We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good but not 4*”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Hotel Principe Palace
Ranked #9 of 251 Hotels in Jesolo
Certificate of Excellence
Havana, Cuba
Level 6 Contributor
177 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 107 helpful votes
“Good but not 4*”
Reviewed October 2, 2012

Situated in prime location – In the centre of Piazza Mazzini and town
Large hotel with historic connection with Jesolo

First Impressions – Lovely welcoming foyer, reception, attentive friendly staff and Swift checking in.
Bar and forecourt area immaculate
Dining- Well run restaurant with good, friendly efficient staff
Plenty of choice for breakfast
You have to book the evening meal either the evening before or at breakfast, Not much choice (4 starters and 3 mains) – you pay extra for wine and bottled water, the food quality is decent.

This is not a 4 star hotel but it is a very good 3 star
It lacks the modern qualities that a 4 star requires, The hotel is an old building of when the venetian riviera would have been the place of 1950’s movie stars and playboys.
The rooms are quite small but comfortable, the bathrooms are tired and dated, we were fortunate to have a prime room (505) right at the top with a balcony over looking the piazza.
Good TV and plenty of choices of international channels, working air conditioning.
Free wifi but poor connection, Only available on some parts of 5th floor and reception/ bar area
Pool and bar area on 5th floor: adequate chilling out area but slightly shabby and dated.
Very clean hotel with very efficient and friendly staff.
Previous guest is correct in saying that this hotel seems to cater better for an aging person (Me 44) but that’s not a real criticism because at least there is decency and manners on show.

Would I stay here again? Probably not but that’s due to probably not returning to the resort .

Would I recommend for others to stay? Yes I would as this hotel is a good hotel.

The resort of Jesolo is a nice friendly resort but visually it needs an upgrade with some traditional thought going into it, although there has been some nice modernising done in some areas the place is full of 1940/50’s square hotels and buildings which makes it dated.
The main street is full of shops, restaurants and bars so theres plenty of choice for entertainment.

Again very good 3* but not 4*

Room Tip: Front rooms on Piazza are the best ones.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank TheRedemptionMilitia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

677 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    463
    158
    35
    12
    9
See reviews for
165
402
4
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (248)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Durham
Level 5 Contributor
80 reviews
52 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 76 helpful votes
Reviewed September 29, 2012

The hotel is well situated in a sqaure with fountains in the middle of the shopping area, bars and restaurants and a few minutes walk away from the hotel's beach area.the bedroms are not masive but very clean, and as sted very god quality bedlinen and towels that are changed daily. The staff are verty friendly in all areas of the hotel, and work with a smile. the food in both the bar and restaurant was very good,.
It is very easy to get into Venice and would reccommend the 23.40 Euro ticket which includes bus and boat into Venice and a day vaporetto ticket. this mens it is easy to get to the other islands such as Merano all on the one ticket. Great value for money!

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank DurhamSpartan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, England, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed September 28, 2012

Just arrived back from Italy 21st Sept 2012, this hotel is everything we had hoped for. From arrival to departure we loved it.

The staff, Antionio the Maitre D', Lorenzo our waiter, Barbara the receptionist, and not forgetting Gigi and Steffi at the pool were excellent, professional and so friendly.

The hotel is very traditional and welcoming, our room was perfect overlooking Piazza Mazinni and the fountains, a lovely large comfortable bed, fridge with complimentary bottle of fizz, good hairdryer and plenty of hanging space. The room, towels and bedding was cleaned and chaned every day.

The restaurant was top drawer, you chose your evening meal of starter and main the previous evening but there was also a buffet every night of salads, local fish, cheese's, breads, cold meats and plenty of desserts to help yourself too. I would suggest elasticated waistbands as the quality and quantity is excellent.

We celebrated our 25th Wedding anniversary whilst there and the staff presented us with a framed picture of the Grand Canal Venice and a choice of wine from the list together with a card signed by the hotel staff, this made our stay even more special.

We travelled with Thomson and Lesley the rep was great, she was very helpful, knew the area well and was always available for assistance or just a chat, she was a delight and very professional.

On one evening it rained and the hotel put a singer (Mario) on in the lounge who had everybody joining in and then the manager had the staff doing a little dance which was very funny and entertaining.

A big thank you to all at the hotel who made our stay so memorable, we will be back!!!

Well done!

Room Tip: Take beach or pool towels as they do not provide them.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Jane B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gloucester, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed September 25, 2012

Fantastic hotel, staffed by very friendly people who go out of their way to make sure you have a wonderful holiday.
The hotel is conveniently situated just a couple of minutes walk from the beach where there are sunbeds/deckchairs and parasols belonging to the hotel , so no charge.
The hotel is also on the main street of the resort with lots of shops and bars close by. This main street is closed off to traffic every night from 8pm until 6pm, so is quite peaceful during the night.
The rooms are lovely and spacious ( fluffy white towels ) , the bed linen is of a high standard ( no knobbly bits on the sheets!! ) and spotlessly clean.
The food is very good with a choice of menu every night , which you choose the night before. The salad bar and dessert bar is buffet style, but its lovely to have your main course served to you by happy, smiley waiters/waitresses. There is also plenty of choice at the buffet breakfast.
The pool on the roof has fantastic views, and although not overlarge is big enough.
This was our second time at the hotel, but many go back year after year.

Room Tip: Ask for a room high up in order to enjoy the views. Also they will be nearer the pool (on the roof...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank June L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
North Wales
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed September 24, 2012

Having read the good reviews about Principe Palace my expectations were high, but this hotel exceeded all af them! Everything about this hotel was perfect from the food to the cleaners who kept our rom spotless and greeted us every morning with 'Bon Journo' and a friendly smile! The location was also excellent. The food at the hotel was the best half board i've ever had, plenty of it and not the usual buffet but a fresh buffet as a starter, and then a three course waiter service meal! It was good local produce and if there is nothing on the menu to suit your taste, the restaurant Mangager will ask his chef to cook something different!! Nothing was too much trouble for any of the restaurant and hotel staff, they focus mainly on keeping holiday makers happy which is not always an easy task! We were also very lucky to have a room overlooking the square and sat on the balcony often just watchin the world go by! I would like to thank Alex the Manager and his staff for a very pleasant stay and we would definately love to come back again one day.
Keep up the good work!

Room Tip: If you like to sit and watch! ask for a room overlooking the square but if you like to hibernate aft...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank racso5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed September 24, 2012

Just returned from the Principe Palace Hotel in Jessolo in Italy - What a wonderful hotel. Staff were happy and attentive and the hotel is very clean and a delight to stay at. Food is also excellent, however the only drawback was that you had to choose the following nights menu the day before. This might suit some people, but I found it hard to choose for the following nights dinner when I had only just had todays. All said, I would have not hesitation returning to this hotel.

Room Tip: Front view on 2nd or 3rd Floor - excellent for people watching.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mandy170564
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
22 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
Reviewed September 16, 2012

After reading the reviews on this site I was really excited to be going to this hotel, but I was sadly disappointed. In my opinion this is not a four star hotel. I have stayed at many four star hotels around the world and this is not one.

The reception area and bar are indeed very nice, traditional and well kept so I have no complaints there. My main complaint was our room, tiny, scruffy, dark and dated, the room had seen better days in the 80s! I went to complain at the reception and asked to be moved but they where full so we had to stay put. Also, this seemed to be a hotel full of elderly and inferim people the average age to the clientele was 70+. Made us seem very young and we are in are 40s and 50s...

One of the things I was looking forward to was the food as I was expecting it to be very good, yet again I was disappointed. The salad buffet was ok but the starters and main course where mediocre at best, arriving cold or luke warm. Desert buffet was ok with plenty fruit but cakes/tarts weren't that good. I'm not a snob but, if your best experience of good food is your local Harvester than you'll think you're being very adventurous eating here!

Only went to pool area once as the water was freezing, I preferred the beach.

Location was good, and we travelled to Venice and the islands several times which was easy and straight forward. You buy a ticket from across the road at the tabacchi for either 19 euros or 23 euros which includes the vaperettos. You can also get there by coach from the bus station for 7.60 euros and a its a lot less packed. We as went to Treviso which is a nice town to visit.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank dusk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Jesolo hotels
2.7 mi away
Park Hotel Brasilia
Park Hotel Brasilia
#4 of 251 in Jesolo
476 reviews
0.7 mi away
Hotel & Residence Il Teatro
2.0 mi away
Almar Jesolo Resort & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.3 mi away
Hotel Gardenia
Hotel Gardenia
#1 of 251 in Jesolo
849 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel Sirenetta
Hotel Sirenetta
#2 of 251 in Jesolo
270 reviews
0.0 mi away
Eden Hotel
Eden Hotel
#25 of 251 in Jesolo
323 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Principe Palace? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Principe Palace

Property: Hotel Principe Palace
Address: Piazza Giuseppe Mazzini 37/42, 30016, Jesolo, Italy
Location: Italy > Veneto > Province of Venice > Jesolo
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#5 Romantic Hotel in Jesolo
#5 Luxury Hotel in Jesolo
#10 Best Value Hotel in Jesolo
#13 Family Hotel in Jesolo
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Principe Palace 4*
Number of rooms: 100
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Agoda, Hotels.com, Travelocity, TripOnline SA and Evoline ltd so you can book your Hotel Principe Palace reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Principe Palace Hotel
Principe Palace Jesolo Lido

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing