We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Gorgeous views, a little hard to find”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Castello Vicchiomaggio
Ranked #3 of 19 Hotels in Greve in Chianti
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed March 17, 2013

This was a beautiful place to stay with comfortable, warm beds, nice new bathrooms and unbelievable views. The good thing to know about finding this place is that there is a hotel with a similar name outside Greve (Vinniomaggio) and that you need to go another kilometer or so to Greti to find Vicchiomaggio. Another helpful thing is that if you go in March, there aren't many tourists yet and many things are closed until April. Still, this was a magical place, as was all of Italy. Oh, also, when you rent a car to drive in Tuscany, it is almost always standard transmission and to get into reverse you have to push a button and pull up on the gear shift. This isn't explained and took us half a day to figure out!

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank lar48
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (455)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

198 - 204 of 455 reviews

Reviewed March 11, 2013

We spent this past weekend here, the first weekend of the season for the Castello, and we were the only guests. It was cold and rainy, definitely not a classic Tuscan weekend, but it was still a pleasure. A different side of Tuscany. Clean and comfortable suite with a kitchen and separate bedroom. The hosts are friendly and helpful and they serve probably the best breakfast buffet I've had in an Italian countryside hotel ... fresh bread and fruit, fresh and tasty cheeses, cereals and wonderfully rich pastries in the most decadent Italian style ... along with wonderful coffee, of course. A great location to explore Chianti. Make a stop in the main square of Greve, it's a charming little town with a number of good restaurants.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Cosmo_Felani
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 25, 2013

We were driving from Panzano to Florence and en route stopped into Castello Vicchiomaggio for a wine tasting, thinking we'd add a bottle to our growing collection. They were just opening and we almost turned around: good thing we didn't. After trying two or three samples, we picked up a couple bottles: one we drank a few nights later. The other, Castello Vicchiomaggio Chianti Classico Vigna la Prima Riserva 2008, we drank a couple days ago (8 months after our trip). I was knocked out. This was one of the best wines we brought home -- in fact our dinner guests asked to be sent the info so they could buy themselves a bottle. I know that this place is also an Inn but honestly we didn't stay there -- just looked around. Next time, we plan to stop there as well. BUT - don't forget to take home some Vigna la Prima Riserva 2008 as a great souvenier!

Room Tip: Wine tasting a MUST here
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank ASASG_7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 15, 2013

A working vineyard with beautiful accommodation. Our room was in La Canonica building with nice patio overlooking the valley.....Beautiful infity pool really nice for relaxing after a day in Florence or Siena....we had a cooking course making pasta.....we higlhly reccomended.
Ther`s a wine shop selling their famous wine and oil. Try Vigna La Prima.....

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank sara t
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 20, 2012

This review is a little delayed however the hotel and the Matta family deserve a review so I couldn't not write.

I booked Castello Vicchiomaggio as part of a WineShare membership for my boyfriend and we went there this September for 2 days after having spent some time in Florence and Pisa. Driving up the hill itself was when the magic started + the views of Tuscany are amongst the most beautiful we had ever seen and from the top of the castle it was just breathtaking.

The castle and the wineyard is extremely charming and our room (a superior suite in a new annex building next to the castle) was gorgeous. Initially I was disappointed not to have a room in the castle itself however it seems those rooms are selfservice. The whole building has been very nicely decorated and it still felt old worldly (in a great way).

The Matta family were a wonderful group of people who helped us with anything we needed and John Matta himself hosted the wine tour which was a fantastic addition to the experience. The whole family really added to our experience of Tuscany. For my boyfriend it was also great to get a tour of the estate and see the row of vines of which we will drinking the wine soon.

This estate is not a super luxurios estate as it has no restaurants but it offers everything you need for a fabulous and completely unforgettable holiday in one of the most beautiful places in the world. My only negtaive point is that the pool was not heated so we couldn't use it.

The wineyard and castle has been on top of our list for a fantastic and relaxing holiday and we hope to return every year.

Room Tip: any room with a view of the hills. We had the Galileo suite and it was gorgeous
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank L82London
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 18, 2012

We had our wedding party in Vicchiomaggio Castle in October 2012. The service was good and delightful, all our hosts were satisfied. However, if you want to organize a party there be aware of the poor professional skills of the Caste’s staff and of the landlady as well. It was impossible to gather simple information, such as the number of available chairs and, once gathered, it frequently changed through time: emails were very rarely answered, therefore misunderstanding happened quite frequently. The landlady seemed to forget all agreements and anytime everything needed to be discussed again from scratch. Prices are market average but she found the way to add uncommon extra charges for services, such as the use of the location after 5:30pm (in any case no later than 7pm!) or the different price levels for kids depending on age. Finally, it must be highlighted that we did not feel to be trusted at all when she told us that the number of kids she noticed was different from the one we had declared. The result at the end would be good given the location and the service, however if you want to avoid useless stress during the pre-wedding period, we would suggest you to evaluate also other options in Chianti, which is full of similar nice places.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank edm14
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 30, 2012

It is rather expensive and guess not for all travellers, but any visit to Tuscany will be highly appreciated if one can spare a day in this wonderful castle
The view from anywhere is magnificent, green mountains and a valley just facing the little hill where the castle lies. The typical yellow-pale houses, with thick walls .
The swimming-pool pouring water in the direction of the slope. The menu all -based in olive oil produced there, and the fine selection of Tuscanian wine; it all helps one to regret not being able to stay a few days more. The suites are faultless , with huge living-rooms . Make sure you select one with a view to the valley, not the parking lot. People are very receptive.
I did not had the chance of visiting the wineries, or undergoing a wine tasting experience there. But I guess that will be only different because the people there is very helpful. The wine we drank at the dinner was very good.

Room Tip: Makle sure you get your apartment facing the mountains
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank norbafreund
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Greve in Chianti
1.6 mi away
Villa Bordoni
Villa Bordoni
#1 of 19 in Greve in Chianti
576 reviews
5.4 mi away
Villa Le Barone
Villa Le Barone
#1 of 5 in Panzano in Chianti
497 reviews
12.3 mi away
Castello di Spaltenna Exclusive Tuscan Resort & Spa
Castello di Spaltenna Exclusive ...
#1 of 8 in Gaiole in Chianti
703 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.5 mi away
Hotel Villa Campomaggio Resort & Spa
Hotel Villa Campomaggio Resort &...
#2 of 15 in Radda in Chianti
553 reviews
9.6 mi away
Palazzo Leopoldo Dimora Storica & Spa
Palazzo Leopoldo Dimora Storica ...
#1 of 15 in Radda in Chianti
555 reviews
10.0 mi away
CDH Hotel Radda
CDH Hotel Radda
#4 of 15 in Radda in Chianti
870 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Castello Vicchiomaggio? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Castello Vicchiomaggio

Address: Via Vicchiomaggio 4, 50027, Greve in Chianti, Italy
Phone Number:
Location: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Florence > Greve in Chianti
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#2 Family Hotel in Greve in Chianti
#3 Romantic Hotel in Greve in Chianti
Price Range: $148 - $358 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Castello Vicchiomaggio 3*
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Castello Vicchiomaggio (Vicchiomaggio Castle), one of the most beautiful and well-preserved castles in Tuscany, immersed in a park of more than 130 hectares, is an elegant holiday farm, a perfect location for wedding receptions, meetings and events organisation, as well as a renowned wine estate.Located in the heart of Chianti, it is a jewel nestled among hills, and a shrine of hospitality to celebrate the most important day of your life, as well as a holiday resort offering the utmost relax, or to enjoy tasting of various wines and typical products and to organise your meeting or gala evening. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Hotels.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Booking.com, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Hotwire, Cancelon and TripOnline SA so you can book your Castello Vicchiomaggio reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Castello Vicchiomaggio Hotel Greve In Chianti
Castello Vicchiomaggio Greve In Chianti, Italy - Tuscany

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing