We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Family Holiday Hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Aquashow Park Hotel
Ranked #10 of 48 Hotels in Quarteira
Certificate of Excellence
Stafford, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Great Family Holiday Hotel”
Reviewed June 30, 2013

Context: Stayed for a week, returning 29/06/13. We are a 2 parent family of 2 children - Boy 9 and Girl 7.
Hotel: Modern and spacious, the hotel is spotlessly clean and has most of the things you would expect of a 4 star hotel.
Gym - small overlooking the pool containing 2 running machines, 2 bikes, 2 cross trainers, 1 weights machine - says over 16's only but children were frequently in there. Fine for the casual gym enthusiast - lacking if you are a gym nut.
Pool 1 - Large outdoor pool (unheated), largely around 1m to 1m 40 in depth, surrounded by tables, sun loungers and grass - It was plenty warn enough whilst we were there for us and kids to be happy in the pool for an hour+ at a time.(30 degrees outside temperature most days)
Pool 2 - next to pool one - shallow baby / toddler pool
Pool 3 - indoor heated pool (through open glass doors from pool 1) including waterfall, Jacuzzi, showers - VERY warm pool bordering on hot.
Bar 1 - Outside and opened at c 10am till 7pm (or until demand dried up). Serves food and drink and ice cream plus pool table outside
Play area - smallish play area but good to amuse kids now and again
Games room -(small) with pool table, air Hockey, pinball, whacksey taxi,
Internet Room - 2 free to use computers connected to web, useable by 16yrs plus
Small shop selling suncream (which is expensive everywhere so take plenty), postcards, vending machine.
Bar 2 - indoors selling same as bar 1
Restaurant - for breakfast, all meals,
We arrived at midday and whilst our rooms weren't ready, they offered to keep our luggage, gave us a room to get changed in (for the pool) and we were given our wristbands for free entry to the adjoining waterpark so all facilities available within 10 minutes of arriving - great service, efficient and they did the same on the last day as our flights were evening ones. When we did get our family room, it consisted of 2 large modern rooms essentially with a partition door between the 2. Each room had a balcony, fridge (which you could store water beer etc), table in and out, 2 single beds (pushed together) TV (only foreign channels except sky news), shower room, Air con, hair-dryer and a safe. Note that internet is available but only via a cable so take your laptop as I pods / pads can't connect! Tip here would be to ask for a pool view room as our waterpark view room is also overlooking a busy road so noisy when outside. That said, when it came to sleep, with the blackout blinds and double glazed patio, the sound of outside was only feint. Rooms cleaned every day , new towels, toiletries as you expect.
We stayed bed and breakfast and glad we did.
Breakfast - very good served 0730 - 1030 and had everything you would expect - English (bacon, eggs etc), juice, coffee, hot choc, melon, nuts, cereal, croissants (4 types), ham, cheese, toast, rolls. The coffee was a bit disappointing (but I am a coffee snob!) and the full English should have been hotter as think there was an issue with the hotplates when we were there but other than that it was excellent - loads of choice, fresh, well presented and staff helpful and cleared stuff away very promptly.
The evening buffet is 60 euros for a family of 4 (20 per adult, 10 per child) for all you can eat 3 courses - we had this once and it was ok with a reasonable choice but again the hotplate issue meant some of the food was not as hot as it should have been. I would definitely recommend b and b because when we searched around, half board was about £400 more per week for a family of 4 than b and b and you can get the half board by paying each day (60 euro per day) for 420 euros so you don't gain anything by booking half board. If you go b and b you have flexibility to order from the bar menu which we did find very good. Prices for a 12 inch chicken and pineapple pizza (hot and very good and in my opiniin better than the evening food) was 10 Euro, Beefburger and chips was 7 euro, salad 7 euro (lots of mayonnaise!). You can also mix and match so if some of your party want the buffet they can have that at the same time as others can order from the bar menu.
Drinks: Despite what some people have written on here I thought the prices were ok. I'll list a few then you can decide what is reasonable. Draught Beer 400ml was 3.5Euro. Bottles of imported beer like corona were 4 euro, local bottle beer (33cl) 3.00 euro. They had a promo on whilst we were there for a local 5.2% alc. lager by 33cl bottle for 1.50 euro. It tasted good. Wine was c 10euro, Large bottle of water (150cl) was 3,50 euros. Mojitos and most cocktails were c 6 euro (some cheaper)
Ice Creams - the usual makes of ice cream plus carte d'or by cone or tub
Wi-Fi - available in reception for free
Kids club: We were there in term time and never having used a kids club before wasn't expecting to here either but our kids spotted a game of hot potato (water bombs!) by the pool and became inquisitive. Richard who runs the club was very friendly and welcoming and soon the kids were tearing around throwing water everywhere and having a great time playing with many children (mainly Spanish, French and portugese) who then became friends to play with whenever we were back at the pool. The kids club wasn't one of those clubs I would expect to drop the kids off at 9am and pick them back up at 5pm (don't know if you could do that but I wouldn't want to do that anyway) but our kids dipped in and out for 2-3 hours each evening (4-6 when we were there) having masses of fun playing simple games (water fights, musical chairs, quizzes, football, tig, bingo, colouring etc). Richard was really good and great with kids, He also holds a fun photo session at the end of the week where the kids can use props and have their photos taken by the pool. They can be bought for just 2 euros a photo and we bought 5 that were duly e-mailed to us. (Again a bit of fun but my 7 yr. old loved pretending to be a model!)
Location - there is no getting away from the fact that it is not the centre of things - the waterpark is 200m away so that was great but you need a car or taxi if you want to explore. We caught taxis - very efficient (never waited longer than 10 minutes) and prices ranged from 7 to 11 euros each way into Villamoura (great beaches, beautiful harbour, nice restaurants) or Quateria (gret beach, less nice of a town, didn't eat at the restaurants). So taxi's were a bit pricey but even at a return trip every day, then cheaper than a car. There is a restaurant about 300m away which looked nice but we didn't end up eating there and then about 1.1km there is another complex with pub on site you could go to. However the road down there is busy and the pavement is sometimes narrow - it was ok to walk down but not relaxing even with older children and you do feel a little exposed. I would not want to walk into town for example (3km before getting to better pavements). there is a courtesy bus (which we took) but only once a day and it leaves at 09:00 returning at 16:30.
Waterpark - free entry was fabulous - I would rate the park as 5 star too for facilities, cleanliness etc etc but won't go into that here as I am reviewing the hotel. (I will write a review of the waterpark too)
Tips:
Pool view room, you can buy stuff in the supermarkets and store in your fridges to keep cost down and for a change. Book bed and breakfast, order the bar menu, fill up on the buffet breakfasts

Room Tip: Pool view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
11 Thank Richard T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,015 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    470
    393
    112
    27
    13
See reviews for
708
152
9
36
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (98)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Swansea, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed June 25, 2013

Aquashow was honestly perfect. My boyfriend and I visited from 16th June-23rd June 2013. The hotel is only a short way from the airport Faro. When we arrived the hotel staff were immediately bright and friendly, giving us information about what to do in Quateria and The Algarve. When we entered our room, we actually had our mouths open. The room was even more amazing than we had seen on the internet and through other trip advisor photos, lovely and clean and relaxing. We had the blue room!
We used the restaurant nearly every night as the meals were nice and only cost about 12 euros including a drink. One concern is that we instantly jumped into having the buffet, when we were not fussed on the food, we should have just chosen the menu! There wasn't much to do in Quateria apart from the beach, which was gorgeous but extremely hot! So spent the majority of our time in the hotel, which we loved! The waterpark was an EXTREMELY amazing bonus, as we spent 5/7 days in there. The wristband we were provided with enabled us to have free entry every time, and day we wanted to visit - thoroughly enjoyed our holiday and we will DEFINITELY be recommending!

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank carysaaa_13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lisburn, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
58 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed June 16, 2013

We have just returned from a lovely week-long stay at the Aquashow Park Hotel, chosen for its proximity to the water park and also based upon favourable reviews seen here. Both really enjoyed our stay- the hotel is very clean, modern and bright. We found staff to be incredibly helpful and enthusiastic, always eager to assist with any questions. Those we encountered seemed to have genuine enthusiasm for their jobs and dealt with us with genuine warmth and friendliness.

We travelled as part of a package and so arrived a few hours ahead of when we could go to our rooms. On arrival we were greeted, checked in quickly and our baggage was helpfully stowed away for us until our room was available. We were also given our wristbands for access to the waterpark at this point so to amuse ourselves we wandered around the hotel to get our bearings and then over to the waterpark to see what it was like!

Rooms are generously proportioned, comfortable and modern. The bathooms are stylish and functional, with a large shower and well lit mirror. Only downside is that the door doesn't have a lock (but that wasn't really an issue!). Bathroom was stocked with 2 bath towels, 2 hand towels and one smaller one presumably for the floor when showering. There are some toiletries supplied (shower gel, shampoo, shower cap). There is also a hairdryer in the bathroom- not the most powerful but sufficient for the job. There is also an air conditioning unit which is quite straightforward to operate.

Bedroom area had a large TV (English channels limited to Sky News, but who goes on holiday just to watch TV?), two small beside cupboards and a wardrobe (with hangers) with a small safe (you set the code yourself). There is also a reasonably sized fridge in the rooms, a small table and chair and an extra set of chairs and a table outside on the balcony. Our room was facing the waterpark; on the other side of the building (which is an L shape) the balconies face inward and overlook the pool. Housekeeping staff attended to the rooms on a daily basis, cleaning, making the beds and replacing the towels in the bathroom.

The hotel has two pools; one is indoors and heated (plus a jacuzzi, beside the spa and gym) and a larger outdoor pool with an additional smaller paddling pool and play area for younger children. There are plenty of sun loungers both inside and outside, although the outdoor pool isn't heated so while it was a bit chilly getting in initially, it was a welcome relief on the particularly hot days!

There are also two bars at the hotel; one inside in the lobby area and one outside by the pool (which also sells ice cream). There is a decent cocktail menu (try the Mai Thai!) and some offers on drinks, but we mostly drank in our room and when out and about in Vilamoura.

We stayed on a bed and breakfast basis and found the breakfast to be very good. It is buffet style with full English breakfast available, along with more continental style offerings (cheese, meats, fruit, bread, croissants and pastries) as well as toast, cereals, teas, coffees and a selection of fruit juices. The fruit juice machine is labelled in Portuguese so it was a bit of a mystery at times what juice we were getting! During high season I suspect the mornings at breakfast can be very busy so I would suggest being there early- it is served from 7.30am until 10.30am. Only ate in the restaurant once and the food was decent and reasonably priced, with a few vegetarian options available.

So all in all: gorgeous hotel, lovely pools, good food and excellent staff. The downside? The location. From reading previous reviews we were aware that Aquashow Park Hotel was not in a touristy area; it is approximately 3km from Quarteira. We did walk one day to the town but this is not particularly advisable given the limited footpath along the busy main road. On the flipside, there is a free shuttle bus to Quarteira running every morning at 9am and returning at 4.30pm. Additionally, there is a local bus service which departs directly from the front of the hotel, costing €2.20 for a single ticket. Quarteira itself is a small fishing town, but it lies directly beside Vilamoura, a lovely town centred around a gorgeous marina. Our usual routine was to get the bus to Quarteira, walk to Vilamoura and get a taxi home in the evening, costing on average €7.50-8.50.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank Gill G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sunderland, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
21 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed June 9, 2013

stayed at the Aquashow hotel may 2013 for 10 days.
On arrival 14.30pm, after being up at 4am for the journey, with x 4 suitcases, 3 year old child and buggy, no one came to help us with our luggage, there were 4 staff at the reception desk, when we walked in 2 male staff walked away from reception, leaving the receptionist.
Hotel spotlessly clean, room comfortable, tv, only had Sky News for english speaking holiday makers, usually had terrible reception after 7pm at night,(? to get you to go to the bar at night and pay a fortune for drinks), did ask if we could pay for extra channels, was told no!, TV in bar played football 24 hours a day, only once was asked by staff if we would like the channel changed, staff and local policeman watched daily.
We had a 3 year old child with us, there was no child menu even though the hotel boasts 'family
hotel', she would have her breakfast, which turned out to be the main meal of the day, the rest of the holiday she lived on chips and tomato sauce, when we asked for a portion of beans with her chips one night, we were told we would have to pay 4 euros.
There was a supermarket, 4 km away from hotel, we were told we could walk there, it would take 20 minutes, 1 hour later, after dodging all types of heavy duty traffic doing up 70km/hour, walking on the road,(no pavement) we found the supermarket.
For our return journey we decided to get a taxi back to the hotel, it cost 6 Euro 70cents, we found each day the cost of the taxi's went up, to where we were paying up too 9 euro's for each journey, 18 euro's in total each day just for taxi's, we had not budgeted for this, the brochure advertised a courtesy bus, it went out once a day at 9am, breakfast time, i'm sure this was not suitable for most holiday makers.
The staff were pleasant some of the time, in the resteraunt at breakfast time sometimes they would aknowledge you, most times there was no 'good morning' when we said 'good morning' the relpy was 'room number', that was it, the drinks machines, tea,coffee fruit juice were always breaking down, on 1 occasion the electricity kept cutting out.
The brochure advertised a childrens club, Richard ran this this, he did not appear until the thursday before we were due to go home, he was very good with children but we thought he would have some sort of activity that would give the parents some free time.

Room Tip: Take extra money for taxi's, hotel is a long way from the beach and supermarket.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Sandra G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed June 8, 2013 via mobile

We just spent a week at the aquashow park hotel. For its many pluses it falls short in catering for a surprisingly fundamental area - Children. The hotel has only been open 12 months and has only recently started marketing to the UK for 1week+ holidays.
The hotel doesn't seem to have its identity clear, is it a spa hotel or exclusively for children?
The staff valiantly try to drum up activities but with so few children booked into the hotel these attempts are futile.
Couples and execs are booked into the hotel and I found myself trying to keep my child quiet around the pool. I've never known a hotel so quiet!
My child is a fairly fussy eater, not the hotels fault I know, however the hotel despite being attached to this great children's attraction does not have a children's menu! The snack and evening menu are very similar. The breakfast menu despite being the same each day was nice and we all enjoyed this.
The location is great for the waterpark (obv) and this is a fantastic facility to have, as long as you have the weather of course.
Avoid Quarteria if possible, the beach looks nice but its surrounding area is run down.
For the same money in a taxi head to Vilamoura Marina, its a golf resort with the expected clientele but provides a beach and a break from the hotel, (approx 8 euros per taxi).
A beautiful and well maintained hotel with fantastic staff are let down by the most basic flaw - there need to be more children at the hotel to create an atmosphere. The kids club staff are ready and waiting.

  • Stayed June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank keithybaby9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed June 2, 2013

We have just returned from a lovely week at the Aquashow Hotel. We travelled with our 12 & 8 year old boys along with their Nan and all shared a family room with interconnecting door on 4th floor (purple floor). Firstly, the hotel is spotlessly clean, modern and was fairly empty despite being half term. The two things that stopped me giving a 5 star rating were the food and location. There is not really anywhere to walk to apart from one restaurant (which we didn't try). We like to wander around the local town in the afternoon \ evening so would have like to be closer. You can book a free transfer down to the beach through the hotel but it goes at 9am which was too early for us. We did catch the local bus down to Quarteria from outside the hotel but then got a taxi back and found the taxi cheaper than the bus (taxi was 6.50 EUR, bus was 2.20 EUR each). The breakfast was ok, was exactly the same each day but was enough variety - bacon, scrambled egg, hash brown, sausage, mushroom, toast, rolls, fruit, cereal, cheese, meats etc. Dinner was very limited - especially for anyone fussy or a vegetarian (like me). They had chips \ potatoes every day, one variety of vegetable, one meat dish, one fish dish and one pasta along with one soup and a small salad bar. There were usually two different deserts along with fruit. At first, we thought drinks were good value at 2.80 EUR for a soda but these did mount up over the week so ordering water with dinner worked out better value. Cocktails were around 6 EUR each, beer and wine were fairly cheap at 3 EUR. There is a kids club but was really empty whilst we were there. This was good for us as our boys don't usually join in this kind of thing - but did as they were often the only boys there. The evening entertainment consisted of a quiz \ bingo in the reception area at 9pm run by Richard the kids entertainer - he was very friendly and made you feel welcome. The water park was a great bonus to this hotel - very clean and something to suit all ages. The water is a little cold but does not put you off. The staff do try to persuade you to have pictures taken with the many animals they have but they do take no for an answer if you do not want to pose. We didn't really have many pictures done as we were not sure how well looked after the animals were. They were not treated cruelly, but it is not natural for a nocturnal owl to be posing with people all day long! All in all, we had a really good holiday - very relaxing and just what the doctor ordered...

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jamesoliversarmy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Broxbourne, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed June 1, 2013

The hotel was beautiful and spotlessly clean. Rooms and shower excellent and the free access to the waterpark (which was excellent) an added bonus. The staff (of which there were only a few) were very pleasant. But, oh dear, the food! We went on the half board option as there were only 2 restaurants/bars within walking distance. The breakfasts were reasonable but the evening buffets were dire. Not a lot of choice and no a la carte menu. Dinner served from 7.00pm-10.00pm but if you arrived after 7.30 the food had dried up. The wait staff also had to serve in the bar were the prices were exhorbitant, 7.50 euros for a vodka and extra for mixers! Recommend you go to the bar/restaurant down the road where drinks are less than half the price. There was nothing to do and no ambience in the evenings, only games and quizzes that seemed mainly for young children.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank eyreforce
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Quarteira hotels
0.6 mi away
Pinhal do Sol Hotel
Pinhal do Sol Hotel
#27 of 48 in Quarteira
809 reviews
2.1 mi away
Hilton Vilamoura As Cascatas Golf Resort & Spa
2.3 mi away
Dom Jose Beach Hotel
Dom Jose Beach Hotel
#9 of 48 in Quarteira
1,560 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 mi away
Pestana Vila Sol, Vilamoura
Pestana Vila Sol, Vilamoura
#19 of 36 in Vilamoura
867 reviews
2.0 mi away
Four Seasons Vilamoura
Four Seasons Vilamoura
#2 of 36 in Vilamoura
751 reviews
2.6 mi away
Crowne Plaza Vilamoura - Algarve
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Aquashow Park Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Aquashow Park Hotel

Property: Aquashow Park Hotel
Address: E. N. 396 | Aquashow, Quarteira 8125-303, Portugal
Phone Number:
Location: Portugal > Algarve > Faro District > Quarteira
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Family Hotel in Quarteira
#7 Spa Hotel in Quarteira
#8 Luxury Hotel in Quarteira
#10 Romantic Hotel in Quarteira
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Aquashow Park Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 148
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Aquashow Park Hotel is a 4 star Hotel ideal if you are looking for vacations between Quarteira and Vilamoura. We are located in a peaceful place, secure and far from the constant agitation of the center. At the same time we are very close to all the fun, attractions, in the Biggest Aquatic Park, Thematic Park and Funniest Park of the Algarve, The Aquashow. Come visit us at any time of the year, as the Algarve is a very privileged place because of the excellent weather and for having the sun shining all year. In addition to the numerous pools that the Aquashow Park has, the Hotel is no exception and it has 3 swimming pools, one of which is heated and a Jacuzzi. If on one side you prefer the sea waves, you can enjoy the Pool Wave of Aquashow Park or even have a 5 minutes' drive away to be in some of the nearby beaches. It is the perfect place to relax after a day full of emotions in Aquashow Park. The quality and the efficiency offered at all levels, from the staff to the location and infrastructures, until the technologies and the innovator design - these are our advantages. Located in the Algarve, on the principal way out to the highway A22, in Quarteira, the Hotel has at your disposal 148 rooms, 3 of them are adapted for people who have reduced mobility. Every guest has free access to the Aquashow Fun Park during their stay between May 1st and September 30th. Come and get to know our new slides and challenge your family to get on this world of fun. We want you to spend your vacations and unforgettable moments in our company! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, TravelUp, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets, Hotwire, Cancelon, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com, Evoline ltd and HRS so you can book your Aquashow Park Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Aquashow Park Hotel Quarteira, Algarve, Portugal

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing