We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (226)
Filter reviews
227 results
Traveler rating
83
76
39
17
12
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveler rating
83
76
39
17
12
Show reviews that mention
All reviews wellness centre rooftop pool evening meal an extra euros air con enjoyed our stay easy access superior room cleaning staff private beach croissants the hotel staff receptionist balcony jacuzzi treviso italians
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
4 - 9 of 227 reviews
Reviewed July 13, 2018 via mobile

The rooms are on the small side but if you're there to get out and about and not spend days in your room, they're perfectly adequate.

They're clean and big enough for 2 people but don't expect a room usually suited to a "4* hotel".

The breakfast is also fine. Nothing to write home about but a decent coffee machine, great pastries and a standard continental offering. You'll need to remind yourself that it's free but for a bit of fuel to get you up and out, it easily saves you €10 pp compared to eating out.

We only had B&B so can't comment on other boards.

The pool area is well kept and nice with great views over the coast but the highlight of the hotel is probably the private area on the beach. Sunbeds, deckchairs and parasols are available for use for hotel guests and make it very easy to spend a few hours at the lido.

As far as the area goes, it is extremely touristy but this does make it very easy to find a decent place to eat or grab a drink on an evening. Main reason for visiting is it's close proximity to Venice, €25pp for a return bus and boat ticket to San Marco. Head to the tourist info centre next to the big wheel for times and tickets.

Date of stay: July 2018
Trip type: Traveled as a couple
1  Thank ab88
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 2, 2018

Really enjoyed my stay here staff were so friendly and helpful especially Jeanette she could not do enough for you in the dining room hotel was spotless clean towels and linens everyday. Pool area on roof was beautiful plenty of lovely relaxing beds and umbrellas food was excellent plenty of choices and always lovely and hot only down side was very small room that looked on to a children’s fair that went on until 12 @ night room was more for one person than two balcony’s very small with no tables think if I returned to this hotel it would need to be in a superior room

Date of stay: June 2018
1  Thank Cazabazza
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 1, 2018

Booked two weeks here through Jet2, a company who served us well on a previous Soanish experience. Advised as a 4 star, but when we arrived on the Friday to be given a very small room, on the first floor, looking onto a car park, we downgraded it to a 2 star, until such times we would be offered a bigger room, which was possibly going to happen on the Sunday Morning. We arranged to meet the manager at 10.00 am as requested for this possibility, but she kept us waiting 30 minutes and then blanked us when she eventually did show up. Seemingly the room we had was for three people, and was deemed a good room, but as there was no space for our luggage we could not see how that was feasible. The shower power was ace, but a little tight for my 6' 3' frame. Not a good start.
The rooftop pool and sun beds was a superb facility, the sun loungers and umbrellas really good and a superb jacuzzi available although a bit temperamental when on pushing start button, especially in afternoon, it was a bit random whether it would work or not. The hotel had their own beach area with sun loungers and umbrellas if that was preferable. A drinks machine on the landings of 3 floors for beers, pop, etc but two were not working the whole time we were there so it felt as if taking drinks to rooftop was a no-no.There was also a wellness centre on the roof top but but this had an extra charge for using.
Food was excellent- a good variation of Italian meals and the staff here were first class, very helpful and friendly. Breakfast was good, although for us, not interested in scrambled egg and bacon, but plenty breads, croissants, and brilliant fresh fruit- coffee machine was poor but lovely staff on hand to bring you 'long coffee' if so required.
A pleasant bar to the front overseen by the brilliant barman Salem, superb at his trade and an asset to to the hotel with his attentive manner and several free samples of exotic tipples.
A great mix of guests families and couples like us, Brits were in the minority and many Italians took holidays here which was good indicator. Easy access to local main square - bikes available from hotel, and crazy golf and tennis courts on the door step , although not part of Hotel Colombo For kids a great funfair just outside as well.
Great base for Venice, Treviso, Dolomites - local bus service on the doorstep
As the two weeks went on we were very happy with our holiday based in Hotel Colombo and despite some initial teasing troubles and all things taken into a account very happy with our vacation there.

Date of stay: July 2018
  • Trip type: Traveled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank John C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 12, 2018

Okay its really not a 4 star hotel as advertised. The hotel's roof top pool and jacuzzi were great, very good cleanliness everywhere. Food OK but the restaurant is too small and cramped. Don't leave it until after 8.30 am to get breakfast as there was always a queue for the coffee/hot water machine and food was running low. Service at dinner was very good. Unfortunately the hotel is situated on a very busy noisy road which doesn't affect your sleep but you cannot hold a conversation in the bar when the window doors are wide open. The rooms are a lottery, some bigger than others, mine was small and depressing, 5 hangers in a strange cupboard ensemble, plenty of towels but bring your own beach towel. I had a large terrace with only two plastic chairs - a sun lounger and small table would have been nice. The rooms are often cleaned very early (8.30) but are immaculate and the cleaning staff do a great job. The Tunisian barman/restaurant waiter Salem was amazing, a lovely bloke who works extremely hard, a great asset to this hotel.

Date of stay: June 2018
  • Trip type: Traveled solo
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank roseoftramore
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 4, 2018

For our spring break we booked a TUI/Skytours holiday to Lido de Jesolo, staying at the Hotel Colombo. The on line booking experience was quick and straightforward, as was the on line check in, seat allocation, and baggage drop at Manchester Airport. Flights and resort transfers were flawless. Venice Airport was painfully slow both on arrival and departure, with a long wait for baggage on arrival, and a long, slow moving queue to check in on departure.

The TUI rep left the inbound transfer coach before arrival at our hotel, which was the final call. About ten of us presented ourselves at reception. The hotel clearly wasn't expecting us as the receptionist was baffled to see us. Check in thus became very protracted as the hotel asked to see our TUI travel documents as evidence that we were booked in there. We were finally allocated a room and told that it was ready, but on entering, it hadn't been serviced and was just as its previous occupants had left it. A quick return to reception got this sorted within 20 minutes, but as first impressions go, this wasn't a good start.

For our first evening meal, the dessert course 'ran out' before most of us had chance to get any. My wife persisted with the manager who went and found some alternatives from the kitchen, but we noticed all week after that that people were picking up desserts as they went into the restaurant, even though they didn't run out again after that first night.

We had a welcome meeting with the TUI rep about two hours after arrival, which was fine. He was very helpful and informative about all the things we needed to know, but made it clear that he was very busy with other hotels in the resort and would only return if specifically asked. He gave us his mobile number and assured us he would respond to any issues raised. We didn't have any issues as it turned out, but, sure enough, we didn't see him again until departure morning when he accompanied us on the coach.

For all the negative comments above, we actually had a super holiday. The problems with the hotel are all to do with bad organisation which could easily be solved. The hotel is kept spotlessly clean, the recently refurbished room and en-suite were lovely and bright, with a good balcony view out to the Adriatic. The window double glazing was excellent, shutting out all the noise from the busy main street below, and the air con worked very well. The meals were all great - the chef is brilliant. All meals are freshly cooked to order and the presentation and quality were as good as anywhere I have ever stayed - and I'm difficult to please. The staff are all friendly and helpful. The roof top pool is good - but there can be issues about finding a lounger if it gets busy! The hotel has its own private beach space, and we made good use of that. The hotel wi-fi is patchy and unreliable. It was off altogether for two days of our stay. In fairness, the hotel is not and never will be 4 star. It is a good 3 star, in my opinion.

We got to Venice three times under our own steam - it's quick, cheap, and easy to do. Twice we got a 24 hour pass (20 Euros each) for the water bus service, and enjoyed sailing round all the islands and going up and down the Grand Canal to our hearts content. We also had a day out to Treviso using the local service bus. Again, easily done. Lido de Jesolo itself is a brash and busy place, not at all what you think of when you think of Italy, but its great advantage is its proximity to Venice, and for that reason, we'll certainly be back.

Room tip: Sea view is good.
Date of stay: May 2018
  • Trip type: Traveled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank HalifaxThespian
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews