We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“An ideal place to relax”
Review of Poggio all'Olmo

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Poggio all'Olmo
Vienna
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“An ideal place to relax”
Reviewed November 13, 2011

We spent two nights at Poogio all'Olmo being the only guests, which probably made the stay even more fantastic and relaxing. Francesca the owner is a wonderful discrete guestkeeper. We stayed in one of the two rooms poggio all'olmo offers. We had our own private kitchenette so we were able to prepare a nice pasta dinner which we ate on the wonderful terrace outside overlooking a valley full of vinyards. It was beautiful. In terms of infrastructure there is an excellent restaurant nearby in a town called Lamolle. The food and the service were excellent. Oh and not to forget, Poggio all'Olmo also offers a wonderful clean pool to take a dip whenever you feel like you need to cool down. The only critique that I can offer is the quality of the bed and the matrace, both need an update.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Alex F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

86 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    78
    6
    1
    1
    0
See reviews for
9
63
3
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (8)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
melbourne australia
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed November 3, 2011

We stayed at Poggio all'Olmo for a week in September after travelling around Europe for three weeks prior (with our one year old daughter). It was the highlight of our trip. The rooms were comfortable and suited our needs. Magnificant setting and beautifull outlook. For us however, the highlight was the excellent service we recieved from Francesca. An amazing, accomdating, knowledgable host. She gave great recommendations on things to do, and places to see. She is hospitable, friendly and welcoming. She adored our daughter and could not do enough for us. I will have fond memories of lazing around the pool, eating in restaurants only locals would know, and discovering the many hidden delights of Greve and surrounds.

Room Tip: Go for the apartments if they are available.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank archy1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St Peter Port, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed October 12, 2011

We stayed here for 2 nights in September as part of our honeymoon and loved it. The setting is absolutely idyllic and Francesca is so friendly and helpful, we were made to feel very welcome and she gave us lots of advise on good places to eat/visit. We stayed in one of the double rooms which was very clean, comfortable and spacious. On both mornings we had breakfast made by Francesca in her Farmhouse kitchen, it was absolutely delicious and very filling! The pool area is beautiful and the surrounding view and area is stunning, it was so peaceful and relaxing just lying by the pool and marvelling at the view.
Unfortunately on our last day our car wouldnt start - my husband had hired a 1970s alfa romeo to fulfil a childhood dream! Francesca could not have been more helpful, after trying to unsucessfully jump start it, she provided us with lunch and access to a room for the day until a replacement car was delivered that evening. She then emailed us a few days later to ensure we had made it safely to our next destination - she is so kind.
We have stayed in many places all over the world and Poggio all'Olmo has to be one of our favourites, we hope to return in the very near future.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank abby26_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Greve, Tuscany
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed July 9, 2011

We returned last month to Poggio all' Olmo for the 5th time and we fell in love with it all over again. It had been a few years since we visited and it was like going home!(We have been visiting for 10 years).
We always stay in the upstairs apartment and the first thing we do is marvel at the view, take a deep breath and sigh.....

If you are looking for peace and quiet in a rural location, look no further. The property commands an elevated position and looks over the most amazing view of the valley. Classic Tuscan scenery abounds - vineyards, olive groves, winding roads and hilltop towns. The sunsets are pretty stunning too.

The pool area is lovely, surrounded by pretty flowers and borders of lavender and rosemary. We spent most days by the pool and enjoyed sittng under the gazebo, inhaling the smell of Jasmine.
We particularly like the pool - Francesca has it specially treated so it is not strongly chlorinated and it's the perfect size, depth and temperature for cooling off from the hot sun.

The apartment is equipped in a basic, rustic style but it has everything you need and is comfortable and spacious. The simplicity of the place is what appeals to us. When you are there, you don't need 'stuff'.

We can recommend the Chianti wine made by Francesca's dad. It's really delicious and it's organic, so it's not full of all the sulphites and additives you get in commercial wine. The olive oil is amazing too. We could just live on that with bread! When you have run out of either, Francesca will just re-fill your bottle!

This time we were lucky enough to see a family of wild boar come up to the terrace with their little stripey babies. We got so excited that I think we scared them off...A couple of great new restaurants have opened locally and we particularly like going to eat in Panzano, a short drive away.

Francesca is always very welcoming and helpful and makes you feel really at home. It's such a wrench to leave, I even offered to come back and help press the grapes - anything to go back!! Already dreaming of the next visit.....

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank chiantigirl66
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rome
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed September 11, 2009

We have been a few times at Poggio all'Olmo in the last 12 months, and we'll come back for sure... we have brought some friends, too, and everyone really loved the place.
We have stayed in one of the rooms, a few times, and one time in one of the apartments... we LOVE the terracotta floors and the country style furniture, and the view from the windows is totally beautiful!

It's the perfect spot if you want to visit the Chianti and the cities of Florence, Siena and San Gimignano, or if you just want to escape the city and chill out by the pool, which is absolutely gorgeous and clean.

Francesca and Milena are really nice, always smiling and ready to help with any need, they keep the rooms and the whole place absolutely clean and they give fantastic dining suggestions! :)

The place is extremely peaceful and relaxing... you are totally immersed in the colors and the sounds of the tuscan country, and the view of the vineyards and the hills is just amazing... watching the sunset sitting on the terrace, with a glass of Chianti wine... ohh, i miss that! :(
One of the things we like the most are the secluded spots near the apartments and the gazebo near the pool... there are those little corners with a table and a couple of chairs from which you can enjoy the view on the hills like you are in a secret garden... like if all that beautiful nature is there just for you... that feeling is priceless...

We've had such great times at Poggio all'Olmo that we really owed them a review... :)
Ciao!!

  • Stayed June 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank gravity71
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
santa rosa
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed December 29, 2008

We spent 4 nights here in June and did not want to leave. What a wonderful little place.

My wife and I spent hours and hours looking online at lodging options for our vacation to Italy. After booking Poggio Al'Olmo, I became worried about the low price (the old 'you get what you pay for' kind of thinking...). As we drove up the road after the turn off for Lamole we saw many beautiful places we could have booked, many that I recognized from my online research. Just as I was really starting to kick myself for not springing for a more expensive place we found the little bumby road which is the driveway to Poggio. Now I was fully convinced I'd blown it. As we rounded the corner where the house and apartments come into view we were in awe. The location and scenery are overwhelming.

Our room was modest size but the bathroom was rather large and well done. The grounds are very nice, not plush, but very well kept. Pictures do not do this place justice, and the pool is the best example. The pool area is very nice and VERY quiet! It was so hot we had to lay up around lunch time, otherwise you just begin to fade. I'll post some of my pics soon.

The breakfast is well worth it. Each day there were poached eggs, cereal, fruit and pastry. It was great to not have to worry about going to find breakfast. There are so many wonderful places to eat that the choice can be overwhelming. Francesca gave us wonderful restaurant recommendations.

If you are looking to relax in a location where you can really explore Chianti, this is the place!

John

  • Liked — Sooooo quiet
  • Disliked — No complaints
  • Stayed June 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank johnwgannon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wirral, Merseyside
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed November 17, 2008

I have stayed at Poggio all'olmo four times and always enjoyed it. I have been staying there on a friends recommendation since my children were small and never had a problem, HOWEVER, when I went to book last summer you can imagine my shock when I was told by Francesca that children were no longer welcome, especially in the pool area (which is next to the twin apartments) because the majority of her guests were older (and German) and didnt like to be disturbed by the noise while on holiday. They were there for the peace and quiet.
I had always had a good relationship with Francesca and we exchanged e-mails quite often, so it came as a massive shock to find that youngsters were no longer welcome.
That goes totally against the grain for an Italian as they are usually very family orientated, however as a single woman, running the family business I suppose Francesca has to worry about other things. I have however found other accomodation in the area which is of comparable quality and usually cheaper and yes, they accept children with open arms.
It's a great shame really as the farm is in a beautiful location overlooking the valley and chestnut and pine forests, and is a great centre for sightseeing being just off the S222 Florence-Siena road.
We have even had the pleasure of seeing wild boar and their striped youngsters in the early morning, running through the vineyards, a sight that will live with me forever. We have also seen hares, deer, pheasants and eagle and barn owls.
However, due to this new found attitude of only trying to please certain clients it is definitely not the place to take your children on holiday, unless they are mute angels who don't want to play in the pool and have fun!!

  • Liked — The views are stunning and the location for sightseeing is great.
  • Disliked — The converted barn always seems dusty and dirty and linen change is once a week only, which in high summer is no way near enough.
  • Stayed August 2005, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank acsienalover
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
consierge, Proprietario at Poggio all'Olmo, responded to this review, April 13, 2011
Google Translation
Ogni critica fatta è sempre da rispettare e da accettare, perchè serve a migliorare l'ambiente e il propio lavoro. La critica fatta dal signore non la trovo giusta come fatta per uno scopo personale. Descrivono Poggio all'olmo come un bel posto, ci sono stati tante volte ma trovano il posto polveroso e una vergogna che le lenzuola non vengono cambiate....Ci si domanda come mai sono tornati così tante volte a Poggio all'Olmo se gli risulta così sporco?!!!! I bambini son sempre benvenuti qui..certo con un certo rispetto per l'ambiente che il genitore dovrebbe trasmettere ad un figlio...... e non urla, pallonate contro i muri e verso gli ospiti, animali gonfiabili, sporcizia lasciata da per tutto,non voglio aggiungere altro per non scendere al livello di chi ha scritto la recensione....perchè ne potrei dire tante..ma non dei figli ma dei genitori....
Faccio questo lavoro per passione e con tutto il mio amore e se decido di dare una svolta e di rinunciare a determinate persone è perchè non si meritano di stare in un bel posto come questo e salvaguardare questa pace e questo paradiso. Però non si devono permettere di usare questo mezzo di comunicazione per diritto di rivalza, Lo devono dire direttamente a me!!!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Greve in Chianti hotels
3.1 mi away
Villa Bordoni
Villa Bordoni
#1 of 19 in Greve in Chianti
5.0 of 5 bubbles 524 reviews
1.9 mi away
Villa Le Barone
Villa Le Barone
#1 of 5 in Panzano in Chianti
5.0 of 5 bubbles 454 reviews
1.0 mi away
Relais Fattoria Valle in Panzano
Relais Fattoria Valle in Panzano
#2 of 5 in Panzano in Chianti
4.5 of 5 bubbles 115 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.6 mi away
Casale Le Masse
Casale Le Masse
#2 of 44 in Greve in Chianti
5.0 of 5 bubbles 92 reviews
3.2 mi away
Agriturismo Podere Torre
Agriturismo Podere Torre
#9 of 44 in Greve in Chianti
5.0 of 5 bubbles 143 reviews
1.0 mi away
Il Casello Country House B&B
Il Casello Country House B&B
#1 of 9 in Panzano in Chianti
4.5 of 5 bubbles 189 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Poggio all'Olmo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Poggio all'Olmo

Property: Poggio all'Olmo
Address: Localita Petriolo 30, 50022, Greve in Chianti, Italy
Location: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Florence > Greve in Chianti
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #15 of 44 B&Bs / Inns in Greve in Chianti
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Agriturismo poggio all'Olmo is situated 7 km from Greve in Chianti.A beautiful pool is available for the guests and apartments have a gorgeous view of the Tuscan hill ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Poggio all'Olmo reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Poggio All'Olmo Greve In Chianti, Italy - Tuscany

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing