We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good place to stop on your way to sienna from Florence”

Albergo Ristorante Giovanni da Verrazzano
Price range: $30 - $95
Cuisines: Italian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Late Night, Reservations
Description: L' Albergo Ristorante Giovanni da Verrazzano e situato nella piazza principale di Greve in Chianti, nel cuore del Chianti Classico.Le sue origini risalgono al Medioevo, e ne fanno uno dei luoghi di accoglienza piu antichi d'Europa. Oggi la stessa ospitalita fatta di amore per la tradizione gastronomica e attenzione per un'accoglienza moderna e confortevole viene offerta a visitatori provenienti da tutto il mondo, che riportano al luogo d'origine il ricordo di un'irripetibile esperienza dei sensi. aperto a pranzo e cena da Aprile a Ottobre aperto tutti i giorni
Reviewed April 3, 2013

The food was good, nothing exceptional but the service and winner were very good. Honestly does not live up to the hype of 2 years ago but still just ok.

Thank anuka9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (230)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

74 - 78 of 230 reviews

Reviewed February 12, 2013

From the moment we walked into the piazza and laid eyes on the balcony of this delightful restaurant we were taken into a truly Tuscan experience. A really happy and helpful staff and the most delicious Italian food. Just the plate of antipasto and matching local wine which began our repast set the tone for the rest of the meal. The restaurant was bubbling but your neighbours are not too close. It was cool and clean and every thing you imagine an Italian reataurant to be. It will stay in our memories as one of those special meals that you just happen upon. Unforgettable.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
1  Thank noemiSummerHill
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
rossella3107, Owner at Albergo Ristorante Giovanni da Verrazzano, responded to this reviewResponded March 13, 2013
Google Translation

grazie per la sua recensione le sono grata per il commento fatto sulla mia struttura, spero di averla di nuovo gradito ospite
saluti cordiali
Rossella rossi

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 6, 2012

We booked the restaurant based on one of the travel books. A surly waiter/owner put a damper on the evening from the start...however, the rest of the staff seemed pleasant.
The food was good but not great, and the night turned out to be fairly expensive.
The restaurant was certainly not unpleasant, but, based on the subsequent recommendations of several of the locals, we feel that there were better places we could have chosen.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
1  Thank Stayzon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
rossella3107, Manager at Albergo Ristorante Giovanni da Verrazzano, responded to this reviewResponded March 15, 2013
Google Translation

Buona sera,
scusi se le rispondo in ritardo , mi dispiace se non ha gradito il mio ristorante, il mio impegno è di seervire buon cibo usando solo prodotti freschi e di stagione.
Probabilmente se gli abitanti del mio paese consigliano questo ristorante è perchè sanno che tipo di cucina servo e sanno che è genuina
La ringrazio comunque della recensione , le critiche sono sempre utili
la saluto cordialmente
Rossella Rossi

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 9, 2012

We recently enjoyed a delicious lunch here, on a beautifully sunny day, overlooking the piazza.

We shared a primi of tortellini with fresh tomato and basil which, on arriving at the table, looked a little clumsy with thick looking pasta and a bland looking sauce. It turned out to be absolutely wonderful. Perfectly cooked pasta, and not too thick at all. Incredibly fresh, vibrant and clean tasting sauce. I mopped up every last trace with the excellent bread.

For secondi, I had possibly the best roast pork I have ever eaten. So, delicately textured and moist and yet so judiciously seasoned with garlic and rosemary. The accompanying roasted potatoes were perfection. I accompanied this with a delicious dish of green beans braised with tomatoes; which was an exceptional side dish.

My lovely wife had a main course of meatballs which was less to our liking.

I had an incredible Brunello di Montlcino to drink by the glass, which was not cheap but worth every penny.

Our 3 year old ordered a bowl of ice-cream. It was artistically presented in a bowl on a large plate sprinkled with cocoa powder over a fork and spoon stencil. He loved the ice-cream and we were wowed by the presentation. The ice-cream turned out to be incredible - a beautifully understated hazelnut flavour. Daddy finished it off with little prompting.

Greve was a very pleasant surprise for us. A quaint village with some nice shops and glorious surrounding country-side. The meal at this lovely restaurant was memorable and one of the highlights of our Italian holiday.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Michael P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 19, 2012

We arrived during the wine festival. I dropped in to make a reservation for about 2 hours later. When we returned, we found they had set up a prime table for us on the balcony overlooking the Piazza. The service was fine, and the roast duck was delicious. Price was very reasonable.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
1  Thank PopsandMimi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Albergo Ristorante Giovanni da Verrazzano also viewed

Greve in Chianti, Province of Florence
Greve in Chianti, Province of Florence
 
Greve in Chianti, Province of Florence
Greve in Chianti, Province of Florence
 

Been to Albergo Ristorante Giovanni da Verrazzano? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing