel is very suited to older people who enjoy holidays away from lively areas and who do not want to sit in the hotel and have a few drinks, or who enjoy a good sleep in on holiday.

The area is not the best, and i would recommend staying in villa moura, rather than Quarteira if you want a holiday that is a bit more lively.

The biggest thing this hotel could do to improve is to hire some decent entertainment for the summer months, introduce music at the poolside and maybe some activities at night. Also the all inclusive could be better value, in order to attract more guests.

Room Tip: For a nice view, 11th floor, for internet access 1st, 2nd or 3rd. Also try to get a lower floor to a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Ashs-89
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Quarteira hotels

Belfast, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
35 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
Reviewed June 6, 2013

Quarteira is very much suited towards older couples who want a quiet break near the beach - very subdued area with zero entertainment for hotel guests - not even your typical holiday background music. Far too quiet for young energetic couples who are out for a good time. Have yet to see the barman with glasses smile, very poor customer service which needs addressed as good customer service is vital in such a role, everything seemed to be such a huge bother. All-Inclusive ended at 10pm which is pretty early, we ate out pretty often which meant that the all-inclusive wasn't really worth going for as the food was bland and unappetising. I must say the cleaners work very hard and I was always pleased to return to my room to find it clean, tidy and with fresh towels daily. Beach view from room is outstandingly beautiful. I would not return to this hotel as it felt more like a nursing home than a hotel. The fact this hotel was clean was probably the only saving grace. Lifts very unreliable. If you want a clean room with average food in a quiet area this is the place for you.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Tweetheart89
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Quarteira
0.2 mi away
Dom Jose Beach Hotel
Dom Jose Beach Hotel
#8 of 48 in Quarteira
1,587 reviews
1.6 mi away
Pinhal do Sol Hotel
Pinhal do Sol Hotel
#27 of 48 in Quarteira
812 reviews
0.2 mi away
Quarteira Sol
Quarteira Sol
#22 of 48 in Quarteira
250 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.9 mi away
Monica Isabel Beach Club
Monica Isabel Beach Club
#125 of 154 in Albufeira
2,856 reviews
7.6 mi away
Auramar Beach Resort
Auramar Beach Resort
#68 of 154 in Albufeira
2,906 reviews
0.7 mi away
Hotel Zodiaco
Hotel Zodiaco
#26 of 48 in Quarteira
230 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Atismar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Atismar

Property: Hotel Atismar
Address: Hotel Atis Avenida Doutor Francisco Sa Carneiro, Quarteira 8125-146, Portugal
Location: Portugal > Algarve > Faro District > Quarteira
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #37 of 48 Hotels in Quarteira
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Atismar 3*
Number of rooms: 101
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Priceline, Cancelon, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Atismar reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Atismar Hotel Quarteira
Hotel Atismar Quarteira, Algarve, Portugal

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing