We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Did we stay at the same place?”
Review of Le Cetinelle

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Le Cetinelle
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Reviewed October 14, 2011

Just got back from a month at LeCetinelle in Greve and read with astonishment the 2 negative reviews and Simonetta's gracious response -- she gave an apartment to them for a B&B price.
Clearly this couple has not traveled extensively, especially in the hottest summer in many, many years. Electricity is mandated in Italy to a certain number of kilowat hours (we had just been in Venice and had to remember which appliance could go on with another). And if they expected an big American or English breakfast, good luck! That is simply not the Italian way -- simply a roll and coffee, half milk. Agritourismo is farm and vineyard-- grape and olive harvest, working farms as we know them in the states. No further education -- made my point. Simonetta and Luca went out of their way to help us (we lived in a lovely apartment) to have a BBQ with our friends from nearby Colognole. We could not find #4 filters and she gave us as many as we needed. The terrain is rough but what a 14th C. marvel is at the top of the hill, with the pool and grounds carefully sculpted to take in thedramatic panorama views. And there are lovely private gazebos, collections of tables and and comfortable chairs, affording as much privacy outside as one could wish. We are renting the apartment again in May, depending on how long we stay near Greve. We believe travel opens oneself up to new experiences, culture and if one is very lucky, to 2 very special hosts, Simonetta and Luca. Pat Outland, Richmond, VA USA

Room Tip: The windows have screens on them, a rarity in Tuscany on them but close them during the day to keep...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank patoutland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (184)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

60 - 66 of 184 reviews

Reviewed October 7, 2011

This is a fantastic place! Simonetta and Luca are fantastic hosts. The house is absolutely wonderful. The drive to the how was an adventure! We had a tiny car and were on gravel for a couple miles but it is totally drivable. This is a great place to come and relax. It's so quiet and beautiful. The house is on several acres of land with grape and olive fields as well as a pool and several outdoor seating places. We had dinner outside one night and were met with the owner's dog and cat. :) Great place that I would highly recommend for couples, families or friends.

  • Stayed: September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank edinovo3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 3, 2011

A beautiful location, a true "get away from it all" paradise...........yes, it is 4 km up a dirt track, but it was worth it for the views and tranquility..............

Simonetta was very helpful in supplying details for the local bus services to Florence, and the surrounding area, and Lucca helped us with our luggage, and kept the grounds spotless.

Thank you both for a wonderful start to our touring holiday.

Di & Liz

  • Stayed: September 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Di W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 15, 2011

Overall disappointed with our experience, rooms were stiffling hot without fans or air conditioning. Breakfast poor and no restaurant facilities. 5k out of town along a pitted dirt track so access, especially at night, difficult. Owners response to criticism/request to change rooms, was we should find another place to stay but would still have to pay for full booking with them.

  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
2  Thank EdMcEntee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
smo64, Proprietario at Le Cetinelle, responded to this reviewResponded October 5, 2011

I have replied to the review of your wife, several days before you submitted your own review. Your only additional point is that we lack "restaurant facilities". An extreme case of misplaced expectations, I'm afraid. Agriturismi are Tuscan working farms that offer accommodation. Almost no agriturismo could have a restaurant license, especially not a small accommodation such as Le Cetinelle, and our website does not state nor imply that we run a restaurant. We clearly indicate that "Our B&B guests are free to use the kitchen if they wish to prepare snacks and light meals. There are chairs and tables for the use of our guests in the garden and round the swimming pool so on hot days the guests can eat outside." And of course our vacation apartment is self-catering, with its own well-equipped kitchen.

You don't mention that because you were on your honeymoon, I gave you our apartment, breakfast included, for the price of a B&B double room.

One review per couple, positive or negative, should be sufficient.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 24, 2011

We shortened our stay at this B&B due to no air con / fan (essential when it's late 30's & indoors is hotter than outside & lack of close facilities.

The 5km journey from Greve is very difficult & off putting but a neccessary evil if one wants 2 eat. Breakfast was poor & it was only on the second morning that we were informed that there was also cereal & ham.

We requested a room change but on refusal we identified another hotel. When we informed the owner instead of trying to help us she promptly asked for full payment for 5 days.

This has put a dampener on our honeymoon.

  • Stayed: August 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank michelle_mckenna
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
smo64, Proprietario at Le Cetinelle, responded to this reviewResponded September 10, 2011

I'm sorry to hear you weren't happy at Le Cetinelle, and especially that you did not notice the breakfast supplies until your second morning. We go to some trouble to provide a tasty breakfast for our B&B guests. Air conditioning is rare even in hotels in Tuscany, and almost non-existent in small agriturismi. Everything we provide is carefully listed on our web site and air conditioning is not listed there. Our location high in the Chianti hills means that we always have significantly cooler temperatures than in the valleys and towns.
We could not give you another room because they were all full otherwise of course we would have done so. As with other agriturismi, we are by definition in the country where gravel roads are common. We clearly state on our website that we are accessed along a 4 km gravel road. The road is well-maintained and easy to navigate. We are not a hotel with walk-in trade, so you need to understand that if you decide to leave early, we have no chance of finding replacements.
That's why we state on our web site that cancellations of less than
72 hours prior to arrival or no-shows call for full payment. That's standard practice for agriturismi.
Regards
Simonetta

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 8, 2011

My wife and I spent 6 days at Le Centinelle at the end of June 2011, enjoying the hospitality of Simonetta and her husband, Luca. Their farm is located more than half-way up to the summit of Monte San Michele, along a well-maintained dirt road. The rooms are furnished comfortably, and the house is picturesque and very clean, and all rooms have screens to eliminate any concerns about the few mosquitoes that may live at this elevation.
We loved the common breakfasts with each party assigned to its own table. We also swam in the very clean and bracing salt-water pool. Simonetta worked hard to accommodate every need or concern, providing excellent advice about activities and restaurants, as well as letting us use her private clothesline. Guests can use the common refrigerator and kitchen for light snacks, too. The kitchen stocks a supply of Le Centinelle's own wine and olive oil for sale, as well as wine from another vineyard.
Le Centinelle is a wonderful way to experience the beauty of Tuscany, tucked away on a bucolic and quiet farmhouse built hundreds of years ago.

  • Stayed: July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank BikeTuscany
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 13, 2011

My mother and I had the most wonderful time during our stay in Le Cetinelle. Simonetta went out of her way to help us with our needs and was also always ready to offer advice should we need any. There was one day which we spent solely in the BB and we had a really relaxing and memorable day. To say that the place is beautiful is an understatement. The rolling Tuscan hills before you, beautiful flowers, and surrounded by songs of birds. This was definitely a highlight of our Italy trip.

  • Stayed: May 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank theCookieCutter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Greve in Chianti hotels
2.5 mi away
Albergo del Chianti
Albergo del Chianti
#6 of 19 in Greve in Chianti
273 reviews
3.9 mi away
Villa Bordoni
Villa Bordoni
#1 of 19 in Greve in Chianti
588 reviews
4.4 mi away
Castello Vicchiomaggio
Castello Vicchiomaggio
#3 of 19 in Greve in Chianti
460 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.6 mi away
Poggio all'Olmo
Poggio all'Olmo
#17 of 40 in Greve in Chianti
90 reviews
1.6 mi away
La Camporena, Agriturismo Anna
La Camporena, Agriturismo Anna
#1 of 58 in Greve in Chianti
224 reviews
3.3 mi away
Il Casello Country House B&B
Il Casello Country House B&B
#1 of 9 in Panzano in Chianti
202 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Le Cetinelle? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Le Cetinelle

Address: Localita Canonica 13, 50022, Greve in Chianti, Italy
Location: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Florence > Greve in Chianti
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 40 B&Bs / Inns in Greve in Chianti
Price Range: $97 - $126 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Le Cetinelle 3*
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This typical stone-built Tuscan farmhouse, completely renovated, is only 5 km from the town of Greve in Chianti and is the perfect base for anyone who wishes to visit the great art cities of Tuscany and the medieval villages of Chianti, or for those who prefer walking or excursions on mountain bikes, or for those who want to relax and enjoy the atmosphere of the countryside.On the first floor of the house there are 6 bedrooms with bathroom, each one finely furnished with great attention to every detail. The splendid ceilings with wood beams and terracotta tiles, the windows which offer beautiful views of the garden, the vines and the hills make this house special. There is a large dining room with a fireplace where we serve breakfast. There is also a kitchen for the use of the guests of the B&B.Le Cetinelle’s position is indeed special, on a hill-top away from the crowds, 620m above sea-level. Our guests can relax in the lovely flower garden which surrounds the house, where tables, chairs and hammocks are at the disposal of all the guests. The saltwater pool has spectacular views over the vines, the olive groves, the hills and as far as Florence itself, particularly beautiful at sunset. Guests can sample the farm’s products – wine and olive oil. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Orbitz, Priceline and TripOnline SA so you can book your Le Cetinelle reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Le Cetinelle Greve In Chianti, Italy - Tuscany

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing