We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

“Wonderful experience” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Vignamaggio

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Vignamaggio
Certificate of Excellence
New York
Level Contributor
11 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Wonderful experience”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 7, 2013

We didn't expect much but at the end had wonderful time during our wine tour at Vignamaggio.Our tour guide (young girl whose name I don't remember) was very knowledgeable and time flew very quickly. We are not wine experts, so we found a lot of new and interesting information. It was great to see how wine is made and kept. I wish wine tasting was more extensive though. But overall great experience!

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank efrosiniya
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

278 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    192
    58
    20
    4
    4
See reviews for
50
148
Solo
0
5
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (43)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Singapore, Singapore
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 5, 2013

we have been only for a couple of days, unfortunately!! it looks like plunging in a dream....in a fairytale..a combination of beauty , history, culture, courteousness, elegance
dont forget wine and food: I could stay at the table forever.
definitely it`s wprth the money
kathleen, singapore

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank anjolin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Colorado
Level Contributor
54 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 3, 2013

We have stayed all over Italy in a variety of accommodations and this is the one place that stands out beyond anything else. Vignamaggio is a Chianti wine enthusiast's dream, however, even if you are not into wines the place is amazing. THis is what we all dream Tuscany to be. Sensational views, vineyards, restaurant and staff is passionate about food and wine. Breakfast is exceptional. Definitely comfortable to bring very young children, however, not the place to bring children over 4 as with any vineyard. Every meal is gourmet.

Room Tip: Be sure to do a "Tasting Dinner"
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank D0wnhillSkier
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dallas
Level Contributor
25 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 11, 2013 via mobile

Villa vignamaggio was recommended by a friend who stayed here many years ago. It seems the focus is on wine not guests staying at the hotel. First the positives, beautiful setting in Chianti countryside, awesome wines, great wine tour, friendly wine bar staff, excellent restaurant. Note I said nothing about the hotel. The front desk reception seemed put off by our check in process even though we were the only ones at the hotel. There was no assistance to our room and the elevator was turned off. I ended up hauling both my large suitcases up two flights of stairs. Ok in a one star or a hostel, unacceptable in a five star. In addition, some of the other guests lost electricity and if it wasn't for the restaurant staff no one would have helped them out since reception closes at 7. When we tried to book activities with the front desk they took lots of phone calls and again seemed annoyed by our presence. Everyone working reception should be put through a customer service training and coached daily as their arrogance and lack of interest provided an extremely poor impression. Maybe villa vignamaggio should focus on what they do best, wine making as their hotel experience was very poor. If it was not for the excellent wine bar and restaurant staff this review would be one star.

Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
3 Thank Aggie9797
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reston, Virginia
Level Contributor
29 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 10, 2013

My husband and I along with our 2 young children stayed here and it was lovely, but it would have been better later in the season. Unfortunately I had read in Frommer's that there was a heated pool which was wrong. Then the jacuzzi was only for ages 12 and up! My kids were VERY disappointed. They had horseback riding, but only for ages 10 and up I think. Then we went to the kids play area and it was obviously not ready for use as everything was still covered! So basically it was a great place for kids...in the summer. Our room was nice and large and it was a very peaceful place overall. We enjoyed going into Greve and found a GREAT bakery. The hotel restaurant was great and the service was wonderful throughout. My kids enjoyed finding the little chocolate eggs in the common areas throughout the hotel but I had remembered reading that fresh fruit and other snacks were always in the common rooms, but aside from the chocolates and some tasty biscotti, we didn't find anything. Very nice bathroom although no tub which may be a problem for couples with very small children (and we were in a suite).

Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
Helpful?
Thank Mary O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
london
Level Contributor
22 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2013

We stayed at Villa Vignamaggio in late March and we thought this place has changed a lot since we last stayed in 2004. While it seems to have increased capacity it has lost some of its charm. Upon arrival reception was prompt while the welcome was rather floppy. After having been told "do's and dont's" we were told that dinner was served at the restaurant between 5.30pm and 8.30pm and we instantly felt like being in an old people's home.The room in the Villa was dark (dark green felt-carpet did not help light reflections), did not look like what we expected and what's reflected on their website.
The Garden and anything outside the premise is beautiful and neat. We walked one of the hiking paths and had a great time even though the trail was not very well maintained and included crossing a creek jumping on stones and tree trunks to follow the path.
Altogether it is an acceptable place - thanks to being surrounded by amazing acres of nature but it has lost its charm and opens a lot of space for improvement to justify the price level.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank luxustussi44
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rijeka, Croatia
Level Contributor
336 reviews
66 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 125 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 7, 2013

We spent a longer weekend there and it was just unspeakable, the place, the accomodation and services. location is gerat for visits to near citeies and is just a right place to stay and rest. deffinitelly will go there again and spend some more time there. It was one of the best hollidays ever.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank JurijKobal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Greve in Chianti
3.2 mi away
Villa Bordoni
Villa Bordoni
#1 of 19 in Greve in Chianti
5.0 of 5 stars 456 reviews
1.9 mi away
Villa Le Barone
Villa Le Barone
#1 of 5 in Panzano in Chianti
5.0 of 5 stars 418 reviews
4.5 mi away
Castello Vicchiomaggio
Castello Vicchiomaggio
#3 of 19 in Greve in Chianti
4.5 of 5 stars 387 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Relais Fattoria Valle in Panzano
Relais Fattoria Valle in Panzano
#2 of 5 in Panzano in Chianti
4.5 of 5 stars 98 reviews
7.9 mi away
Castello di Spaltenna Exclusive Tuscan Resort & Spa
Castello di Spaltenna Exclusive ...
#1 of 8 in Gaiole in Chianti
5.0 of 5 stars 565 reviews
7.5 mi away
Castello del Nero Boutique Hotel & Spa
Castello del Nero Boutique Hotel...
#1 of 4 in Tavarnelle Val di Pesa
4.5 of 5 stars 500 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Vignamaggio? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Vignamaggio

Property: Vignamaggio
Address: Localita Petriolo 5, 50022, Greve in Chianti, Italy
Location: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Florence > Greve in Chianti
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 58 Specialty Lodging in Greve in Chianti
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 22
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Half way between Florence and Siena, the estate extends for over 200 hectares in the hills of the Chianti region. Vignamaggio overlooks a countryside landscape, of forests, vineyards and ancient hamlets scattered about on the surrounding hills. At the core of the farm is the Renaissance villa, surrounded by Italian style gardens, which fill the spaces between rows of cypresses, vines and olive trees. A working farm since 1404, Vignamaggio has been cultivating the vines and producing wine for over 600 years. Open to the public since 1987, the historical dwelling offers first class accommodation with rooms, suites and apartments in the estate's farmhouses. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Hotwire, Odigeo, Priceline and Travelocity so you can book your Vignamaggio reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Vignamaggio Hotel Greve In Chianti
Vignamaggio Greve In Chianti, Italy - Tuscany

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing