We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Yummmm” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Il Portico

Il Portico
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Italian, Mediterranean
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Dining on a budget, Families with children, Local cuisine
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Late Night, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Paris
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Yummmm”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 7, 2012

The service was fine, the location very handy and the aubergine ravioli with fresh tomatoes, mozarella and basil was divine, maybe the best meal I ate during our week in Tuscany.. my husband had a seafood pasta which wasn't quite so tasty unfortunately but we were not disappointed by this family run resto

  • Visited August 2012
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Sarah M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

196 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    74
    85
    22
    7
    8
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Adelaide, South Australia
Level Contributor
84 reviews
37 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
“Average at best”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 28, 2012

Setting was welcoming, plenty of custom but what a let down. Service to start with was extremely lacking - must have skipped the customer service lessons - it was all too much like hard work - and a smile wouldn't have gone astray. Food matched the service - that'll do. Only go there if it's the only place open - and I don't think we're hard to please.

Visited June 2012
Helpful?
2 Thank Audrey_and_Rusty
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Christchurch, New Zealand
Level Contributor
60 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 216 helpful votes
“Only Average”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 6, 2012 via mobile

We passed through Greve late in the afternoon and spent longer there than expected so decided to choose a local restaurant for dinner. Firstly what a lovely quaint town Greve is and there aren't too many tourists.

Il Portico is on the main piazza and looks welcoming. We started with prawn cocktails which were not good, a few small prawns some still with their shells on and they were smothered with a nice sauce - too much to even taste the prawns.

The other entree was cold meats and pickles which was very nice.

Mains were vegetable soup 3/5, John Dory 2/5, pasta with local red wine and bacon 3/5 and beef stew 4/5.

Service however was excellent from a young man but unfortunately this doesn't make up for the average food.

Price for just food was €86 for 2 shared entrees and 4 mains, too expensive and not what you would expect in a small town.

Not recommended.

Helpful?
4 Thank Grant196
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Florence, Italy
Level Contributor
69 reviews
39 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Absolutely delicious!!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 5, 2012

This little restaurant has a varied menu with quite a few seafood choices as well as the typical Tuscan dishes. Every bite is superb!! We were a party of 4 people and every bite was superb! Try the polenta with truffles and mushrooms for an amazing treat. The staff could not be nicer as well.

  • Visited January 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank monalinda100
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denver, Colorado
Level Contributor
74 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
“Center of town convenience”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 6, 2011

The restaurant was full to the brim with only one waitress, but the service was excellent and the food was very good. We lucked out by sitting next to the sister of the waitress and she gave us other excellent restaurant recommendations in the area.

Visited October 2011
Helpful?
1 Thank KangaTex
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Il Portico also viewed

Greve in Chianti, Province of Florence
Greve in Chianti, Province of Florence
 
Greve in Chianti, Province of Florence
Greve in Chianti, Province of Florence
 
Greve in Chianti, Province of Florence
Greve in Chianti, Province of Florence
 

Been to Il Portico? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing