We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A Wonderful Experience”
Review of Vignamaggio

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Vignamaggio
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed June 5, 2004

We stayed at Villa Vignamaggio from May 23-28 in room 1 in the Cenobio building. We thoroughly enjoyed our stay. Our room cost 170 euros per night and had a small kitchenette, which we used for breakfasts and to prepare dinner one evening (we felt that 10 euros each was too much to pay for breakfast every day). Vignamaggio is loaded with charm. We discovered the Villa as most people do, as the setting for the movie Much Ado About Nothing. We had a great time wandering around the estate. We went on the winery tour (15 euros each) and had dinner at the Villa (35 euros each). Both events were probably overpriced but we enjoyed interacting with the Villa staff (each of whom we thought was delightful and eager to please). Vignamaggio is an award-winning winery and the wines are well worth drinking while you are there. Vignamaggio is also a very convenient location for touring all of the Chianti region.

Our room was spacious and romantic and there were screens on all of the windows, enabling us to leave the windows open continuously.

We have stayed in many hotels in Italy and this is one of the best, all things considered (location, amenities, price). We highly recommend Villa Vignamaggio.

6  Thank MikeSeattle_WA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (332)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

242 - 248 of 332 reviews

A TripAdvisor Member
Houston, TX
32
Reviewed April 12, 2004

We stayed in the Casaccia for a weekend and fell in love with Vignamaggio. The grounds are gorgeous and the atmosphere is very relaxing. We could sit on our porch and not see a soul for hours. We loved it! The wine tour/tasting at the hotel was short yet, fun. The organized dinner was really nice as well. This is a comfortable country estate with fantastic wine & hospitality.

2  Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 30, 2004

Our family of four spent two nights at Vignamaggio last week. Like the previous reviewer, we rented apartment number 4 and were pleased with the spaciousness of the family suite. The suite includes a small kitchenette, fine master bedroom, two twin beds upstairs, and a better-than-average bathroom. The furnishings are simple but adequate.
Vignamaggio overlooks several hillside farms and vineyards and features attractive private gardens for the guests' enjoyment. There are two swimming pools (not useful for our March visit) and a somewhat rundown tennis court. We did not participate in the Wednesday wine tasting offered at the estate. The breakfasts are very good, but somewhat pricey (10 Euro for continental, 15 Euro for full breakfast), and there is a very nice lounge in the room adjacent to the breakfast dining area. We did not find the staff to be particularly helpful, though they were capable. Be advised that this is not a full service hotel, as staff is available only during certain times of the day. We toured San Gimignano and Siena from our base at Vignamaggio (a lot of winding country roads), and we had dinner at a good spot in Greve. Overall, we had a positive experience at Vignamaggio and would return there again.

8  Thank RRC9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 30, 2003

We stayed in Apt. #4. It was a lovely apt. Big bedroom with a view of the valley, a canopy bed, nice size bathroom and a large living room with a beautiful huge fireplace.The ladies at the reception area were so helpful and friendly, in fact they made our stay very enjoyable as they went beyond the norm!The grounds are lovely and as a guest you have unrestricted access. This villa is famous as the young lady who posed for the painting, Mona Lisa was born and raised here, also the movie Much Ado About Nothing was filmed here.The estate has vineyards and olive groves and they make their own wine and olive oil.One of the reasons I think Villa Vignamaggio sets it's self apart from other lodging is they have some extra special touches such as; the lounges of each of the buildings have a supply of daily newspapers from different countries, bottles of wines, baked pastries, and snacks for their guests to enjoy.The buffet breakfast is extra. It was quite good, with a variety of items to choose from.We loved the area and Greve is one of our favorite towns with good restaurants and most anything you need you will find in this town.We really enjoyed our stay at Villa Vignamaggio and would not hestitate to recommend it to anyone!

  • Stayed: January 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
15  Thank SeabeckTraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 2 days ago
Google Translation

Stayed: May 2017
Thank Tibor H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 15, 2017 via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: August 2017, traveled with friends
Thank Hülya S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 14, 2017 via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: October 2017, traveled as a couple
Thank Emidio T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Profilo R, Responsabile relazioni pubbliche at Vignamaggio, responded to this reviewResponded October 24, 2017
Google Translation

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Greve in Chianti
1.9 mi away
Villa Le Barone
Villa Le Barone
#1 of 5 in Panzano in Chianti
506 reviews
3.2 mi away
Villa Bordoni
Villa Bordoni
#1 of 19 in Greve in Chianti
588 reviews
4.5 mi away
Castello Vicchiomaggio
Castello Vicchiomaggio
#3 of 19 in Greve in Chianti
460 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.1 mi away
Albergo del Chianti
Albergo del Chianti
#6 of 19 in Greve in Chianti
273 reviews
8.8 mi away
Locanda Le Piazze
Locanda Le Piazze
#1 of 10 in Castellina In Chianti
398 reviews
6.3 mi away
Villa la Borghetta Spa Resort
Villa la Borghetta Spa Resort
#1 of 6 in Figline e Incisa Valdarno
1,405 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Vignamaggio? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Vignamaggio

Address: Via Petriolo 5, 50022, Greve in Chianti, Italy
Phone Number:
Location: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Florence > Greve in Chianti
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 58 Specialty Lodging in Greve in Chianti
Price Range: $192 - $302 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 22
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Half way between Florence and Siena, the estate extends for over 200 hectares in the hills of the Chianti region. Vignamaggio overlooks a countryside landscape, of forests, vineyards and ancient hamlets scattered about on the surrounding hills. At the core of the farm is the Renaissance villa, surrounded by Italian style gardens, which fill the spaces between rows of cypresses, vines and olive trees. A working farm since 1404, Vignamaggio has been cultivating the vines and producing wine for over 600 years. Open to the public since 1987, the historical dwelling offers first class accommodation with rooms, suites and apartments in the estate's farmhouses. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets and TripOnline SA so you can book your Vignamaggio reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Vignamaggio Hotel Greve In Chianti
Vignamaggio Greve In Chianti, Italy - Tuscany

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing