We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect holiday location for Chianti Region”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Antico Pastificio Ulisse Mariotti
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed July 1, 2014

My family and I were referred to these apartments by our travel agent, and did not fullt know what to expect. There is a variety of apartment sizes, and it is great for being able to self-cater, but also so close to everything that you can go out to eat for all your meals if you like. The hosts are wonderful and the atmosphere is lovely.
Situated in the heart of Greve, but still quiet and relaxing. Walking distance to everything you need. You can get to and from Greve by bus (1.05 hours) and it is very short walk to the complex. Or you can hire a car and drive, this gives you the freedom of exploring the variety of sites located nearby.
It is a good place to be able to head into Florence and explore but also escape the hustle and bustle. Excellent place to explore the whole of the Chianti region and Tuscany in general.
We enjoyed a couple of excellent nights organised by our hosts - a welcome drinks evening on the Saturday that we arrived; wine and cheese tasting, and also a Pizza Party on the Tuesday; for a small cost we received excellent antipasto, all you can eat pizza, and entertainment by a local singer.
Would highly recommend this place to anyone traveliing with children, as they were also made very welcome.

Room Tip: If you do not have children, or do not want to be woken by other peoples', then perhaps request...
  • Stayed: July 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Katherine G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (132)
There are newer reviews for Antico Pastificio Ulisse Mariotti
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

32 - 38 of 132 reviews

Reviewed June 2, 2014

We booked this appartment in Greve for a short stay in Chianti but found out that this could be a good base for any kind of road trip around Tuscany and Florence.

The house is located in the center of Greve in Chianti on a very peaceful alley. Everything that Greve in Chianti has to offer is withing walking distance.
With a larger car you might find it tricky to turn to the alley that actually starts as a narrow gateway of a two-storied building.
There is a private parking lot for guests' cars behind locked gate.

The hostess Monica and her staff were very friendly and helpful when needed. They showed all the necessary areas of the property when we arrived. The building is old but beautifully renovated. We had a three bedroom apartment in the top floor. The kitchen and one of the rooms were quite spacious, two of the bedrooms were smaller but OK. All the bedrooms had private bathrooms.

The rooms were comfortable and super clean but for me the bed could have been better. The rooms have no air conditioning but that was no problem in the late May conditions. I think the thick brick walls keep the apartment cool enough.
One night we had couple of mosquitoes in the bedroom, a net in the windows would be a nice improvement.

Monica offered to arrange a private wine tour for us. We visited four wonderful wineries around Chianti, got to taste amazing Tuscan wines and also got some useful tips for the rest of our visit.

  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Olli-Pekka A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 9, 2014 via mobile

I started by saying How amazing Marco and Monica were. I booked a 2 bedroom apt for 6 adults and one 5 month old baby. I got in later that I was expecting and it was a note on the entrance staying our apt instr so we proceed it was amazing...3 BR instead of 2 as I booked with a private terrace looking over the town. Walking distance to everything and about 10 min drive to Our wine tasting at Castello di Verrazzano for my birthday...Amazing I will always stay in the same place same room since it was so clean a tuscany style deco...

Stayed: March 2014
2  Thank Angel J C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 1, 2013

We stayed at Antico Pastificio in October 2013 for five days and this was the worst accommodation experience of our lives. Bed bugs, broken kitchen tap spout, cold with an unfulfilled promise to turn on the heating, noisy, a clothes dry that gobbled euros and dud not dry clothes and apathetic / indifferent staff all gave a complete picture of a nightmare stay during our "holiday of a lifetime"!!!!!
1 out of 10.

  • Stayed: October 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank rossndidie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 12, 2013

We were travelling with another couple in a large van so getting in to the place was a little difficult but the 2 bed apartment was lovely. Very clean with comfy beds and both rooms had a bathroom/toilet. Lots of windows and great outlook. Had a pool but too busy sightseeing to use it. They had a laundry downstairs so we could do a load of washing (saving us having to hand wash). Location was a 2min walk to a lovely centre full of shops and eateries. Loved the deli in particular that had heaps of meats and cheeses which you could pick and the would cut whatever you wanted. Would definitely recommend as it was in between Florence and Siena so great for covering both areas.

Stayed: September 2013, traveled with friends
2  Thank RuthyMackay
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 8, 2013

Antico Pastificio is an old pasta factory which has been converted into rooms and apartments situated just of the main Piazza of Greve-in-Chianti.
We had a 2 bedroom apartment and were very comfortable for the 7 nights we were there.
There is a large terrace with tables and chairs provided where we would sit some nights and enjoy meats, cheeses and wines from the Chianti region.
The grounds are very lush and there is a swimming pool and car parking is also available.
You can take the bus from Florence or like us hire a car and drive down ( about a 25 minute trip).
We found a car was needed if we wanted to venture further than Greve, as the bus stops there.
The town has lost to offer. The markets held in the piazza each Saturday are some of the best that I have seen in Italy.
There are some very good vineyard in the area for wine tasting and lunches. But you must book.

Room Tip: They are all pretty good. The one bedroom apartments are on the ground floor facing the garden and p...
  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank welltravelled18652
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 8, 2013

the hotel is no good to elderly people,there are no elevators, and the staircases have no handrail. Our room at the second floor was very small, bare and did have no chair to rest on after climbing all the way up. The second day we were given a room at the first floor which was slightly better. The garden and the swimming pool were o.k. The reception was closed most of the time

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank eildert
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Greve in Chianti hotels
0.0 mi away
Albergo del Chianti
Albergo del Chianti
#5 of 19 in Greve in Chianti
259 reviews
1.4 mi away
Villa Bordoni
Villa Bordoni
#1 of 19 in Greve in Chianti
570 reviews
0.1 mi away
Casa al Sole
Casa al Sole
#9 of 19 in Greve in Chianti
83 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Albergo Giovanni da Verrazzano
Albergo Giovanni da Verrazzano
#10 of 19 in Greve in Chianti
77 reviews
3.3 mi away
Villa Le Barone
Villa Le Barone
#1 of 5 in Panzano in Chianti
494 reviews
0.5 mi away
Casale Le Masse
Casale Le Masse
#3 of 40 in Greve in Chianti
106 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Antico Pastificio Ulisse Mariotti? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Antico Pastificio Ulisse Mariotti

Address: Via Dell'Arco 9/15, 50022, Greve in Chianti, Italy
Location: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Florence > Greve in Chianti
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #9 of 58 Specialty Lodging in Greve in Chianti
Price Range: $90 - $181 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Antico Pastificio Ulisse Mariotti 3*
Number of rooms: 18
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The property, is a green oasis right on the edge of Greve in Chianti.It is situated only a two minute stroll from town central square filled with cafès, restaurants and markets shops. The property is surrounded by a peaceful garden with swimming-pool.To add to the setting, the property backs on to its own private little vineyard on the rolling hills behind and right in the vineyard, there are gazebos located by a little stream complete with BBQ, hammocks and a playground for children. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Cancelon and Hotwire so you can book your Antico Pastificio Ulisse Mariotti reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Antico Pastificio Ulisse Mariotti Hotel Greve In Chianti
Antico Pastificio Ulisse Mariotti Greve In Chianti, Italy - Tuscany

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing