We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect in every way!”
Review of Vignamaggio

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Vignamaggio
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed August 9, 2013

We stayed in the Mona Lisa Suite and it was so clean and magical.The people were sooo nice!!!
The view was so pretty from our room and the food was soo good. We would defently come back next year!!!

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank chloelue930
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (331)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

113 - 119 of 331 reviews

Reviewed August 7, 2013

We stayed in a self catering apartment for 4 days, it was located away from the main buildings and was so peaceful. The little garden and table and chairs for 2 were wonderful for early morning coffee. The swimming pools are just wow! The gardens and views are heaven. The staff at reception are also very friendly and helpful. I would recommend this establishement for anyone visiting Chianti. It is really 5 star!

Room Tip: The apartments are heaven.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Heidi F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 5, 2013

We came across the villa last year when we did a wine and lunch tour - we were so impressed that we decided to stay at the villa this year and also inquire about wedding services. Staff here were very friendly and helpful - I have to say a special thanks to Sandro who was very helpful and knowledgeable with the restaurant meals, ingredients and suitable wines.

The food here is amazing - the restaurant has a selection of authentic Italian meals, all cooked and presented to perfection. The room we stayed in was rustic, clean and tidy. The villa itself, pools, garden, wellness center are all well maintained. Overall the trip was exactly what we wanted - relaxing with good food and good wine!

I have recommended the villa to friends who will hopefully pay a visit. If you are looking for a peaceful break for a couple of nights I highly recommend staying here, however I couldn't stay for more than 3/4 nights and I advise hiring a car so you can visit nearby villages and towns.

Room Tip: all rooms are very nice and well equipped. We stayed in the Gelissimo suite, which is one of their s...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank meena m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 4, 2013

This place is a defitinite "must" when visiting the Chianti region.

We visited the restaurant during late lunch, and selected some simple pasta dishes. They were absolutely spot on, - well composed, and a delicate balance between the flavors. Our 5 year old daughter was treated as a princess by an observant waiter, and the wine recommended by the shop (a cold Rose, not our usual choice), completed the taste to perfection.

The shop next to the restaurant includes a little museum, and offers competent guidance for both wines and for the other products in the shop (Olive oils, beauty products produced of olives and of course balsamic).

Ask for a table at the terrasse.

Stayed: August 2013, traveled with family
1  Thank Lars N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 1, 2013

We stayed in the "cottage" for one week. We enjoyed being able to be on our own in the apartment as well as using the pool, fitness, tasting the wines and using the restaurant. You can use Vignamaggio as a hotel (main Building) or some of the houses on the heritage as apartments. The old building is from pre-1400 and is just lovely. The garden is fantastic and the main pool has a magnificent view accross the hills of Greve in Chianti. Fitness room is good and the restaurant would have had a Michelin star if located in a major city. We had dinner twice - one a la carte choosing the wines ourselves - and one as part of the winetasting with a fixed menu. A la carte was by far better and the wines were the same.
A minus about the "cottage" no views from bedrooms and the living room is small. Aircon Works well and there is a nice terrase outside.
We would come Again!!

Room Tip: Choose the main Building our one of the house close - do not choose the house away from the manin Bu...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank DK2820-Explorer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 18, 2013

My teenaged son and I visited Vignamaggio for a tour of the cellars and gardens, specifically because I am an English teacher, Shakespeare fan, and by extension, a Kenneth Branagh fan. Vignamaggio is where Branagh chose to film Shakespeare's play Much Ado About Nothing, a hilarious comedy starring Branagh, Emma Thompson, Denzel Washington, Keanu Reeves, Michael Keaton, and Robert Sean Leonard.
Seeing the setting in person was almost spiritual, it is so beautiful. It is also e backdrop for part of DaVinci's Monna Lisa, and you can pose and photograph your friends in front of the beautiful landscape that inspired the Master.
In addition to the Chianti Classic and other wines, Vignamaggio also produces olive oil, and I left with a few beautiful bottles, both of classic and infused.
Our tour guide was amusing, engaging, and wonderful. Strongly recommended!

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Kimberly R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 17, 2013 via mobile

This is the place to book for a wedding, an anniversary, a honeymoon or just a romantic weekend! A medieval castle with beautiful rooms, beautiful garden, pools, amazing food, a forest trail to walk off your meals and a view you can enjoy for hours and hours.

  • Stayed: July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Oslox2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Greve in Chianti hotels
3.2 mi away
Villa Bordoni
Villa Bordoni
#1 of 19 in Greve in Chianti
588 reviews
4.5 mi away
Castello Vicchiomaggio
Castello Vicchiomaggio
#3 of 19 in Greve in Chianti
459 reviews
1.9 mi away
Villa Le Barone
Villa Le Barone
#1 of 5 in Panzano in Chianti
501 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.1 mi away
Albergo del Chianti
Albergo del Chianti
#6 of 19 in Greve in Chianti
270 reviews
2.3 mi away
La Camporena, Agriturismo Anna
La Camporena, Agriturismo Anna
#1 of 58 in Greve in Chianti
221 reviews
2.5 mi away
Borgo Del Cabreo
Borgo Del Cabreo
#6 of 58 in Greve in Chianti
48 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Vignamaggio? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Vignamaggio

Address: Via Petriolo 5, 50022, Greve in Chianti, Italy
Phone Number:
Location: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Florence > Greve in Chianti
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 58 Specialty Lodging in Greve in Chianti
Price Range: $172 - $325 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 22
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Half way between Florence and Siena, the estate extends for over 200 hectares in the hills of the Chianti region. Vignamaggio overlooks a countryside landscape, of forests, vineyards and ancient hamlets scattered about on the surrounding hills. At the core of the farm is the Renaissance villa, surrounded by Italian style gardens, which fill the spaces between rows of cypresses, vines and olive trees. A working farm since 1404, Vignamaggio has been cultivating the vines and producing wine for over 600 years. Open to the public since 1987, the historical dwelling offers first class accommodation with rooms, suites and apartments in the estate's farmhouses. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Priceline, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Travelocity, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets and TripOnline SA so you can book your Vignamaggio reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Vignamaggio Hotel Greve In Chianti
Vignamaggio Greve In Chianti, Italy - Tuscany

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing