We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (678)
Filter reviews
678 results
Traveler rating
605
46
22
3
2
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
605
46
22
3
2
Show reviews that mention
All reviews cooking class outdoor gym our honeymoon family suite cooking school boutique hotel dirt road three nights garden room tuscan countryside wine list italy trip tiramisu pasta every morning very special place cooking course
Filter
Updating list...
439 - 444 of 678 reviews
Reviewed December 9, 2012

Perhaps we were spoiled by other places, and better service. We prefer Southern Tuscany to Chianti and actually tried to shorten extend our time in Montalcino and shorten our stay at Villa Bordoni by one night, but the Bordoni staff were not accommodating. Check in lacked any warmth - the service upon arrival was miserable. It was as if the staff member was doing us a favor by checking us in. We arrived around 6 pm so were probably given the runt of the rooms. Our room was dated and lacked charm. Breakfast was solid. The location is a bit tricky to get to, but the access road is not especially scenicn and we didn't find the hotel or gardens very special at all. We had a different staff member check us out and she was pleasant and helpful so it's hit or miss...

Date of stay: April 2012
Trip type: Traveled as a couple
3  Thank scrutinizing
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bespoke216, Direttore generale at Villa Bordoni, responded to this reviewResponded December 15, 2012

Dear Scrutinizing,

Thank you for taking the time to review Villa Bordoni and, more generally, the Chianti area (central Tuscany) on Tripadvisor - we welcome this opportunity to address your comments in detail.
I can't answer for Mother Nature concerning the beauty of the landscape and scenery that have made the Chianti Classico so renowned throughout the world - this is simply where we happen - and chose - to be located, much to the delight of most of our guests.
Moving on to your comments on the hotel, your next grunt seems to be with the "check-in service" - it is of course possible that this was not conducted in an ideal manner, and if this was the case I apologize. But your comment on the staff's attitude as completely disinterested and rude seems highly unlikely; might you have made a mistake, or perhaps you came through as aggressive or abusive towards the staff?
You move on to mention your time of arrival and the room allocated to you. Our guests arrive whenever it suits them - we are a hotel, after all, and 6 p.m. is frankly the norm for many of them. You were allocated the room category that you chose at the time of booking; if you were dissatisfied with it for whatever reason, you might have mentioned this to the aforementioned staff.
We are thrilled that our breakfast was to your liking (if I’m right in interpreting the word ‘solid’ as a compliment) particularly since it seems to be the one thing that greatly appealed to you during your stay in this beautiful region.
I am also glad to read that you approve of our female receptionist's check-out service - but yet again, you failed to take this opportunity to mention your dissatisfaction with the hotel - which brings me to my final point: why go through your stay unhappy and not ever mention any of it to us? We can do nothing about our location on a Chianti hilltop in central Tuscany, but we might have offered you a different room, identified the problem with the staff member who welcomed you, etc. All things which we are certainly unable to do at a distance of 8 months or more.
All this being said, perhaps you ought to reexamine your own conscience since, in my opinion, the real reason for your discontent with our hotel lies in the first lines of your complaint. Here, you mentioned that you wished to make a last-minute cancelation by cutting short your stay at Villa Bordoni, so as to be able to spend more time in the more isolated part of southern Tuscany - which you personally prefer. Your request was met with the reply (by the charming female receptionist?) that you would have been in breach of our cancellation policy, and would have had to pay for the room for that missing night’s stay. We are a small, destination, country house hotel with only 11 bedrooms, and we reluctantly have to turn away many clients, as we are too small to satisfy every request which we receive. A last-minute cancellation represents a pure loss to us, and as we are not insurers, we ask that our worldly guests respect our cancellation policy - and with your case in particular, I do not see why we should have been made to pay for your seemingly self-inflicted choice of travel destination.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 7, 2012

We spent a week with friends at Villa Bordoni and it was fabulous. From breakfast in the morning to dinner at the restaurant at night-we thoroughly enjoyed ourselves it and we are planning to go back soon.

The owners are on site and extremely solicitous and Hugo runs the dining room and is the absolute best! Funny, thoughtful, and gracious.

We had another couple with us on this trip and they enjoyed it just as much as we did. Don't let the remoteness be a deterrent-it's wonderfully quiet and a great haven after wine tasting and hill towns.

Date of stay: November 2012
  • Trip type: Traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank DebGio
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 23, 2012

We travelled to Rome, Amalfi, Tuscany and Venice. Villa Bordoni was, by far, our favorite place. The restaurant and staff were outstanding. The room appointments were superb. The hand-painted walls and beautiful hardware and tile in each bathrooms were stunning and wonderfully original. Every detail is accounted for and every guest is treated as if he/she were the only one. Wine tastings and trips to Florence were arranged for us. But, hanging at the hotel for dinner, the cooking school or enjoying the beautiful private terrace outside of our room were our favorite activities. What a wonderful place to relax, soak in the country and drink/eat to one's content.

Room tip: Having the garden room with the private terrace allowed us to relax outside and invite fellow travellers to drink and gnosh together in privacy. A wonderful treat!!!!
Date of stay: September 2012
  • Trip type: Traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Dawna Y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 11, 2012

Traveling south on the SS #222 through the town of Greve be sure to look for a small sign leading to a small lane which quickly climbs and windsthrough vineyards and olive groves, past a large villa gate, and a country church, San Cresci. Along the way there are glimpses of the tiny village of Montefioralle which sits on a nearby knob.(and well worth a visit).
Sheltered against the hillside Bordoni is surrounded by elegant palm trees and a tranquil scented garden. The emphasis here is on comfort. Recently restored the dining room, bar and terraces are purposely designed to convey a feeling of visiting a friend's house in the country.
Only 14 rooms, plus a notable restaurant Bordoni has been thoughtfully renovated with subtle sophistication and elegance;l but the secret here is the owner, David Gardner, who is the ultimate host for this style of country hotel. ensuring a high level of service, as well as a friendly professional 'vibe'. He is a 'foodie' and the owner of two notable restaurants in Florence, so the kitchen here is excellent without being pretentious, and the chef offers cooking lessons too.
Our room is at the top of the villa and is large with exposed beams, cool tile floors, and elegant linens. The bath is a dream. The pool terraces with gorgeous Chianti views is a restful place to spend a restful afternoon. Bordoni is well located for exploring the villages and wine estates of northern Chianti.

Date of stay: September 2012
  • Trip type: Traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lee R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 5, 2012

I found the Villa Bordoni on line and was very impressed. We enjoyed a great night in this redone, charming villa. The room was incredible, beautifully done. The outside and inside dining areas were charming and quaint. The staff as mentioned is amazing. We also visited the owner's restaurant in Florence called Baldevino, and that was great too. Hoping to return soon, one night was not enough. Make sure you jump in their inviting pool! Awesome. And, Im picky!!!

Date of stay: July 2012
  • Trip type: Traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank paris200
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews