We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The Worst Hotel I Ever Stayed In”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Hotel Sofia - Jesolo
Ranked #30 of 249 Hotels in Jesolo
Certificate of Excellence
Ireland
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“The Worst Hotel I Ever Stayed In”
Reviewed April 12, 2010

I have just returned from Lido di Jesolo after spending 5 days there. We were staying at the Hotel Sofia 3*. In my opinion I would give it NO STARS and call it a hostel NOT a hotel. The rooms were tiny with the maximum amount of beds squeezed into them (3 persons to a room), mostly camp beds and rooms were completely cramped. I shared a room with two others and I ended up sleeping in a bunk bed. We arrived early April.
so the weather was still pretty cold, the hotel had no heating so we had to sleep with socks and sweat tops on. We had to ask for more bed clothes, which were washed away woollen blankets with no heat and grubby looking. We were full board but there was no great variation/choice on food, it was a case of you ate what you were given - so ended up eating out most nites. Breakfast consisted of cereal, rolls. ham and cheese, cold coffee/tea - no other choice and no imagination at all. After day 2 I didnt want to see another roll or another bowl of pasta and frankly had no wish whatsoever to spend much time in the hotel only to sleep, and even that was an effort. Staff were unfriendly and there was little English spoken by staff, especially at the reception area, which caused problems when trying to communicate. The hotel had no bar, and no area where you could sit and chat and enjoy a coffee/beer or even feel comfortable. I would never recommend this hotel to anyone, as a matter of fact I reccomend that it be CLOSED down, they shouldn't be allowed call this run down hotel a business, it was a disgrace. Where I come from it would never be approved as a 3* hotel and I most definitely will never return. I saw plenty of other 3* hotels near Hotel Sofia which were far superior. As a matter of fact the hotel right next store Hotel Menfi was where we met for coffee/drinks and most of all for comfort and heat.

  • Stayed April 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank IrelandPinkElephant
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

285 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    131
    107
    29
    6
    12
See reviews for
140
63
4
10
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
sweden
1 review
Reviewed April 9, 2010

Great managment, friendly staff and service minded.

  • Stayed March 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank hultiz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sweden
1 review
Reviewed April 5, 2010

We (Sweden U18 Rugby team) stayed at the Hotel Sofia for 9 nights during March/April 2010 and we were throughly delighted with our stay.
For us the biggest satisfaction was the helpfulness of all the staff who did their best to accomadate all our needs thoughout the trip - there wasnt anything that was too much hassle for them during the week.
The standard of food through the week was excellent , good value and was enjoyed by the players.
Rooms were clean and tidy and with some great views of the beach that was only a 2 min walk away.
All of the players and staff (who won the event) were more than satisfied with the hotel and would, I am sure, like to return in the near future.

  • Stayed March 2010, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SwedenU18rugby
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Italy
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed May 25, 2009

I liked most things about Hotel Sofia. Fairly nice views depending on which side of the building you're on, and an excellent restaurant although the breakfast was a bit lacking (at least to American tastes). The pool was fantastic and the proximity to the sea was great (right across the street). My main complaint was the problem with the air conditioning. It was very hot when we arrived (late May) and when we got to the room the air did not work. I need cold air when I'm in a hot climate particularly when I'm going to be cooking at the beach all day. I talked to management and they assured me that it would be fixed but by the second evening it was still a no go. On our second night, late into the evening it was finally fixed and the air cranked. After that all was good at the hotel. Still, after looking around I wish that I had chosen the Hotel Universo right across the street. For about the same price you get a much nicer hotel with a great courtyard and ocean front. Next year we'll stay there.

  • Stayed May 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank kikaspike
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Norwich
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed October 6, 2006

I booked this hotel via the internet and got a good deal for bed and breakfast. Chose this hotel because it was near the beach and had a nice pool area. We had a lovely room with nice views over the sea although we were on the 6th floor and the lift only went to the 5th - so probably not ideal if you have a problem with walking. The pool was empty! When I asked why - considering the hotel was open until the end of October - was told that we had to swim in the sea, no other explanation. The hotel was very clean and the staff were very friendly. There was free bicycle hire and free chairs to use on the beach, however the chairs disappeared completely after our 3rd day and the staff allowed us to take the loungers from the pool area of the hotel, so no problem. I would recommend this hotel, it was easy to get to from the airport, but would probably stay a litle earlier in September. We arrived on 26th and a lot of the restaurants and shops/hotels were already closed for the season. The public transport was very good and very punctual.

  • Liked — It was very clean
  • Disliked — No water in the swimming pool
  • Tips/Secrets — Don't go late in the season
  • Stayed May 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
4 Thank Notnormal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shapur, PR at Hotel Sofia - Jesolo, responded to this review, April 30, 2008
Google Translation
Grazie mille
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Venice, Italy
Level Contributor
14 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed September 7, 2006

I've been to Hotel Sofia as a guide of a group of seniors (65+) and from the very beginning the owners were extremely kind and we felt welcomed immediately.
We stayed there two weeks and I really appreciated the dedication and effort of the staff. A big plus was the restaurant: variety AND quality.I highly recommend this hotel.

  • Liked — Location, staff, food
  • Disliked — --
  • Stayed August 2004, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Petra.C.
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Essex
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed August 1, 2006

I have just come back from a terrific holiday in Lido Di Jesolo stopping at the Hotel Sofia. I can totally recommend The Hotel Sofia. In my opinion an excellent, superior 3*.

I booked low cost flights to Venice last December for 4 couples. In the new year I was tasked with booking our accommodation and set about researching hotels in Lido Di Jesolo sending emails to about 6 I liked the look of from the Jesolo website. The Sofia answered my email almost immediatly and a raport then started with Alessandro the Manager/Owner.

Our requirements were, half board and a sea view. A pool was also a priority. Alessandro explained that we could have a flexible meal plan with half board. Breakfast with either lunch or dinner. This worked out perfectly for us as we all wanted to explore the many restuarants along the 15 kilometres of Lido Di Jesolo but we wanted to enjoy day trips etc.. too.

A visit to Venice for the 8 of us was thrown in free, and the deck chairs and umbrellas on the beach in front of the hotel were also free of charge. Alessando booked the minibus to pick us up at Marco Polo Airport (This was 20 Euro each way cheaper than the taxi company on the airport website, only 80 Euro each wayfor the 8 of us). We arrived to a clean, modern hotel. A decent size pool, big for a smallish Italian hotel.

The Sofia traditionally attracts an Italian and Austrian/German clientele. Alessandro was concerned that our 'English' needs were met. He asked us to let him know if we wanted boiled eggs, special fruit etc..for breakfast and when we said yes please this was supplied. The free Venice trip was booked by boat from Jesolo straight to Venice.

The sofia : -
* Has good food.
* Is clean.
* Is positioned in a quite, rather exclusive part of Jesolo near to Piazza Aurora.
* Has a great pool.
* Has helpful, friendly staff.
* Has a great manager.
* Is family run.

Everything was 'no problemo'.

Helpful?
8 Thank jesolobelles
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Jesolo hotels
0.2 mi away
Hotel Sirenetta
Hotel Sirenetta
#6 of 249 in Jesolo
248 reviews
0.0 mi away
Hotel Menfi
Hotel Menfi
#29 of 249 in Jesolo
178 reviews
0.1 mi away
Domino Suite Hotel
Domino Suite Hotel
#7 of 249 in Jesolo
355 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.0 mi away
Marina Hotel
Marina Hotel
#48 of 249 in Jesolo
199 reviews
0.0 mi away
Hotel Universo
Hotel Universo
#107 of 249 in Jesolo
67 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Aurora
Hotel Aurora
#41 of 249 in Jesolo
147 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Sofia - Jesolo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Sofia - Jesolo

Property: Hotel Sofia - Jesolo
Address: Via Treviso 22, 30016, Jesolo, Italy
Location: Italy > Veneto > Province of Venice > Jesolo
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #30 of 249 Hotels in Jesolo
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Sofia - Jesolo 3*
Number of rooms: 162
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Sofia Hotel is an excellent 3 star rated, seaview hotel with a private pool. Placed in the centre of Jesolo (Venice), the hotel is close to the beautiful Aurora Square, which is animated by performances and concerts, and it is a short walk away from Mazzini Square, which is at the heart of Jesolo bustling nightlife. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets, Booking.com, Cancelon and Hotel.de so you can book your Hotel Sofia - Jesolo reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Sofia Jesolo

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing