We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A really enjoyable stay.”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Hotel Principe Palace
Ranked #12 of 251 Hotels in Jesolo
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed June 16, 2014

This was our first visit to Venice so we decided to stay at Principe palace because of its location as a combined beach and City, 2 week break. We were really pleased with the location in a busy piazza, at night it was lively, especially at the weekends. Our room was at the front as we requested. But, we found if we closed the bathroom door as a lot of outside noise seemed to travel through the vent in the bathroom, we slept well. Some noise has to be expected if your in a busy location.

The first week was very busy for us we travelled into Venice 5 days out of the first 7 days. And found this very easy. With research on the internet. I had bought a pass for the ferry and vaporetters and a combined pass for some attractions, museums and churches. Which we felt was good value.

The hotel itself was always clean and the staff were friendly, can't say enough positives about them really. They made our holiday even better. We were well looked after in the dining room too. The staff were always courteous and went out of their way to make our trip enjoyable. We had been there the first week and then it was change over week on the Friday which meant a large influx of new clients. Unfortunately it was very busy and food did become some what delayed. But, we were happy to wait as we could see the staff were extremely busy trying to settle in the new clients and some did have to wait. But, I was very shocked when one person decided to have a go in front of the whole dining room at the Maître d. And then stormed out. I felt that this was unnecessary. A quiet private word would have been much more productive and less stressful for all concerned. The staff were on edge. When this person was around after this incident. Unfortunately for us the next evening this person was seated behind us on the next table. All though our meal they were complaining constantly to their own party. I decide we couldn't continue the rest of the week listening to this person. So we asked the Maître d if we could move..quietly, calmly and privately. He was absolutely lovely and said that would not be a problem. The next night we sat at another table and continued to enjoy the rest of our holiday in peace.
We were also sent a complementary bottle of wine to our room because of the inconvenience caused. We would have no trouble recommending this hotel to others. But you can't avoid the other clients..lol.

Room Tip: Shut the bathroom door .....this seems to stop some of the outside noise.
  • Stayed: June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank eldavIreland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (700)
There are newer reviews for Hotel Principe Palace
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

316 - 322 of 700 reviews

Reviewed June 14, 2014

Good location. The same menu as last year, the service was appalling in the restaurant waited 45 mins to be served walked out, the food lukewarm. The bedroom had a broken drawer, not a room for two people. You need to pay tourist tax of 10.50 euros each for a week, This is not a 4 star hotel, Not worth the money I paid.

  • Stayed: June 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Shelley M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 14, 2014

Visited this hotel last year, we really enjoyed it so we returned. All the staff very polite, the food is excellent, always a great choice for everyone whatever your taste. Good pool on roof with plenty of sun beds. If you prefer the beach the hotel has its own private section with free sun beds The pool bar serves food during the day and you get great service from Steffy and Giada.. A great memory for us both..

Room Tip: Rooms at rear are a bit quieter.
  • Stayed: June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 167robin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 11, 2014 via mobile

Beautiful marble lobby with chandelier leads up stairs to spacious bedrooms with beds so comfy I wanted to bring it home. Excellent location a 2 minute walk from the beach and on a main square. The staff are fantastic. Kind, courteous, efficient, they make it their business to give you a good holiday. Beautiful rooftop pool.
If you stay in a room on the front of the hotel expect a little night noise as they overlook a main square, but my sleep was only disturbed 1 night due to a marching band and they finished before 12.

  • Stayed: June 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank KarenFaulkner
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 9, 2014

Lovely hotel with good food and staff always friendly and willing to go the extra mile to ensure you have an enjoyable holiday. Apart from personal experience of rooftop pool being too deep we found the hotel good value and very clean and tidy.

Room Tip: Rooms facing the front of the hotel added an extra interest as they overlook the square.
  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Malcolm T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 6, 2014

Not sure how this hotel is a 4 star ? You need to take your own beach towels unheard of ! No tea and coffee facilities in the bed rooms. The bedrooms need updating and ours was two single beds pushed together , the walls are paper thin .

  • Stayed: June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Claire M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 3, 2014

Booked a package from Manchester with Thomson 16th-23rd May. 45 minute transfer from Venice airport. 20 minutes to check in but there were a lot of people. We sat outside until queue diminished.

Main reception area is very nicely decorated with two lifts and a staircase just off. Conference room and lounge area to left and right of reception. Corridors on each floor look recently decorated with new carpets.

Didn’t request a preference for the room and allocated room 220 second floor on the right hand side of hotel as you look at it. Bonus is we get a family room so it’s a lot bigger than those at the front. We get a long balcony with three chairs and the sun in the morning, Fridge and safe as standard. Décor a little dated but immaculately clean with a tiled floor. Two way opening door onto balcony. Lots of hanging space (and hangers) and drawer space. Dressing table with mirror over and chair. Extra pillows and blankets in wardrobe. More than enough sockets and a flat screen TV. Beds standard European twin which is two singles pushed together. Mattress comfy.

Bathroom. Full size bath with shower over. Wash hand basin with mirror over and integral hair dryer. Electrical charging socket. Loo and bidet. Towels changed daily. Soap, shower gel and shower cap are provided.

Breakfast, self service except for hot drinks (a bit slow with the hot drinks but I believe some new staff and early season so they should improve). Standard European spread of cold cuts, cheese, breads, pastries, fruit (fresh), yoghurts and cereals with hot cooked section to include sausages, bacon, scrambled egg, tomato plus a few others and all nicely cooked. Large conveyor toaster. Push button juice dispenser (concentrated but quite nice), bottled water.

Evening meal. Chosen from a choice of four starters and four mains the night before (except for your first night of course). Large self service buffet then waiter service for next two courses then a served dessert buffet, usually some type of cake, pie, fresh fruit and or ice cream. The food is typically northern Italian in style and I am more than happy to try new foods you rarely (if ever) see on a menu in the UK. As an example my evening meal one night was ravioli with pecorino cheese and pine nuts on a sweet pea sauce with a parmesan and truffle cream. For main I had loin of pork with cannelloni beans (it’s what baked beans are) and tomato with red wine reduction. Another main was scallops wrapped in fine pancetta, fresh mint and julienne of onions. And another night rabbit. Wednesday is a buffet night and Monday a dessert buffet night. We were late back from Venice on both nights and there was little left on the dessert buffet so I suggest you get there early that night. In all we enjoyed the food very much.

Drinks purchased at the dinner table are put out for you the following night if not finished. House wine starts at 15 euros’ per bottle and bottled water (sparkling or still) is 3.50. One night Champagne was on offer at 5 euros a glass and another night a Chianti was offered at 3.50 a glass. Drinks ordered at the dinner table can be added to your room and paid for the night before departure.

There is a swimming pool on the roof but the hotel does not provide pool towels and requests that you do not use your room towels. I like to swim outdoors and always take a lightweight travel towel so was lucky as I used it on the beach also.

Wi-fi. No charge. You need a code for each device you have. Wi-fi available in main reception and on roof top but didn’t work in room.

Hotel is on main Piazza which gets noisy (as do most Piazza’s) on Friday and weekend evenings. Luckily we were on side of building but it was still quite noisy. Double glazing excellent but it was getting warm and air con not switched on until June.

Location good for shops, banks, bars, bus stop etc.

Free bicycle hire (3hrs).

Beach less than 5 minutes walk. (See separate review).

Tourist information approx 1 mile away and they have lots of printed timetables for the buses and ferries to Venice.

Buy a 23.50 euro 12hr ferry/water bus which includes your return bus ticket if you want to go to Venice under your own steam from either the tabacchi shop (opposite the hotel) or the tourist information. You can buy it days in advance. If you buy the cheaper ticket it doesn't get you onto the other islands or let you use the water bus and you only save 4 euros. You cannot buy a bus ticket on the bus but some bus stops have an electronic ticket dispensing machine. You also need to validate the bus ticket once on the bus by either inserting into a punch machine or waving in front of a scanner depending on which ticket you buy. The ferry/water bus ticket will allow you to travel to and from any of the islands, Venice, Murano, Burano, Venice Lido et al and the grand canal. The bus stop to Punta Sabbioni is less than 5 minutes walk from the hotel and is where the ferry to Venice, Murano and Burano leave from. The bus and ferry gets quite busy (we were quite early in the season) so if you can't stand then you may be better going on the organised Thomson trip. Venice and Burano were much nicer to visit than Murano which really is just a lot of shops selling Murano glass ware. It's still worth a visit but we went to Burano before Murano and wished we'd done it the opposite way.

Tourism tax. We went late May and did not pay the tax. I believe the tax starts mid June to mid September (2013 dates). This is payable directly to the hotel and the tariff depends on the type of hotel/dwelling and number of stars etc. I believe in 2013 the Principe was 1 euro per night upto a maximum of 7 nights. It’s not a lot of money and seems now to be collected all over Italy. We paid the tax in April and October last year in Sorrento.

  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
8  Thank georgedoorsscores
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Jesolo hotels
0.7 mi away
Hotel & Residence Il Teatro
2.0 mi away
Almar Jesolo Resort & Spa
0.0 mi away
Eden Hotel
Eden Hotel
#28 of 251 in Jesolo
344 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.3 mi away
Hotel Gardenia
Hotel Gardenia
#1 of 251 in Jesolo
909 reviews
2.6 mi away
Park Hotel Brasilia
Park Hotel Brasilia
#2 of 251 in Jesolo
516 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel Sirenetta
Hotel Sirenetta
#3 of 251 in Jesolo
308 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Principe Palace? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Principe Palace

Address: Piazza Giuseppe Mazzini 37/42, 30016, Jesolo, Italy
Location: Italy > Veneto > Province of Venice > Jesolo
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#5 Romantic Hotel in Jesolo
#7 Luxury Hotel in Jesolo
#13 Family Hotel in Jesolo
Price Range: $146 - $213 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Principe Palace 4*
Number of rooms: 100
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, TripOnline SA and Evoline ltd so you can book your Hotel Principe Palace reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Principe Palace Hotel
Principe Palace Jesolo Lido

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing