We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Highlight stay of our trip”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Terni
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Poggio della Volara
Ranked #20 of 28 Specialty Lodging in Terni
Reviewed July 1, 2014

Marco and Gaia and their dog Vella were great hosts in this beautiful farm setting. Meals were outstanding. Views of Umbria and beyond and a fantastic pool. Room was good size. Bathroom also large and shower okay, got a bit sketchy between hot and cold on the second morning. Good breakfast.

  • Stayed: June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank lightening996327
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (15)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

7 - 13 of 15 reviews

Reviewed May 2, 2014

After a day filled with unfortunate events, we rolled into Poggio della Volara and entered..."paradiso"! A most welcoming and hospitable couple, Marco and Gaiva, sheltered us from the rain and fed us a scrumptious feast with just an hour's notice, though we were their only guests. Our room was beautifully equipped and artfully decorated, a reflection of Gaiva's aesthetic. Dinner---penne arribiata and braised cinghiale (wild boar), fava beans with fennel & bacon, and a shot of lemoncello for dessert---heaven! The more-than-ample breakfast featured an omelette that could have floated off the plate were it not secured with its crispy base of seared zucchini and onion. Though it was not easy to find, it was worth the search. We will return this year--for sure--though last year's Michelin rating has (sadly and inexplicably) disappeared. It is located on a lovely hillside well outside Montecchio.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank CAcoastTravelbug
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 14, 2013

I was a single woman, traveling with a tour. When we arrived, it felt like home. I had caught a cold and stayed behind while the rest went to Orvieto--while I was lying in a hammock in the sun trying to get well, Mama came out of the kitchen with homemade chicken soup just for me! The rooms are just what you'd have in a private residence, no frills but no fault. The hosts are the BEST---Marco and Gaiva know how to have fun and include all of us too.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Jan T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 12, 2013

When you dream of a weekend getaway in an Italian villa, you are thinking of Volara. The grounds, accommodations, food, pool, and hospitality are reminiscent of every Hollywood depiction of a villa in the Italian countryside. From the cyprus trees, homemade wine and olive oil, breathtaking views of the valley and nearby Medeival cities, rose buds on each place setting, to the owners' charming accents - this place is perfect for a relaxing Italian experience. Our group stayed pretty close to the pool and extended lawn during the day, but there are several quaint and quiet old towns within 5km from the villa and quiet roads through the vineyards for a jog if you get cabin fever. Though the breakfasts were nothing special, the dinners were exquisite. This place would be a peaceful lunch spot, but you'd probably leave planning your next weekend stay here!

Room Tip: The apartment rooms upstairs have perfect sunset views but the downstairs rooms have a nice patio.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Violet_Pel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 1, 2009

Overlooking Montecchio, Orvieto and the Umbrian hills, Poggio della Volara is an agriturismo in a location that takes your breath away! My wife and I had visited Marco last year and actually had dinner there several years ago and never forgot the amazing vista and sunset - let alone Mama's great cooking! We stayed for a week enjoying the great pool, beautiful scenery in the midst of his vineyards, olive groves and sunflower fields...), comfortable room (with a/c!) and location that is central for many great day trips to Umbria and Tuscany towns... Ask Marco to tell you about the history of his place - amazing what one man with a dream can create!

Dinners are available (not every night) and the speciality of the house was the best cinghali (wild boar) we've ever had in Umbria -"caught" fresh from his fields! He also serves his wine and everything is cooked in his olive oil - the best in the region

If you are looking for a perfect location to get away from the noise and congestion of the cities, you really can't find a more perfect "slice of heaven" than Poggio della Volara.

  • Stayed: August 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank LuisinItalia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 2, 2012
Google Translation

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Frank V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 31, 2012
Google Translation

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank arthuro17
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Terni hotels
23.6 mi away
Oasi la Cascata
Oasi la Cascata
#2 of 2 in Marmore
7 reviews
26.7 mi away
Hotel Miralago
Hotel Miralago
#1 of 2 in Piediluco
333 reviews
19.4 mi away
Classic Hotel Tulipano
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
16.4 mi away
Molino del Duca Cesi
20.6 mi away
Hotel de Paris
Hotel de Paris
#6 of 10 in Terni
240 reviews
20.6 mi away
Hotel Michelangelo Palace
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Poggio della Volara? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Poggio della Volara

Address: Via Volara 1 | Montecchio, 05020, Terni, Italy
Location: Italy > Umbria > Province of Terni > Terni
Hotel Style:
Ranked #20 of 28 Specialty Lodging in Terni
Price Range: $98 - $184 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 11
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Poggio della Volara is a beautiful oasis in the heart of Umbria 15km from the medieval cities of Orvieto and Todi and surrounded by Orvieto classico vineyards and olive groves. There are single/double rooms with breakfast included or self sufficient apartments available. You can enjoy picking olives with the owner, participating in cooking classes with owner's mother, or just relaxing by the pool and enjoying the magnificent views. Whatever your pleasure you are sure to find it at Poggio della Volara. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Poggio Della Volara Terni, Italy - Umbria

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing