We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lived up to the beauty of the movie...”
Review of Vignamaggio

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Vignamaggio
Certificate of Excellence
NJ
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Lived up to the beauty of the movie...”
Reviewed September 10, 2013

Much Ado About Nothing! We stayed for five days in August and loved our cottage, especially cooking breakfast and eating out on our terrace overlooking the Chianti hills. The food in the restaurant was delicious and creative; we had one a la carte dinner and also the wine tasting dinner after the tour of the wine cellars, gardens and house. Hotel staff were friendly and helpful. The location was perfect for visiting Florence, the new Antinori winery, Greve and lots of other Chianti towns.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank mosNj
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

312 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    218
    64
    21
    5
    4
See reviews for
58
163
Solo
0
7
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (51)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Nashville, Tennessee
Level Contributor
14 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed August 29, 2013

We stayed at the Villa on July 29 staying for three nights. Perfect base to visit Tuscany from. Customer care exceptional. We did the tasting dinner and tour and was one of the highlights of our trip.
We left regrettably and headed for Rome. After we arrived in Rome we discovered we had left our phone at the Villa. We called and they had the phone couriered to our hotel in Rome. What more could we say!!!!

We will be back!!

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Phil W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bergen, Norway
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed August 14, 2013

We stayed here for several days while we explored the Chianti district by car. It was a perfect base, with Greve a short drive away if you wanted to try other restaurants than Vignamaggio's.

The breakfast was served a short walk from the building we stayed in, and it was a romantic walk through the garden. One of the swimming pools was not in use during our stay, but that was not a problem as we were almost alone when we spent a few hours by the swimming pool in use.

The room was large and spacious, with a luxurious feeling. Tea, candy and biscuits are placed several places, so you can serve yourself when you feel like a snack.

The garden and surroundings are magnificent, and you can spend hours just walking around looking at flowers and birds.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Bergen1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
boston area usa
Level Contributor
23 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
Reviewed August 9, 2013

We stayed in the Mona Lisa Suite and it was so clean and magical.The people were sooo nice!!!
The view was so pretty from our room and the food was soo good. We would defently come back next year!!!

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank chloelue930
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Johannesburg, South Africa
Level Contributor
13 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed August 7, 2013

We stayed in a self catering apartment for 4 days, it was located away from the main buildings and was so peaceful. The little garden and table and chairs for 2 were wonderful for early morning coffee. The swimming pools are just wow! The gardens and views are heaven. The staff at reception are also very friendly and helpful. I would recommend this establishement for anyone visiting Chianti. It is really 5 star!

Room Tip: The apartments are heaven.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Heidi F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Surrey, UK
Level Contributor
12 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed August 5, 2013

We came across the villa last year when we did a wine and lunch tour - we were so impressed that we decided to stay at the villa this year and also inquire about wedding services. Staff here were very friendly and helpful - I have to say a special thanks to Sandro who was very helpful and knowledgeable with the restaurant meals, ingredients and suitable wines.

The food here is amazing - the restaurant has a selection of authentic Italian meals, all cooked and presented to perfection. The room we stayed in was rustic, clean and tidy. The villa itself, pools, garden, wellness center are all well maintained. Overall the trip was exactly what we wanted - relaxing with good food and good wine!

I have recommended the villa to friends who will hopefully pay a visit. If you are looking for a peaceful break for a couple of nights I highly recommend staying here, however I couldn't stay for more than 3/4 nights and I advise hiring a car so you can visit nearby villages and towns.

Room Tip: all rooms are very nice and well equipped. We stayed in the Gelissimo suite, which is one of their s...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank meena m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed August 4, 2013

This place is a defitinite "must" when visiting the Chianti region.

We visited the restaurant during late lunch, and selected some simple pasta dishes. They were absolutely spot on, - well composed, and a delicate balance between the flavors. Our 5 year old daughter was treated as a princess by an observant waiter, and the wine recommended by the shop (a cold Rose, not our usual choice), completed the taste to perfection.

The shop next to the restaurant includes a little museum, and offers competent guidance for both wines and for the other products in the shop (Olive oils, beauty products produced of olives and of course balsamic).

Ask for a table at the terrasse.

Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank Lars N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Greve in Chianti
4.5 mi away
Castello Vicchiomaggio
Castello Vicchiomaggio
#3 of 19 in Greve in Chianti
430 reviews
1.9 mi away
Villa Le Barone
Villa Le Barone
#1 of 5 in Panzano in Chianti
467 reviews
3.2 mi away
Villa Bordoni
Villa Bordoni
#1 of 19 in Greve in Chianti
534 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.8 mi away
Castello di Spaltenna Exclusive Tuscan Resort & Spa
Castello di Spaltenna Exclusive ...
#1 of 8 in Gaiole in Chianti
654 reviews
5.2 mi away
Palazzo Leopoldo Dimora Storica & Spa
Palazzo Leopoldo Dimora Storica ...
#2 of 15 in Radda in Chianti
523 reviews
3.5 mi away
Hotel Villa Campomaggio Resort & Spa
Hotel Villa Campomaggio Resort &...
#1 of 15 in Radda in Chianti
521 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Vignamaggio? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Vignamaggio

Property: Vignamaggio
Address: Via Petriolo 5, 50022, Greve in Chianti, Italy
Location: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Florence > Greve in Chianti
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 59 Specialty Lodging in Greve in Chianti
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 22
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Half way between Florence and Siena, the estate extends for over 200 hectares in the hills of the Chianti region. Vignamaggio overlooks a countryside landscape, of forests, vineyards and ancient hamlets scattered about on the surrounding hills. At the core of the farm is the Renaissance villa, surrounded by Italian style gardens, which fill the spaces between rows of cypresses, vines and olive trees. A working farm since 1404, Vignamaggio has been cultivating the vines and producing wine for over 600 years. Open to the public since 1987, the historical dwelling offers first class accommodation with rooms, suites and apartments in the estate's farmhouses. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotwire, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets, Priceline and HRS so you can book your Vignamaggio reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Vignamaggio Hotel Greve In Chianti
Vignamaggio Greve In Chianti, Italy - Tuscany

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing