We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Review Highlights
Charming, relaxing, beautiful

We had a lovely visit. Accommodations were beautiful, breakfast was fantastic. Bring your bathing... read more

Reviewed 1 week ago
ellenbutchart
,
Staunton, Virginia
Monna Lisa was there?!

Our hotel recommended that we go here because it’s rumored that Monna Lisa spent summers. This was... read more

Reviewed 3 weeks ago
LAFUN
,
Boston, Massachusetts
Read all 24 reviews
  
Google
Recommended experiences in and around Greve in Chianti
from $89.86
More Info
from $50.54
More Info
from $120.18
More Info
Reviews (24)
Filter reviews
24 results
Traveler rating
16
7
0
1
0
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveler rating
16
7
0
1
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviews vineyard tour take home wine cellar dessert wine prosciutto bread pasta olive oil davide villa property explanation information dinner estate florence wines
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
2 - 7 of 24 reviews
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Our hotel recommended that we go here because it’s rumored that Monna Lisa spent summers. This was also my favorite tour we did! This tour took us around the property, gardens, and wine room. We had 4 courses - starter, first course, second course, dessert. There is no menu to choose from again, it’s all the chef’s selects. Our first course was melon with ricotta, pesto and bread chips. Our first course was pasta with veal. Then our second course (yes we were already full) was pesto potatoes with pork and tuna sauce over it. A lot of dishes also had a pickled onion too. It was a HOT humid summer day, so the dessert was perfect. We had peaches and grapes with lemon sorbet and raspberry drizzle. Our tour guide Christina was great as well! She knew so much about the property and the wines. She was also happy to answer all the questions.

Date of experience: August 2019
Thank LAFUN
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 15, 2019

I did not stay at this property, however my friend and I did the wine tasting tour and it was beyond amazing. As we were not staying in Greve we caught the bus from Florence which was super convenient and had lovely views along the way. It took about 45 minutes and the ticket cost 7 euros pp which you could pay cash to the driver as soon as you get on the bus. The bus stop is in the town of Greve, which is about a 20 minute walk from the Vignamaggio winery - the walk up is so beautiful and relaxing so it is quite enjoyable. This wine tour is way more intimate and enjoyable compared to the overpriced, huge group wine tours that keep you on a bus for half a day with barely any time at the wineries.
Chiara was amazing and provided us with lots of information about the winery, processes, production etc - perfect amount of info without getting bored. We tasted a rose and 3 red varieties that were paired with a tasting board of prosciutto, salami, olive oil and pecorino cheese (there is a vegetarian option also).
The tour lasted about 1and a half hours and we met some lovely people which we shared our afternoon with.

I could not recommend this more, and I would give 10 stars if I could! We have been in different parts of Italy for almost 3-4 weeks and this was by far my favourite day!!

1  Thank cob78
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 20, 2019

We visited as a pre-arranged group tour of the wine cellar, followed by a dinner in their restaurant. Knowing the rich history of the place, we were really looking forward to the occasion.
Did you know that the lady who was teh model for the famous Mona Lisa was supposed to live here? No? Neither would we if it weren't for our guide. While he had a 20-minute story to tell about it, the guide of the tour barely mentioned it. They just rushed us through the (quite unimpressive) wine cellar and that was it.
The problems started even before that. We arrived to the reception, which is also the entrance to their wine shop. We thought that we would visit it at the end, after tasting the wines and deciding which ones to take home. Instead, we were told that we should buy everything immediately since the shop is closing (it was 18:30!). When we pointed out that we have a dinner with them anyway and could buy the wines there, they replied that this is possible, but at restaurant prices! OK, so much for the wine; we of course didn't buy any.
After the tour, we had a dinner, which was supposed to showcase their wines. Some of them were actually very good, but again, we couldn't buy them without the hefty restaurant mark-up. And guess what: the waiters were the staff from the shop, which is literally 5 meters away in the same building!
The first dish was made of fresh ricotta, with fresh herbs and olive oil. It turned out to be the nicest and best dish of the evening. The pasta with meat ragout were standard, while the pepperonata stew looked like something that was served in a hurry; a few pieces of meat and two pieces of boiled carrots.
The shock was the dessert: they served us a roulade with jam that could be served at the end of a cheap, no-thrills meal in a trattoria and certainly not as a finale to a 69 EUR meal!

Date of experience: May 2019
Thank Matevz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 9, 2019 via mobile

We were staying at the hotel and decided to book the sunset vineyard tour. Simone was our host and he was superb. The tour lasted just over an hour and then we sat down to watch the beautiful scenery change colour before our eyes as the sun settles turning hills to a reddish/pinkish blur with dinner.

The food and wine pairings (included in this tour) were exquisite. Even the ‘simple’ beef ragu with home made tagliatelle was divine. Simone explained the different pairings wonderfully and we cannot commend him enough.

A wonderful evening!

Date of experience: July 2019
Thank Alessandro S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 10, 2019

As a guests of one of the accommodation facilities under the Vignamaggio group we had free tour of the main Vignamaggio villa. The tour was very interesting and the guide was very informative. However, the wine tasting (for 20 euro additional fee) was not good. We were offered only two types of wine and one desert wine. We expected more not only in terms of various vine types but also additional explanation about the Chianti history.

Date of experience: June 2019
Thank Damir S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews