We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Average food and service overlooking the Piazza in Greve”
Review of Il Portico

Il Portico
Cuisines: Italian
Dining options: Late Night, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Late Night, Reservations
United States
Level Contributor
68 reviews
39 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 73 helpful votes
“Average food and service overlooking the Piazza in Greve”
Reviewed September 10, 2012

We planned on dining at a recommended restaurant in Panzano about 12 minutes away from our hotel in Greve, but chose instead to stay and dine in Greve at Il Portico, a restaurant overlooking the Piazza Matteotti, the famous central square of Greve in Chianti.

We chose to sit outside with a view of the Piazza. The chairs were a bit uncomfortable to sit on. In retrospect the inside did look nicer.

We had panzanela salad for starters and each had the local specialty of Cinghiale (wild boar); Cinghiale with papardelle pasta and Cinghiale as a main dish. All were good, but not a WOW in any of the dishes.

Good for a quick stop, but there are probably better options in the area.

  • Visited July 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank 2BucketListTravelers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

202 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    78
    86
    22
    8
    8
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
229 reviews
135 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
“Delicious lunch stop in Chianti”
Reviewed August 20, 2012

We stopped in this delightful square on our way through the Chianti valley. This place was cheaper than the other trattorias around the square so fit the bill for a quick lunch. We had pasta with wild boar sauce and a salad, which were delicious and fresh, and the chianti by the glass was so smooth. Italians don't really do customer service so well (referring to other reviews) but they do do delicious fresh food!

  • Visited August 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank LiveWorkTravel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paris
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Yummmm”
Reviewed August 7, 2012

The service was fine, the location very handy and the aubergine ravioli with fresh tomatoes, mozarella and basil was divine, maybe the best meal I ate during our week in Tuscany.. my husband had a seafood pasta which wasn't quite so tasty unfortunately but we were not disappointed by this family run resto

  • Visited August 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Sarah M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adelaide, South Australia
Level Contributor
83 reviews
37 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
“Average at best”
Reviewed June 28, 2012

Setting was welcoming, plenty of custom but what a let down. Service to start with was extremely lacking - must have skipped the customer service lessons - it was all too much like hard work - and a smile wouldn't have gone astray. Food matched the service - that'll do. Only go there if it's the only place open - and I don't think we're hard to please.

Visited June 2012
Helpful?
2 Thank Audrey_and_Rusty
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Christchurch, New Zealand
Level Contributor
59 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 211 helpful votes
“Only Average”
Reviewed April 6, 2012 via mobile

We passed through Greve late in the afternoon and spent longer there than expected so decided to choose a local restaurant for dinner. Firstly what a lovely quaint town Greve is and there aren't too many tourists.

Il Portico is on the main piazza and looks welcoming. We started with prawn cocktails which were not good, a few small prawns some still with their shells on and they were smothered with a nice sauce - too much to even taste the prawns.

The other entree was cold meats and pickles which was very nice.

Mains were vegetable soup 3/5, John Dory 2/5, pasta with local red wine and bacon 3/5 and beef stew 4/5.

Service however was excellent from a young man but unfortunately this doesn't make up for the average food.

Price for just food was €86 for 2 shared entrees and 4 mains, too expensive and not what you would expect in a small town.

Not recommended.

Helpful?
4 Thank Grant196
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Il Portico also viewed

Greve in Chianti, Province of Florence
Greve in Chianti, Province of Florence
 
Greve in Chianti, Province of Florence
Greve in Chianti, Province of Florence
 
Greve in Chianti, Province of Florence
Greve in Chianti, Province of Florence
 

Been to Il Portico? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing