We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Bella Italia”
Review of Il Santo

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Il Santo
Kearny, New Jersey
1 review
“Bella Italia”
Reviewed September 7, 2013

My husband and I stayed at Il Santo for two nights on our honeymoon. We truly loved the simplicity, peace, and amazing view. It was nice to be hidden away in the middle of the Tuscan hills. It was very easy to access by car and Alessandro was very helpful in providing us with GPS information. You can walk or drive to the center of town, which has restaurants, shopping, and food shopping.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jaclyn D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

68 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    61
    6
    0
    1
    0
See reviews for
16
43
1
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (13)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Hollywood, Worcs
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
Reviewed September 7, 2013

If you are looking for a fabulous agritourisimo in 'Chiantishire' then Il Santo is ideal. We booked the larger apartment for the 3 of us which gave us 2 good sized bedrooms (ideal for 2 couples or a family of four) a kitchen/lounge/diner and stunning views. Every morning and evening we'd eat outside with picture postcard views of the Tuscan countryside. The pool was 50 metres away, with the same beautiful views. The area is very quiet, and Greve town a 3 minute drive away. Alessandro met us and gave us a bottle of wine, made on site.
If you want to visit Tuscanny, then this part of the world is beautiful. Only negatives would be the insects, mozzies, wasps and horseflys, but that is true of wherever you stay in this part of the world. But the local chemists have plenty of creams that do the trick.

Room Tip: I think we had the largest rooms on the farm, and they were worth the extra couple of pounds for loc...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mjf1017
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nantes, France
Level 5 Contributor
79 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed August 28, 2013

We had spent a week at Il Santo last year, and we decided to come back this year for 10 days, in the same accommodation (Il Fienile). We never used the TV (flat screen) nor the air conditioner that was kindly offered to us by Mr Turchi, preferring to enjoy the wonderful view of the Chianti area all around the Agriturismo, with Panzano in the distance : a wonderful village with unforgettable enotecas.

What we particularly enjoyed this Summer again was:
- the peacefulness. The apartments are distant from one another so you really feel the place is yours. And no noise at all from the nearby road that leads to nowhere!
- the swimming-pool. Large, warm, sun bathed, with plenty of deck chairs around to take the sun while reading a good book or sipping a beer
- the terrace of Il Fienile, where we took a few meals in front of the fabulous landscape
- the closeness of the local small town (Greve) to do the shopping and have a nice evening meal or a pizza a taglio for lunch. I will not speak of the Cantine di Greve for wine tasting and buying... (see it for yourself). And Florence and Sienna are only 30km away...
- Mr Turchi's kindness and readiness to offer you advice or simply talk to you. His oil and wine are delicious too...
- the midnight baths in the swimming-pool, with the stars above us in the warm Tuscan night... A real delight!!!...

Please don't ask the question : yes, we'll be back...

Room Tip: Il Fienile is great for 2 persons.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JeanJacquesBUCHON
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jamaica Plain, Massachusetts, United States
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed August 25, 2013

I was a little nervous about staying at Il Santo because the website was so basic- but was convinced after reading tripadvisor reviews. We were not disappointed! It was wonderful staying at Il Santo in Greve in Chianti. It gave us a moment of peace and relaxation in our otherwise busy trip. We stayed in the Girasole- which was a smaller two bedroom apartment, with a loft. It was more than enough space for a couple. It was great being able to stay in our own apartment and cook our own meals. The view from our door way was of the Tuscan Hills and Il Santo's olive groves. The pool was refreshing on hot days. Alessandro was friendly, genuine and helpful. Greve itself was a pleasant surprise- with a range of restaurants and shops but still quiet. The info office in the center was also very helpful and gave us information on a free wine tour and tasting in Albola. The bus to Florence was easy to find and use, and it was really wonderful to come back to Il Santo after a busy day of crowded art museums. It was hard to leave.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kassandra D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Redondo Beach, CAlif
Level 1 Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed August 5, 2013

We stayed here for 3 nights July 11-14th at the height of tourist season in Italy. Il Santo and the Chianti region was by far the highlight of our three week trip around Italy. It was the perfect place to go in the middle of a jam packed holiday, which afforded us a much needed respite from the maddening crowds of the big cities.

The grounds are picturesque with olive groves, vineyard, fruit trees, gardens and a magnificent pool overlooking the amazing countryside with views to die for. We stayed in the "Il Giaggiolo" suite located on the ground floor in the main farmhouse structure, which had 2 generous sized bedrooms with views to match, 2 bathrooms, kitchen with refrigerator, dining table, comfortable seating area all decorated in a simple Tuscan style which was very charming. The satellite TV, free wifi, and outside seating area were a bonus. It looked just like the website, only better! No surprises. A very reasonable price for the Chianti area, especially since you have the ability to cook your own food, which we did one evening after stocking up on supplies in nearby Greve, a 5 minute drive down the hill. A car is pretty much essential for staying in the region.

The setting of Il Santo on a lovely hill overlooking vineyards and olive groves makes a wonderful base for touring the Chianti Region, since it is halfway between Florence and Siena . One day, we spent in Florence which we accessed by SITA bus from Greve. It only took an hour, allowed us to avoid the ZTL's in Florence and take in all the gorgeous scenery. The pool (and a glass of Chianti) was very welcoming after a full day of walking around hot and humid Florence. Another day, we went to the Castello Di Verrazzano for a wine tour and delicious lunch and was an easy 15 minute drive from Il Santo. A fantastic, to die for family dinner was enjoyed by us another evening at the home of Forese in Montefioralle complete with all the Tuscan specialties of the region and wines, arranged in advance through the Greve in Chianti website.

What makes IL SANTO stand out in my mind from the other properties we stayed at is the wonderful owner, Alessandro Turchi. His emails back and forth, patience answering my questions, and welcoming manner set my mind at ease on our choice of Il Santo. In person, he is just as warm and helpful. He is there as much as you need him while being unobtrusive and respecting the privacy of his guests. He made us feel like we were friends who were visiting, not just paying guests. We felt privileged that he gave us a bottle of the wine from his vineyard. it made it all the way back to California and right now it is residing in our wine fridge awaiting a special occasion.

If you want to be waited on hand and foot , daily maid service, restaurant/ room service then this is not the place for you.
If you want a quiet place where you can experience an authentic slice of life in the idyllic Tuscan Countryside while being accessible to the many towns, hamlets and wineries nearby, then this is the place for you.
This is the real deal authentic Tuscan farmhouse experience on a working vineyard with all the accompanying charm. We love Napa, Calif. but it doesn't compare to the wine country of Italy. We will definitely be returning to Il Santo as we only scratched the surface of what is available to see and do in Bella Toscana. You won't go wrong choosing Il Santo. It was the best value and experience for money of our entire trip.

Room Tip: I think all the rooms in all the buildings are unique and offer different options. We were 4 adults...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank SKohler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Minneapolis, Minnesota
Level 6 Contributor
102 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
Reviewed July 31, 2013

Incredibly beautiful and peaceful...a bit of heaven in the Tuscan countryside. We arrived hot and tired after a car journey and were instantly relaxed by the incredible atmosphere of the place. Alessandro is a charming and helpful host. The quiet pool has sweeping views of the hills. The buildings are artfully situated in the grounds. The accommodations are thoughtful and comfortable, with some gorgeous details. The wooden doors are breathtaking! Well-equipped kitchens meant we could enjoy our own meals on the patio. It would be impossible to overstate how positive an experience we had at Il Santo. We very much hope to be back again someday.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Semele08
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Asker
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed July 31, 2013

We have been to Il Santo twice, first time in october 2006, as a couple travelling with two other grown up couples, next in end of june 2010 with our 2 year old son, and still, we would like to come back again some time with our now family of four.

We are still dreaming of this place in cold norwegian winters, this is really a beautiful place for those who enjoy silence and beautiful views over the vineyards, and nice little stone-cottages. The "Fienile" cottage has a small lovely and very private terrace, the Girasole and Papavero is situated in the same house, but still you have your own private sitting-area in the garden with nice views. Our favorite for couples. Papavero is a little bit larger, two-level appartment.
The interior is beautiful, with traditional tuscan furniture, and the rooms where clean and nice, but quite small living areas. Fienile only had outdoor seating and a small breakfastkitchen. We did not spend much time indoor, so did not matter at all. If you love a large and well equipped kitchen, you might be dissappointed. Giaggiolo is a new rental, which I do not know anytning about.

The pool area is beautifully made, clean water, and with very nice furniture (no plastic chairs), and nice flowers and olive-trees all around. The Turchi Family is very Nice and helpful, even if we arrived in the very busy grape-harvest. This is a Tuscan Vineyardwhere they are producing their own wine and some very good Olive oil.

The village of Greve is just 10-15 min walk downhill, with a butcher, bakery and restaurants and grocery store + much more.
Do not miss Castellina and Radda, and the restaurant in Lamole.

We would highly recommend the place, especially for romantic couples, and we would love to come back very soon.

Room Tip: Fienile is the most romantic, but they are all very nice.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank svale
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Greve in Chianti hotels
2.9 mi away
Castello Vicchiomaggio
Castello Vicchiomaggio
#3 of 19 in Greve in Chianti
438 reviews
1.9 mi away
Villa Bordoni
Villa Bordoni
#1 of 19 in Greve in Chianti
545 reviews
3.2 mi away
Villa Le Barone
Villa Le Barone
#1 of 5 in Panzano in Chianti
477 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Casa al Sole
Casa al Sole
#7 of 19 in Greve in Chianti
81 reviews
0.5 mi away
Albergo Giovanni da Verrazzano
Albergo Giovanni da Verrazzano
#12 of 19 in Greve in Chianti
74 reviews
0.3 mi away
Casale Le Masse
Casale Le Masse
#2 of 40 in Greve in Chianti
98 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Il Santo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Il Santo

Property: Il Santo
Address: Localita Melazzano 3 | il santo, 50022, Greve in Chianti, Italy
Location: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Florence > Greve in Chianti
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #18 of 57 Specialty Lodging in Greve in Chianti
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The farm is situated in the Chianti Classico hills between Florence and Siena . ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Il Santo reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Il Santo Hotel Greve In Chianti
Il Santo Greve In Chianti, Italy - Tuscany

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing