We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Brilliant value take away chicken and chips(by the kilo!!)”
Review of Rei do Churrasco

Rei do Churrasco
Ranked #110 of 370 Restaurants in Quarteira
Certificate of Excellence
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Large groups, Families with children, Kids
Dining options: Dinner, Late Night, Lunch, Accepts American Express, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Free Wifi, Highchairs Available, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Street Parking, Takeout, Television, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Description: This is a restaurant/take away that serves the best chicken piri piri I have ever had!
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
30 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Brilliant value take away chicken and chips(by the kilo!!)”
Reviewed July 23, 2014

The chicken is to die for and they sell the freshly made chips by the kilo! Great piri piri and other sauces provided to add to the chicken. We had far too much for a hungry family of four all for the princely sum of 17 Euro! It pays to go at just after 7:30 pm as they cook a mountain of chicken in readiness for an army of loyal customers arriving at 7:45 by which time there is a big queue!

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank MTL2008
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

108 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    67
    24
    11
    1
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Loule, Portugal
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Plenty of taste”
Reviewed July 6, 2014

Had a lovely evening with friends at this restaurant. For only €12,50 each we had plenty of a tasty dish of the day. Drinks, desert and coffee included. As it was a birthday party, we even were treated on a complimentary bottle of bubbles! Kind and helpful staff made us feel welcome. Certainly will go back .

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank 484Yolande
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alte, Portugal
Level Contributor
30 reviews
28 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Excellent Frango Piri Piri”
Reviewed July 1, 2014 via mobile

Great chicken, served with rice & French fries. Rice was stodgy, however, when the home made Piri Piri was added it was delicious. French Fries were not homemade unfortunately but acceptable.
Will return especially for the Chicken Piri Piri!

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
Thank kevndave
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
“Delicious food and very nice service”
Reviewed June 13, 2014

Best grilled beef and bbq chicken I have ever had (and I have had a lot, believe me). Perfect piri piri sauce (very spicy).
A lot of dishes are traditional Madeira dishes, what makes them even more interesting and unique.

After a dinner, restaurant manager offers a free shot of home-made Poncha (madeira liquer). Delicious!

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Michał K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wolverhampton
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“The best piri-piri chicken ever!”
Reviewed June 2, 2014

As a family we love holidaying in Portugal and we love O Rei's just as much! Over the years we've done the eating out every night but since finding this gem a number of years ago we love nothing more than all sitting around the table with a chilled Super Bock tucking into the most amazing chicken with piri-piri or lemon/garlic sauce & a mountain (yes literally a mountain) of chips. We even have to limit ourselves to 3 visits during the week as we could quite easily eat it every night!! I could go on but basically...Fabulous food. Brilliant value. Great service. Lovely family. Try it, I guarantee you'll be hooked!

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Lisa M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Rei do Churrasco also viewed

Quarteira, Faro District
Quarteira, Faro District
 
Quarteira, Faro District
Quarteira, Faro District
 
Quarteira, Faro District
 

Been to Rei do Churrasco? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing