We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Tranquil retreat”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Agriturismo La Sala
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
43 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Tranquil retreat”
Reviewed August 15, 2013

The b&b is situated on a hill accessible by a dirt road which doesn't even appear on the gps. But the initial fear of disappointment quickly vanishes as you pull in and see the amazing view of the hills. Each apartment has a full kitchen, terrace, and bathroom. The place is so peaceful, you will not want to leave. There were other tourists there, but the layout provides maximum privacy, we felt as if we were the only ones there.

The hosts, Sandro and Carla are more than accommodating, catering to every need of their guests.

This place is perfect if you are looking for a typical tuscan experience. The house is situated on an old olive tree farm. You can sample their production of wine and olive oil, as well as countless other wineries in the region. This is raw country living at it's best.

Beautiful cities like Florence and Siena are a quick drive away, although the train is a better option for Florence.

Note* they do not serve breakfast, but there are plenty of markets in the area where you can buy food and prepare whatever you want. Trust me, it beats the croissant and butter cube that most b&bs offer.

I recommend this place and would return in a heart beat.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank alex1019
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

10 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    9
    1
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
3
6
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Aberdeen
Level Contributor
45 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
Reviewed August 10, 2013

Absolutely gorgeous location with lovely rustic accommodation.
Sandro and Carla welcomed us warmly when we arrived late in the evening at La Sala and helped us to our room, which they had prestocked with the food we had requested and with a few additional welcoming items. Carla had even found the more obscure items we had asked for, due to our baby's dairy allergy. Carla explained how everything worked and left us to settle in.
We stayed in La Loggia, which is a building attached to but in front of the rest of the villa/farm and consists of a large room with sofa, bed and fireplace at one end and the kitchen at the other, with a bathroom adjoining the kitchen. The room is decorated in a simple but attractive rustic style.
Everything in the kitchen worked as it should (large gas hob with good extraction, oven, large fridge/freezer, dishwasher) so we could self-cater as we chose. We often ate our breakfast and dinner on the table and chairs outside, looking over the gorgeous view. There are also a number of BBQ kits provided for either outside your accommodation or down on the swimming pool level, so we also enjoyed a couple of BBQs. When we didn't fancy cooking, we went to the trattoria at the bottom of the hill, which was really excellent, with lovely outdoor seating, friendly service and unusual dishes and was recommended by Carla and Sandro. They also recommended another restaurant a short drive away, which was also very good and had delicious Tuscan dishes and a marvellous chocolate cake.
There is also a laundry room, which is handy if you are travelling with a baby and a large area to hang clothes and swimming costumes/towels to dry, near the vegetable garden. A cot and highchair were provided too.
The pool is a good size and there are cold drinks supplied free of charge in the pump house, as well as some pool toys that were good fun for our baby. There are only a few studios/apartments so it was always quiet and there are plenty of sun loungers, benches etc to choose from. It always felt very private and relaxed.
The grounds and view are really beautiful; my husband took many films of the view and grounds as every time we looked out, we were struck by how lovely it is. There are lots of butterflies, bees and rabbits about and lots of herbs growing, so you can pick them fresh for your food. Sandro and Carla also left us some fresh salad from the vegetable garden.
It's around 30 minutes to the supermarket and shops in Greve so remember to buy all the items you need! There isn't aircon in the rooms but we didn't need it, even though we were there in July. We just left the patio doors open most of the time. Although La Sala is definitely in the countryside - the road leading up to it is really a steep track though we negotiated it fine with our Renault hire car - it is not far to Florence, San Gimignano etc, so is also good for touring.
We really loved it here and would heartily recommend it.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ScotConvert
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
France
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed August 26, 2012

stayed at La Sala in August 2012. This is a perfect agriturismo if you are looking for a tranquil spot from where you can admire the beautiful Countryside of the Chianti region and still be within only 45 minutes (probably less out of season) from Florence. The owners of La Sala are the most delightful people who really make you feel welcome and treat you like an old friend but all done very discreetly. They have got it right! If you are looking for modern luxuries like air con, wifi etc this isn't the place for you. But for us it was perfect there are only 4 apartments so the pool is never crowded and each apartment has ir's own private terrace and area so you feel very independent. We had an absolutely perfect stay.

Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank saminfrance
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
???
1 review
Reviewed May 1, 2010

We just love La Sala among so many Tuscan agriturismi, where everything is pleasant - from the owners to the cosy flats in a wide and natural landscape, and all this quite near Florence!

  • Stayed June 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
Thank bea055
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Greve in Chianti hotels
5.3 mi away
Relais Fattoria Valle in Panzano
Relais Fattoria Valle in Panzano
#2 of 5 in Panzano in Chianti
121 reviews
4.4 mi away
Agriturismo Poggio ai Mandorli
Agriturismo Poggio ai Mandorli
#11 of 19 in Greve in Chianti
7 reviews
7.3 mi away
Resort Villa Rosa di Boscorotondo
Resort Villa Rosa di Boscorotond...
#3 of 5 in Panzano in Chianti
93 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.1 mi away
Corte di Valle
Corte di Valle
#21 of 44 in Greve in Chianti
67 reviews
4.4 mi away
Agriturismo Podere Torre
Agriturismo Podere Torre
#10 of 44 in Greve in Chianti
143 reviews
3.3 mi away
Agriturismo Il Colle
Agriturismo Il Colle
#10 of 59 in Greve in Chianti
44 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Agriturismo La Sala? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Agriturismo La Sala

Property: Agriturismo La Sala
Address: Via Don Corrado Raspini 23 | La Panca, 50022, Greve in Chianti, Italy
Location: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Florence > Greve in Chianti
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #27 of 44 B&Bs / Inns in Greve in Chianti
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
According to the Book of Taxes the Decimario of 1692 (17th century) the territory of the Parish of San Pietro a Cintoia was divided among various farmhouses, including La Sala, which belonged to the monks of Montescalari. The population of the Pieve di San Pietro a Cintoia was never very large. In 1696 there were only 9 families totaling 112 members. In 1790 Mr. Giovan Batta Torricelli lived at La Sala with 11 people. In 1855 Ms. Maddalene Pampalini lived at La Sala with 6 people, together with Mr. Antonio Trambusti and his family of 6 . The tax used in the past called Decima was determined by the profits on wheat, oil and wine and was divided between the estate owner and the share croppers. The tax was paid to the Church of San Pietro. In 1692 La Sala Farm belonged to the monks living in the Abbey of Montescalari. Notified by the Archives of the Dioceses of Fiesole. In 1989 Sandro and Carla became owners of La Sala. The tax called Decima was no longer applied! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline and Booking.com so you can book your Agriturismo La Sala reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Agriturismo La Sala Greve In Chianti, Italy - Tuscany

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing