We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“SMALL BOUTIQUE HOTEL DELIVERS BIG TIME SERVICE” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Villa Bordoni

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Villa Bordoni
Ranked #1 of 19 Hotels in Greve in Chianti
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Glen Burnie, Maryland
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
“SMALL BOUTIQUE HOTEL DELIVERS BIG TIME SERVICE”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 18, 2014

As a small business owner it is refreshing to see other small businesses that embrace work place culture and strive to provide excellent customer service. After all, how can small businesses distinguish themselves when competing against some of the large power houses of your industry unless they can excel at providing an excellent customer experience. My wife and I traveled to Villa Bordoni with 2 other couples and spent 4 nights with them. Our only regret and the one thing that I we are upset about is that we could not stay longer. The hotel is an old Tuscan villa that has been transformed into a very comfortable and warm boutique hotel. The outside gardens and grounds are well maintained and beautiful in the morning while eating breakfast on the outside terrace. We ate dinner two evenings at the hotel and the food and service was excellent. We felt that everyone at Villa Bordoni was genuinely concerned with making sure that our needs and expectations were met. Every once in a while you have the priviledge of staying at a hotel where you make a connection with the staff and when you leave you feel that you are saying goodbye to new friends. We wish David, Catherine and their staff the best and can't wait until we can go back and stay with them again in the near future.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Mark T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

505 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    446
    39
    15
    3
    2
See reviews for
107
333
6
3
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (92)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
2,451 reviews
367 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2,274 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 18, 2014

I love this abode,a converted 16th century country house,once a rundown estate,now transformed into a guesthouse that lends a touch of elegance and extravagance to the rustic Tuscan style.

The colours of each room take up the hues of the original Vietri tiles in the bathroom,rustic objects such as iron baskets or the doors of chicken coops morph into lampshades or wall ornaments and curtains dyed by hand,frame the windows.....in order to enjoy the wonderful views.

With that in mind,book a room on the first floor. Its absolute magic with restorative ability. The restaurant is a gem,its walls adorned with a harlequin pattern of Italian vine leaves and Scottish Thistles. Why Scottish?... the owners exchanged the highlands for the Tuscan hills and have fielded two restaurants in Florence,which is why this nosh eatery is a must-attend.

Its only 30 km from Florence,with a status as heavenly. We relaxed to the max by the pool which is therapeutic and beautifully and serenely decorated.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Eli B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charlotte, United States
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 13, 2014

My husband and I stayed here for one night in June. We thoroughly enjoyed everything about this villa. The location, dining, vistas, accommodations, staff .. all superb. Looking forward to returning. Wish we had stayed longer. If I ever run away from home this is where my family will find me.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Helene M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hong Kong
Level Contributor
32 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 23, 2014

We were looking for "something different" to end our two week holiday visiting different parts of Italy in July of 2013. And we found it!! We nearly didn't visit Villa Bordoni, having already pre - booked another Villa close by, but having read an article in "Delicious" the UK food magazine, that all changed.
The article described how the Scottish owners Catherine and David Gardner had taken on a ramshackle villa and turned it into a beautifully restored country house hotel. Both tourist and locals alike frequent the Villa to enjoy the traditional Tuscan food that is prepared with passion and care, using herbs and vegetables grown in the walled garden. The staff are passionate and extremely helpful in every way. Both Catherine and David are "hands on" with the day to day running of what feels like their home, not just their business.
The rooms are restored and decorated with attention to historic detail, but still managing to include every modern convenience. The food is superb, and the wine ....... what can you say!
Italy at its best.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank RJSaHongKong
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bogota, Colombia
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 18, 2014

This hotel was the best place we could find in Toscana. Right from the start, the hotel showed its great service. We arrived very late because my wife felt sick during the road trip to Greve in Chianti. Even though it was 3 AM they tried to get a doctor to help my wife, In the end they even made her special dishes until she felt better and started drinking wine and eating boar! the place is beautiful and the food and wines amazing. I can't think of a better place in Toscana.

Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank jpfj
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Madrid, Spain
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 7, 2014

This hotel was simply a different experience. The ambiance, the landscape, the decoration, the smells, the lighting, the food... everything was amazing and delicious. Our bedroom was really nice, a big room, very cozy and well decorated. The restaurant is simply one of the best we went to in Tuscany, the service was great as well, really professionals and warm at the same time. The Hotel was full but they had everything under control. If you are looking for an unique experience and whilling to drive to get there Bordoni is the place to go.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Mimi C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, England, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 6, 2014 via mobile

I kept meaning to write the review and had not got around to it. Wonderful setting in the Tuscan hills, with a rustic villa that has been renovated to make comfortable but still retaining the feel of it's surroundings and in keeping with its past.

The service is impeccable, with charming and attentive hosts with a keen eye for detail and pride in their hotel. The food is exceptional , with friendly and attentive staff, who are very engaging and can talk through the menu with expertise.

And all very relaxed, so easy to stay in Bordoni and let the days tick by.

Stayed May 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank GlenFa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Greve in Chianti
1.6 mi away
Castello Vicchiomaggio
Castello Vicchiomaggio
#3 of 19 in Greve in Chianti
4.5 of 5 bubbles 412 reviews
6.0 mi away
Hotel Villa Campomaggio Resort & Spa
Hotel Villa Campomaggio Resort &...
#1 of 15 in Radda in Chianti
4.5 of 5 bubbles 498 reviews
11.0 mi away
Castello di Spaltenna Exclusive Tuscan Resort & Spa
Castello di Spaltenna Exclusive ...
#1 of 8 in Gaiole in Chianti
5.0 of 5 bubbles 618 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.8 mi away
Villa Le Barone
Villa Le Barone
#1 of 5 in Panzano in Chianti
5.0 of 5 bubbles 448 reviews
8.1 mi away
Palazzo Leopoldo Dimora Storica & Spa
Palazzo Leopoldo Dimora Storica ...
#2 of 15 in Radda in Chianti
4.5 of 5 bubbles 505 reviews
14.0 mi away
Borgo Scopeto Relais
Borgo Scopeto Relais
#1 of 1 in Vagliagli
4.5 of 5 bubbles 331 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Villa Bordoni? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Villa Bordoni

Property: Villa Bordoni
Address: Via San Cresci 31 - 32, 50022, Greve in Chianti, Italy
Phone Number:
Location: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Florence > Greve in Chianti
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Green Hotel in Greve in Chianti
#1 Romantic Hotel in Greve in Chianti
#3 Family Hotel in Greve in Chianti
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Villa Bordoni 4*
Number of rooms: 11
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Villa Bordoni, a sophisticated country house hotel, nestles in the grey-green hills immediately above the town of Greve, in the heart of the Chianti Classico region of Tuscany. This 16th-century noble villa commands an extraordinary vantage point over the unspoiled Chianti hills and their biblical landscape of vineyards, terraced olive groves and forest... ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TravelClick, Booking.com, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your Villa Bordoni reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Villa Bordoni Hotel Greve In Chianti
Bordoni Hotel Greve In Chianti
Villa Bordoni Greve In Chianti, Italy - Tuscany

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing