We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good location”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Agriturismo Sant'Illuminato
Reviewed September 13, 2013

Friendly and likeable owner, who , with his staff is very attentive. We stayed in a two bed appt and were not disappointed. The breakfast was excellent and set us up for a good start to the day sight seeing. We went to Florence on the train, Siena, Montepulciano, Lake Trasimeno, and various other small , but lovely towns, all on hill tops.An extremely well maintained and run holiday appt.

Room Tip: All rooms seem good. Either facing morning sun or others facing evening sun
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Paul S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (58)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

11 - 17 of 58 reviews

Reviewed May 8, 2013

Very friendly owner, he makes you feel right at home from the moment you arrive! The apartments are roomy, and each have their own large fireplace. The view from the garden is amazing and the environment is quiet and surrounded by nature.

Sant'Illuminato also has a private airfield, so if you happen to have a private aircraft, you can land right at your destination. If not, you can meet pilots who holiday with their airplane!

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank verticaldive
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 20, 2012

Wonderful holiday home, a very friendly welcome and beautiful surroundings.

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank P F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 19, 2011

The 'agriturosmo sant'illuminato, citta di castello, italy' is a delightful destination to explore the Umbria area. The hospitality was welcoming, breakfast was served in our room.
The view was breath taking beautiful from the agriturosmo sant'illuminato and on our day trip
to the countryside. The rooms were comfy, clean and quiet. We enjoyed fireplace in our room, very romantic.

  • Stayed: October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jimnpatty
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 8, 2011

Sant'Illuminato is surrounded by tobacco plantations, something I had never seen in Italy. The whole region of Umbria is wonderful, some kind of unspoiled Tuscany, a bit more rural and poorer, compared to some fancy locations in the Tuscan country side. The place is very nice, we were in a big apartment on the ground floor of the main house. It fits 6 people. The bed was comfortable, pity for the kids screaming in the morning, I guess this is very much a family place. Carlo was really nice to us and even if we woke up very late he kept some food and hot beverages for breakfast. Overall I would recommend this place, we stayed just for one night but I guess it would be nice spend some more time there, it's surrounded by nature and it is peaceful. It was also failry cheap.

Room Tip: I was told the apartment on the first floor (not ground level) was very nice, especially for couples...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Gabriele G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 31, 2011

Very nice big apartments, especially the Tulipani. Friendly service.

  • Stayed: July 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank wgoettsch
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 27, 2006

We recently stayed for 6 days at the Sant 'Illuminato Agriturismo. It is located between Citta di Costello and Umbertide on 300 hectares of land in the Upper Tiber Valley. We had a 2 bedroom apartment with fireplace and kitchen. The property has four two bedroom apartments and one 1 bedroom apartment. It also has a swimming pool, two large ponds and landing strip for small airplanes. Remodeled into apartments from an old farmhouse, it is charming and warm and well outfitted. Our host Maco Silenzo, could not have been more charming or helpful. He supplied us with directions, information, a tour of his property and the best dinner we had in Italy. From this location we drove easily to the Umbrian towns of Perugia, Deruta, Orvieto, Assisi, Gubbio, and Todi, as well as the Tuscan towns of Cortona, Sienna and Montelcino. Marco can also arrange tours of olive oil, truffle and tobacco farms. This is a peaceful and welcome relief from the noise and bussle of hotel rooms.

4  Thank barbwan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Citta di Castello hotels
8.4 mi away
Garden Hotel
Garden Hotel
#1 of 10 in Citta di Castello
539 reviews
12.3 mi away
Country House Santa Felicita Paterna
Country House Santa Felicita Pat...
#2 of 10 in Citta di Castello
149 reviews
9.6 mi away
B&B Biribino
B&B Biribino
#7 of 10 in Citta di Castello
246 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.5 mi away
Residenza Antica Canonica
Residenza Antica Canonica
#5 of 10 in Citta di Castello
154 reviews
3.4 mi away
Agriturismo Il Cucciolo
Agriturismo Il Cucciolo
#1 of 27 in Citta di Castello
87 reviews
10.8 mi away
Agriturismo Villa Veronica
Agriturismo Villa Veronica
#3 of 27 in Citta di Castello
44 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Agriturismo Sant'Illuminato? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Agriturismo Sant'Illuminato

Address: | Vocabolo Spaglioni Frazione Bonsciano, 06012, Citta di Castello, Italy
Location: Italy > Umbria > Province of Perugia > Citta di Castello
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 27 Specialty Lodging in Citta di Castello
Price Range: $73 - $148 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Agriturismo Sant'Illuminato 4*
Number of rooms: 11
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Sant’Illuminato is a fully restored farmhouse of the late 1600s on a hill in the north of Umbria, near Città di Castello, Assisi, Perugia and the Tuscan Cortona, Arezzo and Sansepolcro. Our guests can choose between five independent apartments tastefully furnished with fireplace, bedrooms with double and twin beds, kitchenette, independent heating, satellite tv and a terrace or a garden. They can rent an apartment or choose BB; meals upon request or in a very near restaurant. There are a swimming pool with hydro-massage and a panoramic view on the valley below, playing area for children, a small lake for fishing, woods for peaceful hikes, a private airfield for small planes - touristic flights on request. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Orbitz, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Hotwire and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Agriturismo Sant'Illuminato reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing