We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
WINNER WONDERLAND
Win Big When You Book on TripAdvisor

“Tranquility, charm & warmth in Chianti” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Fattoria e Villa di Rignana

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Greve in Chianti
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Fattoria e Villa di Rignana
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
18 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Tranquility, charm & warmth in Chianti”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 15, 2012 via mobile

The Rignana is one of those finds that makes you love the Lonely Planet guides. Although tucked away up a windy hill & dirt track away from Greve in Chianti, the joys of staying at the Rignana well reward the short trip. The building & grounds are paragons of Tuscan, romantic charm. The Rignana is actually a vineyard and we were treated to a complimentary wine tasting of their rose, "super tuscan", chianti classico & riserva. Especially considering the prices these were all fantastic wines. The cantina 50 metres up the road served up the best food of our entire 3 week trip around France & Italy so being outside the main town isn't a problem, it's an asset.

  • Stayed September 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank KhaledMcG
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

98 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    70
    23
    3
    1
    1
See reviews for
17
65
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (8)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Milan, Italy
Level Contributor
51 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 25, 2012

It's always a pleasure to be there. Fattoria Di Rignana is a fantastic villa in the Chiantishire, the landscape is amazing and it's the best place where you can have a great relax. The pool is in front of a Tract of olive trees and vineyards, amazing! The service is always available with suggestions and help if needed. Amazing place and great people!

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank SimoFra B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
19 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 12, 2012

This basically encapsulates the rustic Tuscan experience of historical farmtead, endless vinyards andwarm sunshine. Only very basic toileteries provided, so bring what you need, unless you count the harrowing drive down (and up) to Greve Coop a highlight. Breakfast is hearty and homely. It even has an infinity pool that overlooks the vineyards.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Rockbunny
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 11, 2012

We stayed two nights at the Fattoria di Rignana and wished now we would have spent more time there as it was much better than expected. The location is absolutely breathtaking, right in the middle of the Tuscan mountains and vineyards. Renting a car is highly recommended as the location is far off the beaten path, and you are isolated when there. It is about 15 minutes to drive to town of Greve. The roads to the fattoria are a rough, narrow, and very hilly. We found it easily using a GPS. As others mentioned there is the cantinetta just up the road for a close dinner option.

The owners Simona and Cosimo are both very friendly and helpful. Both are able to speak English fairly well. We had a room in the farm house. It was very large, very clean and well appointed. The attached bathroom was fully equipped and also spotless. Although some describe the place as rustic, but in my opinion it was nowhere near as "rustic" as a typical cottage. All the furniture was fairly new and in good condition. The bed was very comfortable and a decent size.

The breakfast provided was excellent. The staff puts out a table full of food in the main dining area and we ate in the sunny courtyard in the mornings. It included meats, cheese, yogurt, fresh fruit, breads, croissants, soft boiled eggs, and cereal. They also have a small kitchen area that guests can use and a fully stocked fridge which included water, beer, wine, and juice, pop and other refreshments available at a reasonable cost.

All in all we loved staying at the peaceful and quiet fattoria. It's a great location if you are exploring Tuscany, and also a great spot if you just want to relax in the peace and quiet of the Tuscan country side. Highly recommended.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
6 Thank Vince C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hong Kong, China
Level Contributor
62 reviews
43 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 24, 2012

Our group stayed here for 1 night and main purpose is visit their vineyards and tasting their wines.
The farmhouse itself is stone made & gorgeous, room is big & clear, some of rooms have nice view.
The view of Rignana is absolutely perfect!
Also, Simona is very helpful, she help us to arrange all transportation from Florence to Rome and provide all necessary information.
Just one think! 1 night is not enough to taste their beautiful & peaceful!!!

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank TANLEYTANG
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lisbon, Portugal
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 30, 2012

Fattoria di Rignana is a really nice old farmhouse, which has been converted into a rural hotel. The rooms are old, but very large. Our complaint about the room was that there was no air conditioning and only a small fan. The rooms are very stuffy in August and only have a small window. Regardless, I recommend it. The breakfast is served in the courtyard and is delicious. The swimming pool is very nice and has amazing views over Tuscany. The restaurant next to the hotel has amazing Tuscan food. My wife and I agreed that the Sedanini alla Norcina was the best pasta dish either of us had ever tasted. We also had steak with a pepper sauce, which was very good. The hotel leaves you a bit isolated as any other restaurant is a 30 minute drive away. But with great food next door, you don't have reason to go out at night and brave the windy roads after sampling great wine.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank John_J_from_Texas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tallinn, Estonia
Level Contributor
46 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 10, 2012

Nice place to stay for those who have the thing for those old rustic villas. A room we stayed perhaps had a bit of that old smell, but what i like the most, bathrooms were very much up to date and clean. Villas have separate kitchen to make dinner if you stay with larger group of friends. Pool has fantastic view over the mountains. Location is actually also good, Firenze and Sienna are both not too far away. If you stay there, have dinner in nearby Badia a Passignano, that has restaurant operated by Antinori.

Room Tip: Try the corner rooms in second floor of villas.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Evelin456
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Greve in Chianti hotels
3.0 mi away
Villa Le Barone
Villa Le Barone
#1 of 5 in Panzano in Chianti
5.0 of 5 bubbles 444 reviews
2.1 mi away
Villa Bordoni
Villa Bordoni
#1 of 19 in Greve in Chianti
5.0 of 5 bubbles 499 reviews
0.0 mi away
Relais Fattoria Valle in Panzano
Relais Fattoria Valle in Panzano
#2 of 5 in Panzano in Chianti
4.5 of 5 bubbles 106 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.5 mi away
Castello Vicchiomaggio
Castello Vicchiomaggio
#3 of 19 in Greve in Chianti
4.5 of 5 bubbles 409 reviews
3.0 mi away
Casale Le Masse
Casale Le Masse
#2 of 44 in Greve in Chianti
5.0 of 5 bubbles 89 reviews
0.3 mi away
Villa Rignana
Villa Rignana
#28 of 58 in Greve in Chianti
4.5 of 5 bubbles 44 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Fattoria e Villa di Rignana? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Fattoria e Villa di Rignana

Property: Fattoria e Villa di Rignana
Address: Localita Rignana 15, 50022, Greve in Chianti, Italy
Location: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Florence > Greve in Chianti
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #11 of 44 B&Bs / Inns in Greve in Chianti
Number of rooms: 16
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Fattoria and Villa di Rignana has 16 spacious and cozy double bedrooms in total, offering a B&B service from April to Novemberand from one to more nights stay. Each room has a private en-suite bathroom and is furnished with taste and particular attention to detail to ensure different styles and atmosphere. The large garden and infinity pool are ideal locations to completely relax and soak up the sweeping panorama and sunset of the Chianti hills. NB Fattoria and Villa di Rignana Not to be confused with Relais Villa Rignana, same location but different premises! ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Fattoria Di Rignana And Villa Stella Hotel Greve In Chianti
Fattoria e Villa Di Rignana Greve In Chianti, Italy - Tuscany

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing