We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very good hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Albergo del Chianti
Ranked #6 of 19 Hotels in Greve in Chianti
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
209 reviews
51 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 121 helpful votes
“Very good hotel”
Reviewed June 27, 2013

Fantastic location couldn't be bettered. Lovely gardens and pool a tad expensive for a three star but I think that goes withe territory in Chianti. Room was good although right next to lift shaft which could be a bit noisy especially first thing in morning when hotel was quiet.

  • Stayed June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mcadamwj
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

242 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    81
    95
    44
    13
    9
See reviews for
45
115
4
7
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (31)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
22 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed June 2, 2013

The location is perfect for this family run hotel and our first impression was lovely thanks to the 'vintage, wine country decor' of the lobby. The staff was helpful and friendly. ;Our room for three was in the annex (just next door to the lobby)-- it was large, clean and comfortable; breakfast was good--the egg dish is a specialty of the owner, so don't miss trying it. The owner's recommendations for parking AND dining were perfect. The most enjoyable for us was hanging out in their lobby, which is charming, due to the deco -- it was a great place to visit with other guests and utilize their free wi-fi. I would definitely stay here again.

Room Tip: The stairway in the annex is very dark and the stairs are steep, so you may want to look at this bef...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Luann B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Panania, Australia
Level Contributor
48 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed May 20, 2013

We and 2 other couples just spent 5 nights in this charming hotel. The rooms were clean and the staff were very helpful and obliging. The mine host Francesco was fantastic. He made us feel really very welcome and it was no trouble to him offering us advice and suggestions on local spots to visit. The breakfasts were plentiful and well presented. We would without hesitation recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank HorraP
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Anacortes, Washington
Level Contributor
8 reviews
Reviewed April 29, 2013

For a three person room it was a little small and really nothing special there. Is nice that you can really darken the room to get a good night sleep. The bathroom was fine, and everything was clean and in working order. Every place we stayed in Chianti had a continental breakfast but this one had the best/wides selection. The food was not anything to rave about but was nice. There is also a small bar in the lobby when you can have a drink while you wait for the slower people in your party. The location perfect, good food, good wine and all the sites of Greve (there are not many) are close by.
We went in April, will very early in the spring/summer for the region so the pool was not open, and there were not using the outdoor/inclosed garden space. Which would only make this place even better.
Staff were nice enough and occasionally helpful I did not have much interaction with them say negative or positive things about them.

Room Tip: Late spring and summer this is the place to stay.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sarah B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bristol, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed April 2, 2013

A great location in a great little town. The town itself is great, and the hotel is located on the main square so you can easily stroll back home after dinner. Very relaxed staff, friendly and helpful if you asked for anything. Room was very little, but perfectly functional, and quiet for a good nights sleep. We stayed just one night so it was fine. If staying longer may have requested a larger room. The hotel also has a pool, too cold when we were there to use it, but would imagine in Summer it would be a great little spot.
For the room itself probably give it a 3, but the location was great, so giving it a 4

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank HMissC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston
Level Contributor
20 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed January 2, 2013

We visited this hotel in November 2012 and was very disappointed in the quality of the rooms we had. What was so surprising was that it had gained 4 stars here on TripAdvisor. Our group only spend one night here, to which I am so grateful. The rooms seemed like they were from 1970's, having old beds ,bad sheets, awful furniture, gray towels, and lights that did not work.The rooms had a funny smell as well. I woke up all night from the wall heating unit that would turn on and off as the temperature fell and light up my room like a crazy pinball machine complete with lights and noise.I was afraid to use the blankets due to their condition.There were four of us and each had our own room and we all had the same experience. This was one of the worse nights of my life in a hotel. The people who ran the hotel were actually very nice and I am sorry to have to give a bad review but I have to be honest if only to save someone from a night like I experienced.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Nanette O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level Contributor
1,019 reviews
287 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 578 helpful votes
Reviewed November 21, 2012

I wasn't sure what to expect of this place given the reviews but we had nothing to worry about. Our room was nicely decorated and large with a comfortable bed, TV and fridge. It was a bit dated and the toilet seat had a large crack in it but nothing major. The dude on reception gave us a great welcome. He showed us where to park and suggested a few good restaurants and have us the code for the free wi-fi. We drove on to the piazza to the hotel to drop off our luggage and then parked about a 5 minute walk away in the city's free parking place. Location is unbeatable right on the corner of probably the prettiest piazza right in the centre of town. Sound proofing is not the best between walls - I was woken up by a couple returning to their room at 2.30am (not sure where you would go in Greve until that time so maybe it's not that common). Breakfast was alright. The pool and patio area looked really nice for summer.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank eatydrinky
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Greve in Chianti hotels
1.4 mi away
Villa Bordoni
Villa Bordoni
#1 of 19 in Greve in Chianti
534 reviews
3.3 mi away
Villa Le Barone
Villa Le Barone
#1 of 5 in Panzano in Chianti
468 reviews
2.4 mi away
Relais Fattoria Valle in Panzano
Relais Fattoria Valle in Panzano
#2 of 5 in Panzano in Chianti
121 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.4 mi away
Castello Vicchiomaggio
Castello Vicchiomaggio
#3 of 19 in Greve in Chianti
430 reviews
0.0 mi away
Albergo Giovanni da Verrazzano
Albergo Giovanni da Verrazzano
#12 of 19 in Greve in Chianti
74 reviews
4.0 mi away
Locanda Il Gallo
Locanda Il Gallo
#4 of 19 in Greve in Chianti
78 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Albergo del Chianti? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Albergo del Chianti

Property: Albergo del Chianti
Address: Piazza Giacomo Matteotti 86, 50022, Greve in Chianti, Italy
Location: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Florence > Greve in Chianti
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#5 Romantic Hotel in Greve in Chianti
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Albergo del Chianti 3*
Number of rooms: 16
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in the famous triangular square of the village of Greve in Chianti:Chianti, the hotel has 16 rooms renovated and modernized in 2012, to customers, single, double, triple and quadruple rooms, all with private bathroom and all comforts: air cond, heating, satellite TV, telephone, mini bars, safes and free wifi internet access.The strength of this hotel is centrally located with the ability to walk to various restaurants and many small craft shops located in the town square and in the country, but at the same time to offer a relaxing and tranquil space, in fact in the garden the hotel was converted into a 14m swimming pool with salt water where around x7m is served a breakfast buffet with homemade pastries, scrambled eggs, cold cuts, cheeses, cereals, etc. ...The Family Bussotti, owner of 'Hotel for about 20 years is present 24h on 24, creating a relaxed and informal atmosphere, providing customers with all the information in the area, what to do and what to visit, plus the chance to sample available products of the family farm, wine, extra virgin olive oil and grappa.Greve in Chianti is situated half way between Florence and Siena, the location is very strategic in the short time we reach virtually all the most famous places of Tuscany, above the area of Chianti Classico, then Florence, Siena, Lucca, Pisa, San Gimignano , Volterra, Radda, Gaiole the ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Albergo del Chianti reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Albergo Del Chianti Hotel Greve In Chianti
Albergo Del Chianti Greve In Chianti, Italy - Tuscany

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing