We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Poor breakfast, dirty dishes, beach cabin closed, room too small for extra bed”
Review of Hotel Marco Polo

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Hotel Marco Polo
Ranked #95 of 251 Hotels in Jesolo
Certificate of Excellence
munich
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Poor breakfast, dirty dishes, beach cabin closed, room too small for extra bed”
Reviewed July 29, 2009

4 Euro extra for eggs at breakfast. Dishes were washed on one side only (chocolate on the back) . Insulting management posters with instructions for guests all over the place (elevator, stairs, entrance, hall). Room OK but way too small for extra bed (mandatory for child). Beach cabin closed even after complaints.

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank vascoMunich
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

127 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    44
    55
    17
    6
    5
See reviews for
33
56
3
7
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (4)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Beverley, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
158 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 138 helpful votes
Reviewed July 1, 2009

I am writing this from my room at the Marco Polo, which as people have said is a little smaller than average and I would agree.
I booked the hotel after using a search engine and contacting the hotel direct by e mail. I am traveling on my own and paid €55 per night for 4 nights bed and breakfast which I was happy with as the hotel has everything you need. Breakfast is the usual continental type bread, ham cheese, jam etc as well as fresh melon and pear & yogurt. Previous complaints are not justified ( if you want a full english go to Benidorm...this is Italy) as I thought it all adequate.
The restaurant next door is good and quite good value €12 for a pizza and a couple of beers.
Beach clean and tidy and sunbeds free of charge as is cycle hire from the hotel. Air con in my room not noisy but did get bitten by buzzy things on the balcony so take some insect repellant.
The town is what you make of it and felt safe. From what I gather people use it as a base to visit other places such as Venice and Trieste and the lakes.
The hotel is worthy of 3 stars, and most of the negatives I have read on this site are possibly not all true.. this is not a Marriott after all and you get what you pay for.

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank mikemoulds
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed October 20, 2008

We were in the hotel for 6 nights in October. Found the staff to be extremely friendly and helpful. The room was small and very compact - had everything you needed, free fridge and safe which was nice. TV - could only get SKY or CNN. Bathroom very clean and tidy with hairdryer. Room serviced everyday. Continental breakfast was pleasant. Out of season (which we were) - no other meals or drinks served restaurant closed.

Hotel was on one of the main roads easy to find - we travelled from Rome by train to Venice (nightmare with heavy suitcases up all the stairs to the bus station), by two buses to Lido di Jesolo. Cost of Train €118 for two one way, cost of bus less than €13 for two to get to hotel.

Out of season Lido di Jesolo is just plain boring - even for a middle aged couple like us! Nothing to do but go out to eat - restaurants were great. One advantage was able to travel to Venice on a canal boat at €34 or so each and back, which was great. Other excursions say to Florence not on out of season. Beach was deserted.

I took ill with a viral tummy and the pharmacies are closed the length and breadth (we walked it) of the place from Friday to Tuesday - a nightmare. The Hotel owner was very kind fetching medicine from her home.

Hotel provided transfer back to Marco Polo airport for €50 so that was great.

Overall, the hotel was ok, does not have a pool though and I thought that considering there were quite a lot of people visiting the place, there could have been a bit more of a vibe. Won't go back, not the hotel's fault though - the place.

  • Liked — cleanliness and the little balcony
  • Disliked — no swimming pool
  • Stayed October 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank CAROCAET
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
England
Level 5 Contributor
48 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
Reviewed September 11, 2008

The hotel rooms are as many have mentioned - small (literally you can just about walk around the bed) but clean and plenty of cupboard/drawer space and a small balcony that you can just about fit 2 chairs on. There's a safe and a small fridge in the rooms as well.

The air con is a bit noisy when you are trying to sleep at night so may have to be adjusted (despite their requests for you not to touch it!).

The towels were changed daily and the beds were made also.

Breakfast wasn't great - the cereal was bland and tasteless as was the bread and I couldn't get used to eating cakes and sweet pastries! Contrary to what some have said, we found the ladies serving tea/coffee to be very pleasant and polite. Their English is not brilliant, but then neither is my Italian! Nice if you can learn a few basic phrases - I think they appreciate that.

Be careful on reception - the lady will try to charge you 1.5 Euros PER TRAVELLER'S CHEQUE instead of per transaction. The guy kindly rectified this error and also did not charge commission on our future transactions. They do not hold a great deal of cash as it seems a lot of their guests are from countries already using the Euro.

As for the resort itself, it's lively and plenty of bars, shops and things to do. It's also a very clean resort and we often spotted the refuse collectors also sweeping leaves and twigs off the pavements!

After a while you can get sick of the sight of pizza/pasta and ice cream shops however!

The best ice-cream we found was in the shop opposite the Marco Polo. Some of the other places were dishing out watery/tasteless stuff.

The restaurant next to Marco Polo was good with excellent service and reasonable prices (Vesuvio?).

It's a bit cheaper to book your trip to Venice through the hotel rather than your travel agent. You get the bus from the Hotel Touring (5-10 mins down the road to the left), which takes 15-20 mins to where you get the boat which is then a further 50 mins (approx).

It's well worth the trip to Venice, although be prepared to barter if you want to go on a gondola as the prices are sky high!

Probably wouldn't go again, but only because it's nice to visit somewhere different each year. Also, I think a week here is plenty as it starts to become 'same old'.

  • Liked — Convenient location
  • Disliked — Very small rooms
  • Stayed August 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank Shakira78
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sheffield, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed August 8, 2008

Hotel very clean , rooms quite small but quite adequate for two people. Reception staff very ignorant and arrogant in manner. Rooms cleaned every day but not always as we would have liked, only had sheets changed once in the two weeks we were there. Breakfast was quite basic but adequate,staff here were really friendly even though they didn't speak very good english. Beach only two or three minutes away. really lovely and knowing you can always get a lounger as all hotels have allocated space on the beach, go careful at height of the day as sand gets really hot. Resort really clean and is pedestianised in the evening so you can walk about at your leisure but dodge the bikes ! Recommend the BLACK CAT PUB about 45 minutes walk away but you can get the train to it, really friendly staff and english beer ! quiz night a good night on thursdays but get there early to get a seat. VESUVIO RESTAURANT just to the right of the hotel is a good one to try as is TEMPINI ,a little more expensive though. wouldn't really recommend the fish restaurant that ajoins the hotel as it is really expensive and the staff are a little abrupt at times.

  • Liked — location.
  • Disliked — reception staff/ hotellier.
  • Stayed July 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank katiejayne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
North of England
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed July 26, 2008

The hotel is in a convenient location, quite close to the beach (where it has its own section - sunbeds and parasols are free on this area. Plenty of good priced restaurants in the vacinity. The rooms are very small and quite depressingly dark - no where to sit apart from on the bed - tiny balcony, air conditioning is advertised but not switched on until end of June unless you want to pay 35 euros. This is not helpful when it is very hot mid june!!

Bathroom small but adequate. No public seating area or lounge in the hotel. Breakfast was basic but ok. Staff serving at breakfast were particularly unfriendly and could at times make you feel uncomfortable, however the reception staff could not have been faulted and were helpful and pleasant .

This area suffers from plagues of mosquitoes so if there is no air conditining on when its stifling hot in mid-June and you have to open the windows at night, you can imagine the consequences. Also the hotel is situated with bars all around it and its tough if you want an early night as the music can be pretty loud. We did not spend much time in the hotel, just used it as a base to sleep, would not there stay again and did not consider it worthy of its official 3 stars.

  • Liked — Convenient Location
  • Disliked — No Air Conditioning on when it had been advertised
  • Stayed June 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 50sbumblebee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
south yorkshire, england
Level 3 Contributor
22 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed June 8, 2008

Just got back from 2 weeks in Lido di Jesolo (or Iesolo) staying at the Marco Polo Hotel.

Really enjoyed our time there, overall very good. We booked the hotel via a major UK travel agent website, using their "small and friendly" brochure. To be honest, it describes the hotel perfectly !

Rooms are cleaned every day, and yes whilst room and bathroom are small both were very clean.

The hotel is right on the main tourist stretch in Lido, so there is a bit of noise but it never affected our sleep. The main road is pedestrianised in the evening so it is easy and safe (-ish) to walk up and down - watch out for the bicycles and the uneven pavements !

Lido di Jesolo is basically one long strip ... about 15km I think ... with lots and lots of bars, cafes, restaurants and shops.

Most restaurants are Italian (of course) but there is a Chinese not far from the hotel (which was ok) and there is an Indian one too but we didn't try that.

Some restaurants of particular note ... Perla Nera (good contemporary Italian food) and Laguna. Both are about 30mins walk from the hotel (turn left and keep walking, they are on the right side of the road). The two restaurants are within a few yards from each other.

The Laguna restaurant was exceptional ! First class food, drink and atmosphere. Not the cheapest, but if you want top notch food head there.

There are LOADS of bars to try and there aren't enough hours in the day or days in the holiday to try them all. Some we liked ... Al Morso (just 10 yards up from the hotel, on the same side); RistoLounge (modern bar, 5 mins walk same side as hotel turning left out of the hotel); Bar Stella D'Oro (quite a way down the strip on the right hand side, but nice atmosphere and very friendly staff).

Trips to Venice, Verona and Lake Garda are all do-able and worthwhile ... strongly recommended. All very busy and hot (and likely to get much hotter). Sirmione (think that was how it was spelled) on Lake Garda was picture-perfect.

Venice was something else ! Piazza San Marco and all the other attractions are exactly as you'd imagine them.

Mosquitos only real problem ... there's a lot of them.

From the wife ... don't take your hairdrier to this hotel ... it will knock the electric out and won't work. You have to use the one in the bathroom. Other stuff (straighteners etc.) do work.

Walk to the beach is 2/3 minutes from the back of the hotel and all the hotels have their own patch so we always got a bed.

Would we go again ? ... yes, but maybe not for 2 weeks.

  • Liked — location
  • Disliked — lack of air conditioning before main season (mid June) and small shower
  • Stayed May 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank s_y_travellers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Jesolo hotels
0.0 mi away
Hotel Regina
Hotel Regina
#70 of 251 in Jesolo
122 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Villa Serena
Hotel Villa Serena
#134 of 251 in Jesolo
61 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hesperia Hotel & Residence
Hesperia Hotel & Residence
#131 of 251 in Jesolo
23 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Hotel Brioni Mare
Hotel Brioni Mare
#35 of 251 in Jesolo
233 reviews
0.7 mi away
Hotel Toledo
Hotel Toledo
#20 of 251 in Jesolo
249 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Madera
Hotel Madera
#164 of 251 in Jesolo
108 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Marco Polo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Marco Polo

Property: Hotel Marco Polo
Address: Via Bafile 113, 30017, Jesolo, Italy
Location: Italy > Veneto > Province of Venice > Jesolo
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Parking Restaurant Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#84 On the Beach Hotel in Jesolo
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Marco Polo 3*
Number of rooms: 33
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Priceline, Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotwire and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Hotel Marco Polo reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Marco Polo Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing