We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“UNBELIEVABLE STAY”
other travelers have booked this property
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Inquiry
Excellent
76 reviews
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Inquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Villa -
4 Bedrooms, 4 Bathrooms, Sleeps 8
Greve in Chianti, Tuscany

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 76 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
English first
German first
Italian first
Spanish first
Any
English first
Marioyd
Miami Beach, Florida
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“UNBELIEVABLE STAY”
Reviewed July 22, 2016 for a stay in June 2016

My family and I were blessed enough to stay at La Poggerina for
4 weeks. Emanuele, Gabriela and Silvio are truly beautiful people. They made our stay one we will remember forever. The recommendations on Restaurants, wines and points of interest were on point. The house is beautiful and very spacious . We truly enjoyed spending our morning in the garden with the beautiful views of all of the vineyards and olive trees. My nephew really liked gathering the eggs from the 8 chickens they have.

I would not think twice about staying at La Poggerina, they may be nicer homes (not in my opinion) but, the attention and care give by the owners to the guest is simply UNBELIEVABLE!!!

Hope to see you in the near future my friends !!!

Your friend,

Mario and Family!!!

Stayed June 2016, traveled with family

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Emanuele, Gaby, Silvio and the incredible Views.
Liked least: Leaving
Traveling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
Large groups People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
nicolekH3...
1 review
“Perfect location with perfect hosts and perfect home. Just perfect!”
Reviewed July 16, 2016 for a stay in May 2016

My husband and I have just recently returned from a vacation to Tuscany with my parents. It changed us. We enjoy life a little more, we move a little slower, we savor and appreciate the little things. I firmly believe this is largely in part to staying with and meeting Emanuele and his family at Villa Poggerina. Emanuele and his parents are so warm and welcoming. His mother even made us an amazing ragu pasta dinner. I've never had anything like it before. It was incredible. Emanuele gifted us bottles of wine, shared his tips and tricks for navigating the area, and even drank wine with us late into the night while telling stories. The property is even better than in the photos. The chickens and fresh chicken eggs were a particular hit with my family. The pool is gorgeous, the grounds are immaculately kept. We hired a private chef to cook pizza for us in the pizza oven and then another to teach us how to make pasta in the amazing remodeled kitchen. I can't praise the property or experience enough. It was an incredible week in Tuscany and we're so thankful to Emanuele and his family for making our stay so comfortable and memorable.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Other facilities & amenities Service
Liked best: The view, the hosts, the food.. we can't choose.
Liked least: Could use a dryer to pair with the washer for drying clothes on colder days
Traveling group: Extended Family
Your age range 25-34
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JPFitz816
Boston, Massachusetts
Level 4 Contributor
22 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Unbelievable - Truly Authentic Tuscan Experience”
Reviewed April 4, 2016 for a stay in March 2016
2
people found this review helpful

I hardly know where to begin. My family and I (Mom, Dad, brother (26), sister (21) and I (25), stayed at La Poggerina for a holiday at the end of March 2016 and had an incredible time.

Location: The villa is located about 15 minutes outside of Greve in Chianti in a gorgeous Tuscan landscape. It was very easy to get to Radda, Panzano, Montefioralle, San Gimignano, Figline, etc. if you rent a car (highly suggested). Apparently there is an easy train that runs from Figline to Florence, which we didn't do.

Property: The villa is situated on a property called La Poggerina which also includes the owners house, a church, a winery, and other farmhouse buildings. The rental villa is immaculate. The inside was beautiful, modern, and fully-equipped for a long stay holiday. There was something for everybody to do from billiards to pinball, etc.. The outside is simply stunning. The backyard, with full panoramic views, includes a a lush grass yard for bocce and other lawn games, a patio with nice seating groups, lounge chairs for sunbathing, and much more. There is even a nice swimming pool but that was not open due to the season that we stayed. Emanuele keeps the place looking incredible and authentic. There is a chicken coop on the property from which we were able to get fresh eggs for morning breakfast. Lastly, there is a pizza oven on the patio that made for one of the most memorable nights of our lives. The church on premise (stones throw away) also has it's own winery which sells bottles of great wine for less than 5EUR. Amazing place.

Owners: Emanuele and his family are beautiful people. They were waiting for us upon arrival with fresh charcuterie/cheese platter, fresh pasta/ragu, and local wine and olive oil. Since they live on the premises, Emanuele is quick to help out wherever needed. He made reservations and appointments for us at local restaurants and attractions and provided us with local Tuscan insight that you simply cannot get anywhere else. They treated our family like his own. We enjoyed learning about each others cultures over wine and pizza and would love to meet again some day.

Summary: 10/10. We would all go back tomorrow if we could. If you are looking for a truly authentic Tuscan/Italian family experience and not just a hotel room to retire to, then this is your place. This family worked so hard to ensure that we had a top-notch stay and they succeeded 100%. THANK YOU!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Authenticity, Emanuele and family, unbeatable location, views
Liked least: leaving
Traveling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GeraldP33...
Peoria, Illinois
2 reviews
“Outstanding villa and outstanding owners”
Reviewed October 18, 2015 for a stay in September 2015

The reviews of Villa la Poggerina were wonderful. We spent two weeks at the villa and were not disappointed. Everything was great. The grounds are beautiful and the villa was extremely well maintained with a kitchen which was extremely well equipped. The wifi worked extremely well. The pool table and pinball machine were neat additions. The swimming pool looked great but the temperature was not such that we could use it.
One of the outstanding features was the family who owns the villa . Emanuele and his parents went out of their way to make sure our visit was remarkable. Welcoming antipasta and pastamaking lessons were enjoyed. Emanuele gave us restaurant, vineyard, and sightseeing recommendations which were excellent. We also enjoyed the fresh eggs from villa chickens and herbs from the garden. The two weeks went quickly and we were definitely sad to leave

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Everything
Liked least: Nothing
Traveling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paul v
Canberra, Australia
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Villa La Poggerina provided quality accommodation and hospitality”
Reviewed September 22, 2015 for a stay in September 2015

Our host Emanuele, and his parents Silvio and Gabrielle, welcomed us on arrival with antipasto, and two bottles of local red wine. We had a very relaxing stay for a week. It was well worth the money spent.

Congratulations Emanuele!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Quality accommodation and hospitality
Liked least: leaving
Traveling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lizzie730...
Houston, Texas
Level 4 Contributor
45 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“Top-Notch Tuscan Villa”
Reviewed August 13, 2015 for a stay in August 2015
1
person found this review helpful

My family of 4 stayed in Villa la Poggerina for two weeks this summer. It was absolutely fabulous.

Other reviewers have remarked on how wonderful Emanuele and his parents are, how generous they are in providing fresh eggs, vegetables, a welcome platter of cured meats and cheeses, lasagna, pizza, etc. They have noted how friendly, helpful and attentive to detail Emanuele is. How he regularly asks if we need anything, and is happy to accommodate any desire. All true.

They talk about the amazing views, the inviting pool (with the super-fun water slide), all the amenities (pool table, pinball machine, chess board, DVDs, books, other games, etc.). And how the best part of the villa is being able to hang out in the evenings with a glass of wine. All true.

So, while I echo everything said by others, I wanted to add some things I didn't find in other reviews. First, the layout of the villa. The villa is essentially two stories with a finished attic space. The ground floor has an entry hall, three separate living room areas, a dining room, kitchen and half bath. The back door is off the kitchen. Outside is a casual seating area with two separating dining tables, a sizeable yard (we played soccer one night). The pool is in an adjacent yard.

The second floor consists of three bedrooms and one full bathroom. The finished attic space is separated, accessed by two separate staircases. The larger portion contains a fourth bedroom and full bathroom. The smaller portion is a large bathroom, accessed by a separate staircase in one of the bedrooms on the second floor.

All the bathrooms are a nice size, with good water pressure, etc.

Second, location. Fabulous base for exploring Tuscany, situated between Figline and Greve. Figline is a big enough town that has a nice grocery store, easy train service to Florence, and is situated close to the autostrada (for better access to Pisa, Montepulciano, Montalcino). Greve is close enough to head to for dinner (we had some excellent meals there), and a charming setting. The surrounding countryside is lush and green, with rolling hills. (Lucca and Pisa seem more flat, and further south was more brown.)

Third, air conditioning. We had some wonderful weather (compared to home in Houston) while we were there, but we also had some really hot days (upper 90s). We were concerned that the villa did not have air conditioning. While the hot weather meant we didn't enjoy sitting outside on those days, we were pleasantly surprised at how cool the inside was. The bedrooms are each equipped with fans, and the windows open to allow the cooling night breezes to flow through the house. Most of the time, the temperature inside was perfect, and on the hottest days, the temperature inside was certainly bearable, if a little warm.

Having such a nice home base during our trip was truly fantastic. It was really the highlight of our trip. We didn't feel the need to be out and about every day, or to eat dinner out every night because "home" was so comfortable. Villa la Poggerina was truly wonderful, and we highly recommend it.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Traveling group: Young Children
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sparky515
NY
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Amazing villa and hosts!”
Reviewed August 2, 2015 for a stay in June 2015

La Poggerina is a beautiful villa that reflects the pride and attentiveness shown by it's owners. The villa is spacious, immaculate and stacked with amenities and the grounds and pool are meticulously maintained. Emmanuel was extremely obliging and thoughtful from his first e-mail till the day we said our goodbyes. His attention to detail and dedication to ensuring that his guests enjoy themselves are apparent from the minute he greets you. In short, he is a man with a big heart!. Emmanuel happened to be making a pizza party for his friends and he and his friends made us a sampling of pizzas. His mom, Gabrielle made us one of her delicious lasagnas. The location of the villa allowed us to easily travel by train to Florence. We drove the Tuscan hills (they are full of hairpin turns) and visited wineries in the Chianti region, Sienna and several scenic villages, but we always looked forward to cooling off in the pool or sitting outside and sharing a good bottle of wine. La Poggerina sets the stage for an incredible Tuscan experience. Thanks Emmanuel and family for your gracious hospitality.

Traveling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from inquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travelers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travelers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing