We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Casprini Da Omero
Show Prices
Like saving money? We search up to 200 sites for the lowest prices
Nearby Hotels
Castello Vicchiomaggio(Greve in Chianti)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Locanda Il Gallo(Greve in Chianti)
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Casa con Bella Vista(San Casciano in Val di Pesa)
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
Villa Bordoni(Greve in Chianti)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
GRANDETERRA(Greve in Chianti)
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
albergo Casa al Sole(Greve in Chianti)
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Albergo del Chianti(Greve in Chianti)
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
Reviews (89)
Filter reviews
89 results
Traveler rating
20
32
12
14
11
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
20
32
12
14
11
See what travelers are saying:
Filter
Updating list...
11 - 16 of 89 reviews
Reviewed January 23, 2011

We stayed here in September 2010, during the wine festival weekend in Greve. Luca's prices were incredibly fair to begin with, and when he discovered that there had been a tiny, tiny oversight in our booking, he went out of his way to fix everything, and in fact make it better than we had asked for. The garden and outdoor areas are lovely, and though we checked in too late to have dinner at the restaurant the first night, it looked charming (and our breakfast there was excellent). All three of us felt that we would stay here again, and that it's worth recommending.

  • Stayed: September 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank nightingaleshiraz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 3, 2011

Our stay did not start well when, on arrival, we were informed that the restaurant was closed. Given that the advertised in-house restaurant was a large part of our decision to stay there we were not impressed.

All of the doors required slamming to close resulting in broken sleep. The bathroom was tiny featured someone's poorly designed concept of a wet room. The main things that ended up getting wet were the bedroom floor and the toilet. The toilet seat was broken and resulted in injury to a certain male body part!

You can not trust the cleanliness either. In the morning we went for breakfast and when we came back the room had been cleaned. We weren't due to relinquish the room for another hour. Plenty of time to soil the sheets!
Oh, and don't leave any empty water bottles about. The stupid cleaner decided that we didn't want them any more and binned ours'.

  • Stayed: September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Wheelspin69
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bibisolo63, Direttore at Casprini Da Omero, responded to this reviewResponded January 7, 2011

Dear Weelspin.
You booked the room through booking com. this service it's NOT owned by us, it's just a GDS where you can ONLY book rooms and not restaurant. After room reservation, you could just call and ask if the restaurant was off for the evening because it was opened for lunch but probably, you didn't need it, so you didn't mentioned.
You arrived and asked information about the surroundings. Hotels are not information offices : the services are guaranteed by the county or the province. You had your answer any way with the plan of all events in the surroinds of florence and after this research with ISDN 128kb/s (adsl do not exist here), you decided to change area, so was Siena.
Then you booked a twin room without bathroom and instead you had a room with bathroom at the same price.
At the end, I'm here with my face and instead you just have a nick name with a tower as representation. Well, I would be gracefull to "AVOID this people" coming here. Many whishes for greatfull 2011.
Your sincerely,

Luca C.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 9, 2008

We discovered Casprini Da Omero in May 1997 and have stayed there on three different visits to Italy. It's a family-run operation. Lucca is the son of the owners and manages the hotel. His Dad, Lando, is the veteran wine broker who loves to give wine tours and provide samples, and talk in festive Italian about the good old days of Italian wine growing and winery battles for the number one rated Chianti ranking. Mom, Anna, is the restaurant matron of the kitchen who creates all the wonderful dishes homemade at the time you order. And Lucca's fiance Alessandra is the chef in training.

Don't stay here if you are expecting four stars, attentive service, and staff who speak English. Only Lucca speaks English. But DO stay here if you want to stay in a 200 year-old building with quaint features and furnishings, and rooms with baths. The hotel is about ten kilometers from Greve, in the village of Passo dei Pecorei, with only about 150 inhabitants, surrounded by vineyards and wineries. One of the world famous Ruffino wineries is literally behind the hotel and evening walks through the vineyards are fantastic! Staying here is a great way to enjoy the Italian countryside in a casual, relaxed, and quiet non-pretentious way.

  • Stayed: October 2006, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank BenCat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 14, 2008

My stay at the hotel Casprini, has been the most great experience as a tourist that travel very often in different country can have. The hotel is antique and beautifully maintened, the stuff is very friendly and helpfull, the food is incredibly good, homemade the most, and the wine is the best you can find in Tuscany. The owner, the great Lando and his family really takes allot of pride in what they do and honesty is what you find in this place. If you like to eat, this is the place for you, all the food is incredible, and the great chef, Anna Casprini and her helper Alessandra are impressive. The price, either for the hotel or the restaurant are very competitive and low for the value and the quality that you have back. The sorrounding landscape is beautiful and if you like to swim there is a brand new swimming pool ready for you, very very clean. In the night is easy to sleep because the place is very quite and the ancient walls are so tick that no noice goes tru them. My family and myself had a great experience with the Casprini's family and defenetely we look forward to see them again in the summer 2008.

  • Stayed: September 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank Belvoso
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 3, 2007

My wife and I stayed with another couple on our 25th Anniversary tour of Italy and France in September 2004.

Drove around for a while till we found the spot. Google will assist greatly with that chore now.

The rooms were basic and not fancy. If you want that, look at a higher price point. There were no bellman at this motel so expect to move your own bags to your room.

It is not far from Greve, but you will need a car. Not sure about the local transportation.

The highlight of the 3 day stay was the food. Excellent local cuisine and wine made on the property. The waiter was a little gruff but warmed up to us on the second day.

If you are expecting the Sheraton or Hyatt, this is not the place for you. If you are expecting something of the local cuisine with satisfactory accomodations, Casprini Da Omero should fit the bill.

Stayed: September 2004
1  Thank 50CanadaGuy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews