We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

“Look no further than Cecilia’s sanctuary among the vines.” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Agriturismo Podere Torre

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Agriturismo Podere Torre
Bremen, Germany
Level Contributor
10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Look no further than Cecilia’s sanctuary among the vines.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 18, 2013

I still can’t believe we found such an amazing place to stay. Greve is a great place to make as your base and travel around to the various villages in Chianti country. Yes, Podere Torre is located at the top of a hill and has some unpaved roads en route, but it’s worth every bump and extra minute of travel!

First - Cecilia is a host like no other. From the moment you arrive, you feel like family. Her accommodation only has two guest rooms, so it is a very intimate experience. At the same time, if you want to have privacy, you will not be bothered one bit. Cecilia takes her cues from you and the type of visit you would like to have. She is a wealth of knowledge for local restaurants, events and hidden gems. Cecilia is such a lovely person and we truly enjoyed every minute spent at Podere Torre.

Second - what a view! Early morning to late evening, there is a different atmosphere and experience. Having breakfast, while enjoying the silence and view, is just so peaceful and breath-taking. There is a pool overlooking the valley, fruit trees and vegetable plants, a kitchen for community use and many places to sit, relax and enjoy some local wine.

Third – Breakfast…get it! This was by far one of the best breakfasts I’ve had in a long time. Fresh fruit & breads, homemade preserves, Italian coffee, juice, eggs, yogurt and cheese…..all you could ever ask for and more. It is an additional cost (10 Euros per person) and worth every penny.

Because this is an Agriturismo (which means a working farm), Cecilia also has homemade olive oil and products, as well as top notch preserves available for purchase. Be sure to get some as a tasty souvenir when you go!

I truly can't say enough about what a wonderful and welcoming woman Cecilia is. I look forward to the day when we will be able to return to spend another beautiful and peaceful stay.

One final comment: If you have the chance or time, visit Lorenzo’s farm (just a 5 minute walk) for a home cooked meal and homemade wine. Cecilia can make the arrangements for you. Lorenzo, Alfredo and Loretta will make you feel like one of the family and the food is as local/traditional as it comes.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank lashe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

141 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    127
    14
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
16
107
1
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (15)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Kernersville, North Carolina
Level Contributor
20 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 2, 2013

Podere Torre is a wonderful B&B and Cecilia is a wonderful, warm hostess! We were welcomed by Cecilia and her dogs and immediately felt at home. We stayed here for four nights in early October. We stayed in the renovated barn with a small kitchenette and terrace with stunning views of the Tuscany landscape. The first evening we stayed was my husband and my 20th wedding anniversary and prior to our travel, Cecilia recommended we have dinner at her friends place across the way from her (easy walking distance). We took her up on her recommendation and couldn't have had a better anniversary dinner! Breakfast was always wonderful and bountiful! This is a 'Agriturismo' B&B so it is considered a working farm. Our stay was a fantastic part of our Italy memories. Be sure to enjoy downtown Greve and one of the BEST places for wine and pizza was La Cantina Ristorante-Pizzaria! However, just know the road from town to Podere Torre is a tricky one! Just take your time and be aware for oncoming vehicles it is totally worth it!

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank DavenTamiNC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Minneapolis, Minnesota
Level Contributor
11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 10, 2013

PODERE TORRE AND CECILIA ARE ONE IN A TRILLION.....this is the REAL DEAL in Tuscany. BEST VIEWS, BEST HOSTESS, BEST BREAKFASTS, BEST SERVICE, BEST PILLOWS/BEDS, BEST AMENITIES (new this year....a salt water pool to refresh you after a day touring the countryside), BEST DOGGIES, and BEST ACCOMMODATIONS !!!! There is so much to say about this LOVELY place, but let me start w/the hostess, Cecilia's smile will light up your day !! Her breakfast will rival any in Italy. The roof top terrace is the perfect place to end your day w/a glass of wine, watching the sunset. The community kitchen room has EVERYTHING you may need, incl. a washing machine that will make your wardrobe smell as fresh as a Tuscan breeze for only 10 euros !!! There is a very nice apt. for 2 & another darling rm for 2-3 persons.There is a terrific, covered BBQ and harvest table outdoor area for those interested in trying their hand at some roasted "boar" !!! We love the table tennis, along w/various table/chair venues on the grounds surrounding the pool area. Cecilia will give you the BEST advice/recomm for eating, shopping, markets, wine tasting etc. The road from Greve up to Cecilia's may seem a bit rough at first but it's a super hwy compared to Costa Rica and people do it all day, everyday w/o mishap. It is located on a private road w/private car parking. A visit to Italy/Toscana is not complete w/o a week w/ Cecilia. It is an ideal location for exploring the magnificent hills of Tuscany.....we have returned to this paradise 5 times by ourselves, as well as, with friends. We hope to be blessed w/many, many more. Happy Travels....ciao !!!

Room Tip: Podere is located on a private street and seamlessly quiet. Both rooms are lovely. Great, walk-in...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank soozer2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Centerport, New York
Level Contributor
39 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 5, 2013

Podere Torre just might be one of my favorite places I've ever stayed. Between the scenery, the rustic comfort/coziness, the gorgeous pool, the delicious breakfasts, and the amazing hostess (Cecilia!), I can't wait to return. Podere Torre is where you come when you want to experience authentic Tuscany - you will be amongst olive groves, grape vines, and all sorts of veggies grown right on property... there is complete silence, a gorgeous night sky, and dogs running around the property. The rooms are comfortable and well appointed. It's a bit of a drive up the hill but well worth it for the views and sense of peace & quiet once you arrive.

Make sure to bring home a bottle of the olive oil made from the property's olive trees - a great souvenir to enjoy at home to remind you of your trip.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Traveler3381
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Camden, Australia
Level Contributor
25 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 3, 2013 via mobile

This place is as peaceful and beautiful as it sounds from the other reviews. Cecilia answered any question I had about anything in Chianti to help us plan our trip. Podere Torre is so quaint and just like you have stepped into a movie set. We only had 1 night there and sadly was bad weather when we arrived but the next morning was beautiful with breakfast outside. Would love to come back to visit again. Tip do not take a large car, roads are so narrow.

  • Stayed September 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank meic86
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cincinnati
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 25, 2013

We stayed here two nights during the Greve Wine Festival. The place is located close to town so you can walk to all the restaurants and the festival. Loved our room! The view out our bedroom was like a picture. Tuscany looks exactly like it does in the pictures. Rolling hills with rows of grapes and olive trees. We are already planning another trip and will stay longer and visit Volterra and San Gimignano.

Room Tip: Get a bottle of wine and go sit up by the pool where the views are breathtaking. Also September is t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank mesial
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stockholm, Sweden
Level Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 4, 2013

We stayed here last September and had a truly wonderful stay. The pool is magnificent and the place itself is perfectly located. The owner is really helpful and kind. You have the ability to cook your own food in a separate kitchen which is really nice since the local food i excellent.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Sebastian T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Greve in Chianti hotels
0.1 mi away
Villa Bordoni
Villa Bordoni
#1 of 19 in Greve in Chianti
5.0 of 5 stars 467 reviews
3.8 mi away
Villa Le Barone
Villa Le Barone
#1 of 5 in Panzano in Chianti
5.0 of 5 stars 425 reviews
0.0 mi away
Relais Fattoria Valle in Panzano
Relais Fattoria Valle in Panzano
#2 of 5 in Panzano in Chianti
4.5 of 5 stars 101 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.6 mi away
Castello Vicchiomaggio
Castello Vicchiomaggio
#3 of 19 in Greve in Chianti
4.5 of 5 stars 398 reviews
1.9 mi away
Casale Le Masse
Casale Le Masse
#3 of 44 in Greve in Chianti
5.0 of 5 stars 79 reviews
3.5 mi away
Il Casello Country House B&B
Il Casello Country House B&B
#1 of 9 in Panzano in Chianti
4.5 of 5 stars 175 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Agriturismo Podere Torre? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Agriturismo Podere Torre

Property: Agriturismo Podere Torre
Address: Via San Cresci 29, 50022, Greve in Chianti, Italy
Location: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Florence > Greve in Chianti
Amenities:
Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 44 B&Bs / Inns in Greve in Chianti
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 3
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Booking.com, Priceline and Odigeo so you can book your Agriturismo Podere Torre reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Podere Torre Hotel Greve In Chianti
Agriturismo Podere Torre Greve In Chianti, Italy - Tuscany

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing