We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good food and service”
Review of o jacinto

o jacinto
Ranked #60 of 380 Restaurants in Quarteira
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $33 - $132
Cuisines: Portuguese
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine
Dining options: Late Night, Reservations
South Africa
Level 4 Contributor
43 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Good food and service”
Reviewed November 14, 2012 via mobile

We were recommended this restaurant by some locals when we asked for an authentic place to sample good fish. We were not disappointed. I had the monkfish cataplana, which they kindly did for one person - turns out it was huge, enough for the largest of appetites. And delicious. My wife had the sole, which she requested off the bone, which they gladly complied with. She said it was also good, although it didn't look as spectacular as my dish. I tried a good wine, which was not expensive. I would recommend this place.

Helpful?
1 Thank africaboy44
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

229 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    117
    84
    19
    6
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Porto, Portugal
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Very good”
Reviewed September 7, 2012

This restaurante is specialized in seafood and fish, and the food is simply delicious. Everything is very fresh and of high quality and cooked in the traditional algarve way. And besides it is not expensive considering the quality of the meal you are provided. It is definetly one of the best places in the algarve to eat!

  • Visited September 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Maria M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Coimbra, Portugal
Level 4 Contributor
39 reviews
37 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Standard”
Reviewed June 18, 2012

Good food, friendly, familiar atmosphere, price acceptable.

  • Visited June 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Luis J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
29 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Seafood Superb”
Reviewed June 14, 2012

When the locals eat there, recommend it and look surprised to see "tourists" in there, you know it must be worth checking out. The staff were friendly, helpful and attentive. We had the monkfish cataplana, after an octopus salad starter. The Cataplana was huge and was enough for 2 adults and a toddler with some left over. Delicious - wish we had gone a second time!
Please note, it closes at 3pm and reopens for dinner i think at 7pm.

  • Visited June 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank kitty184
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Berkhamsted, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
121 reviews
104 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
“The place for seafood”
Reviewed June 3, 2012

My wife and I went to this restaurant in May 2012 and thought it was excellent. The fish was obviously fresh and the service was friendly and very helpfull.
If you like seafood this is definately the place to go. Also, the wine, recommended by the waitress, was excellent and very reasonably priced. It is very popular so booking is advised.

  • Visited May 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Jackwh1946
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed o jacinto also viewed

Quarteira, Faro District
 
Quarteira, Faro District
Quarteira, Faro District
 

Been to o jacinto? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing