We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

“What an Experience - out of this world” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Vignamaggio

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Vignamaggio
Certificate of Excellence
Kingswood Surrey
Level Contributor
13 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“What an Experience - out of this world”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 20, 2013

Booked this villa because it had featured as the setting for the 1993 film of Much Ado About Nothing (Kenneth Branagh, Emma Thompson, Denzel Washington etc), fell in love with the location and didn't even look at review sites before going. Stayed in the Villa itself (Leonardo Suite) for 2 nights R & R before Rome. It was simply Paradise on Earth. Beautiful location, stunning views, pools (plural) a fitness centre, a working winery, ornamental gardens and HISTORY - truly immense experience.

I am not recommending this villa as I want to keep it all to myself.................!!

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Christopher B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

282 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    195
    58
    21
    4
    4
See reviews for
51
151
Solo
0
5
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (45)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 9, 2013 via mobile

Just returned from vignamaggio for a wonderfull winetasting, wine tour and lunch! Although It has been raining the whole afternoon, we had a great time! Nice friendly guide (Sandro), who's told us all about the wine, the wine making process. This accompanied by a great 3 course lunch! Beautiful place, surroundings and Tuscan feel!

Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
3 Thank Martijn S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SAN ANTONIO
Level Contributor
32 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 5, 2013

Booked this hotel to use as a base to enjoy the Chianti region. We had some rain so it was not as wonderful as we could have imagined, but the property is wonderful. The room was great, the location superb and the staff did everything to make us welcome. The breakfast is 14 euros and worth the price, but if you don't want it everyone morning for the price that is the only potential negative to the property.

We arrived at the property after lunch was finished and they still took care of us - Great value

Room Tip: We had an apartment with a view of the vineyards - definitely worth the money
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank FVILL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SE USA
Level Contributor
25 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 27, 2013

Vignamaggio had been recommended to me by someone who had been to Italy last year. When I first started researching it, I was a little hesitant to stay here, based on TA reviews.
However, the person in charge of reservations could not have been more helpful. She answered all of my numerous emailed questions promptly and in detail. She sent photos of the different accommodations available, and when we arrived, let us look at two different apartments and choose.

Heed the advice of an earlier poster, set your expectations accordingly, and you will not be disappointed. Think of it more as renting an apartment rather than staying at a hotel. We stayed in an apartment in the farmhouse. It was spacious, with a living area separate from the bedroom. There was a table and chairs and a small, self-contained kitchenette. Breakfast was served in this building, so if you want to eat this meal, it is very close. We did not because we were never that hungry in the mornings, but we did check it out and there was quite a large buffet offered.

The gardens and grounds are very pretty also, and all the surrounding scenery begs to be photographed.

The drive into town is not that far, much closer than places in Panzano.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ssdssi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 22, 2013

My husband and I stayed here for our honeymoon-- we loved it. It was so quiet and peaceful, and the food we had at the restaurant was unbelievably good. It was one of the highlights of the trip, and we already wish we could go back. The wine tour and lunch were awesome-- incredible food and we ate with some fun people we didn't know who had gone on the tour. The views from the restaurant are amazing too. Swimming pools, peace and quiet, plenty of time to enjoy the sun and read, incredible wine and food, and lovely views everywhere. I miss it.

Note that the rooms are not luxury-- it's an old farmhouse, and they are an agriturismo site, so it's not meant to be like a hotel. But the room was comfortable and we didn't care anyway because we loved being outside and eating at the restaurant so much.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank gurkle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ojai,CA
Level Contributor
24 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 16, 2013

We have stayed before at Vignamaggio,and I really cannot undertand the criticism of the staff. They are all very correct, smiling and helpful. The restaurant on the night we ate there was not very good , our poor server was alone and everything took a long time and not too interesting( undercooked pasta, strange salad,etc). Okay ,the restaurants in Greve were not much better! We used to live in the area and it has changed alot in the quality! A problem with the stay is that the rooms are quite cold in bad weather as there are rainy days in spring and fall. I seem to remember that there are laws in Italy about heating in hotels in this period. There is really no cosy warm salon with fireplace to sit and read or have a drink. They do have a room in the breakfast area, but it is a bit modern and unwelcoming. I do find it lovely that there are bottles of wine around for tasting, also biscotti, some of the critics should appreciate this more, as it is gratis. Everything we asked of the staff was promptly taken care of.

Room Tip: I like the farm house better than the villa. The breakfast is much closer.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank neenhilde
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 16, 2013

Simply special and perfect, Vignamaggio is not exactly an hotel...there are so many things to do, to see, to enjoy. Great wines and food.
We have been in the main villa for 4 days during the last fall and we just scratched the surface, we'll definitely be back
Caroline

Room Tip: drink monalisa riserv 2006
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank caroline t
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Greve in Chianti
3.2 mi away
Villa Bordoni
Villa Bordoni
#1 of 19 in Greve in Chianti
5.0 of 5 stars 467 reviews
1.9 mi away
Villa Le Barone
Villa Le Barone
#1 of 5 in Panzano in Chianti
5.0 of 5 stars 425 reviews
4.5 mi away
Castello Vicchiomaggio
Castello Vicchiomaggio
#3 of 19 in Greve in Chianti
4.5 of 5 stars 398 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Relais Fattoria Valle in Panzano
Relais Fattoria Valle in Panzano
#2 of 5 in Panzano in Chianti
4.5 of 5 stars 101 reviews
3.5 mi away
Hotel Villa Campomaggio Resort & Spa
Hotel Villa Campomaggio Resort &...
#1 of 16 in Radda in Chianti
4.5 of 5 stars 467 reviews
7.9 mi away
Castello di Spaltenna Exclusive Tuscan Resort & Spa
Castello di Spaltenna Exclusive ...
#1 of 8 in Gaiole in Chianti
5.0 of 5 stars 578 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Vignamaggio? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Vignamaggio

Property: Vignamaggio
Address: Localita Petriolo 5, 50022, Greve in Chianti, Italy
Location: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Florence > Greve in Chianti
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 58 Specialty Lodging in Greve in Chianti
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 22
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Half way between Florence and Siena, the estate extends for over 200 hectares in the hills of the Chianti region. Vignamaggio overlooks a countryside landscape, of forests, vineyards and ancient hamlets scattered about on the surrounding hills. At the core of the farm is the Renaissance villa, surrounded by Italian style gardens, which fill the spaces between rows of cypresses, vines and olive trees. A working farm since 1404, Vignamaggio has been cultivating the vines and producing wine for over 600 years. Open to the public since 1987, the historical dwelling offers first class accommodation with rooms, suites and apartments in the estate's farmhouses. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotwire, Hotels.com, Priceline, Odigeo and Travelocity so you can book your Vignamaggio reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Vignamaggio Hotel Greve In Chianti
Vignamaggio Greve In Chianti, Italy - Tuscany

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing