We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Quality/hidden location”
Review of Fernandos Hideaway

Fernandos Hideaway
Ranked #56 of 379 Restaurants in Quarteira
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: International
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Late Night, Reservations
Description: Tel: +351 289 315628
Nottingham
Level Contributor
35 reviews
23 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
“Quality/hidden location”
Reviewed May 18, 2013

A superb eating house hidden one block behind the front.
Extensive menu of steaks & local dishes served by family with extensive but not obtrusive enthusiasm.
Clean/smart interior - ate here three times - never disappointed.
Highly recommended !

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
Thank cimber18
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

159 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    101
    39
    15
    1
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Wales, UK
Level Contributor
100 reviews
61 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
“Not to be confused....”
Reviewed May 13, 2013

.....with 'Fernando, Main Sq., Albufeira'!
Fernando's Hideaway, Quarteira, is found, literally, 5 minutes walk, in a mainly residential street, running parallel to Av.Infante Sagres. Look out for the red bull's head sign!
Although quiet, just out of high season, there was a 40 minute wait for our meals to be served. Not a problem, being able to enjoy an aperitif at the pavement tables, and at least we knew the food was being freshly prepared. My espetadas (skewered meat), consisted of generous chunks of beef, chicken and pork, peppers and onions - a mighty feast indeed! However, the beef could have been more tender and was quite 'fatty'. My companion's very large fillet steak was cooked to perfection and was very tasty, so much so, that we returned a few nights later, when I too ordered a fillet, which again must have been around 12oz. and perfectly cooked. I also indulged in the mushroom sauce - delicious, and the home-made chips were fabulous! A slight glitch in my partner's order was quickly rectified without fuss and with profuse apologies.
This clean and friendly family run restaurant, is apparently popular with the locals, especially during the 2½ month school holidays!
So, a couple of large fillet steaks and a bottle of vino came to around €45, not too bad in this day and age. Well worth a visit.

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank LanmanWales_UK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Greater Manchester, England
Level Contributor
10 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Great Meal”
Reviewed February 15, 2013

We stumbled on this by accident on our last night in Quarteira. The meal was excellent, I had the chicken and my partner had the serloin steak, everything was cooked to perfection. Along with great service and reasonable price we were gutted we hadn't found it earlier in our stay.

  • Visited February 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank crissy1854
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Crewe, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Great food and service”
Reviewed February 2, 2013

What fab fab place just back from holiday.
This restaurant serves fantastic food all day
Love Love Love it cant wait to go back

  • Visited January 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank pammie01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bristol, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
17 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Great Meal”
Reviewed November 26, 2012

Had a lovely meal. The tomato soup was very tasty. I had the Chicken with a mushroom sauce and my partner has the shrimp curry. The portions were huge.

Visited November 2012
Helpful?
Thank Kim0359
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Fernandos Hideaway also viewed

Quarteira, Faro District
Quarteira, Faro District
 
Quarteira, Faro District
Quarteira, Faro District
 

Been to Fernandos Hideaway? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing