We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best food in the area”
Review of BJ`S Oceanside

BJ`S Oceanside
Ranked #34 of 402 Restaurants in Quarteira
Certificate of Excellence
Dining options: Breakfast, Late Night, Delivery, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, Late Night, Delivery, Reservations
Reviewed January 15, 2014

A wonderful location for a beach-side lunch. With a view of the sea, wonderful food and excellent service you can't go wrong. This place was recommended by a friend and it didn't disappoint.

I loved it so much, I've already been back and intend to return again when I am in Villamoura next.

Best prawns I've ever had (they are huge!) and the a seabass cooked to perfection.

Great place.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
1  Thank Tony_M0_13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (514)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

365 - 369 of 515 reviews

Reviewed October 19, 2013

Lovely, relaxed atmosphere watching the sunset over the sea, couldn't ask for much more! Attentive staff, fantastic food certainly would go back.

1  Thank NickiR880
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 15, 2013

Bex and Jay - Thank you so much for two great sessions! I'm biased of course, I know, but you've struck gold guys. Perfect location for sun worshipers, excellent beach area and heavenly sunsets, probably the most picturesque location in the area.

Food is simple but great, and the live music makes it lively and fun, it suits all ages. We had one too many bottles of Rose but you well know, we'll be back when next in Lobo!

Thank guys until next time. Guesty.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Guestjnr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 13, 2013

We have been to BJ's quite a few times and my parents who live in the Algarve use it regularly. In the past we have had very friendly, efficient experience - not today.

No apparent record of our reservation, which is essential for a good spot on a sunny Sunday, luckily we got a table. I appreciate it was busy, but a very long wait for menus and drinks, had to ask for ice four times, tried to place food order three times and were told that particular waiter would be with us, an hour after sitting down we had our order taken and were told in no uncertain terms that it was busy and he was there to take our order and the basic attitude was he was doing us a favour! When we arrived we had asked for a sole to be reserved as they sell out, guess what, when we were placing our order with Mr Moody no record of the sole request and sole "totally" sold...and a shoulder shrug.

Come on guys, you know you are going to be busy, so staff up or stagger your reservations - food was OK, nothing special. For the mediocre food we had and the poor service plus a large bill we had a very poor experience. Might be the end of the season but you really didn't do a quality job today. You should take more care with your core clients.

Very, very disappointed.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
2  Thank CarolineJill
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bex99Portugal, Owner at BJ`S Oceanside, responded to this reviewResponded October 14, 2013

Hi Caroline,
Firstly and foremostly i am so sorry that you did not have a good experience at BJ's yesterday. We put our life and soul into trying to ensure that our clients have a great time at BJ's so this feedback really really upsets us right to our core.

As you say we can expect to be busy every Sunday when the sun is shining and we would normally expect to do around 150 covers on a sunday in October........yesterday we did 228 in the space of 4 hours which considering we only seat 125 at any one time is a lot.

This could be the reason that we might have run out of specific fish. We do stagger our bookings but unfortunately yesterday almost every booking arrived slightly off their booking time and this only compounded the pressure on the staff. We were also understaffed at the front of house as 2 members of our temporary staff were offered lucrative jobs at the Portuguese masters golf tournament and being the end of the season they decided to give up their roles at BJ's on Tuesday last week. With a dodgy weather forecast i took what turned out to be a bad decision to not replace them in time for this sunday.
All of the above said, there is no excuse for anything other than the best service for our clients and so i am really really sorry that you did not get that and i take full responsibility.
The one thing i can guarantee is that we will learn from your criticism and will put into place the measures required to ensure that we do not fall short again.

"Mr Moody" has been talked to and was very frank in saying that he didnt cope with the pressure, he has been relieved of certain duties as a result.

I hope that by explaining the situation a little and being honest (some people may think i am mad for accepting culpability on this website) you might give us another chance to show that BJ's is a fantastic place to eat, drink and enjoy an afternoon amongst friends in beautiful surroundings.

Once again i am sorry and really do hope that you will consider trying BJ's again.

John Seabrook

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 27, 2013

I have been to this restaurant 3 times and it just keeps getting better. I have spotted a slight rise in price but still well worth it. Its location is stunning, can't wait to go back..

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Haven07
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed BJ`S Oceanside also viewed

Quarteira, Faro District
 
Almancil, Faro District
Almancil, Faro District
 
Almancil, Faro District
 

Been to BJ`S Oceanside? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing